Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New BMW I3 with 120Ah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

Sh!t stained seats, no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Jucaro biege = a posh description of brown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

We don't need yet another iteration of the i3. We need a full EV 3-series. Are you bloody listening, BMW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭KCross

unkel wrote: »
    We don't need yet another iteration of the i3. We need a full EV 3-series. Are you bloody listening, BMW?

That's iNext, isnt it?

2022 unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Feck the 3 series, X3 electric would be the best option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Oh yes, I would go for a 3 series estate >60kWhbattery in a heartbeat.

We currently have a 2017 36kWh egolf with 42K km's on the clock, the plan is to change that for the ID when it becomes available in 2019/2020; and an ICE which is gone as soon as a decent sized bev comes along with 400-450kms real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Just in case anyone has an interest. Bolands BMW in Waterford have a new demo I3 REX in red/black, 182 reg. with under 500 kms on the clock. They're looking €43K for it, which I thought was an excellent price. I took it for a test blast and was impressed with the power, but little else. I wouldn't fancy the colour myself (or herself :D) and if I was replacing the Ioniq, I'd want a much bigger battery.

If you buy a Gen 1 i3 can you swap out battery for newer version?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Just in case anyone has an interest. Bolands BMW in Waterford have a new demo I3 REX in red/black, 182 reg. with under 500 kms on the clock. They're looking €43K for it, which I thought was an excellent price. I took it for a test blast and was impressed with the power, but little else. I wouldn't fancy the colour myself (or herself :D) and if I was replacing the Ioniq, I'd want a much bigger battery.

The i3 is such a non visually appealing car, I had looked at a rex one before buying my Ioniq briefly, but just couldn't live with that appearance, small size, silly looking wheels, slow(er) fast charging, and higher price.

I think if you're prepared to spend €43k on a BEV you'd be mad to buy anything other than a model S.

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    If you buy a Gen 1 i3 can you swap out battery for newer version?
    Apparently you can for the BEV but not the PHEV ones.
    So if you buy a 60ah BEV you can upgrade, but if you buy a 60ah REX you can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

From looking at the photos, it appears to have a touch screen with what appears to be carplay. If so, great - I have driven the gocar i3's, and the old school non touchscreen felt a bit low rent compared to a modern X1

ELM327 wrote: »
    Apparently you can for the BEV but not the PHEV ones.
    So if you buy a 60ah BEV you can upgrade, but if you buy a 60ah REX you can't.

Interesting, I had expect the PHEV wouldn't have upgrade path

If you could pick up a cheap Gen 1 i3 in UK and then swap out battery for larger battery it could be a cheap way to get a long distance i3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭cros13

The cost for the BEV battery upgrade is ~€7k. It's possible in some cases to make the numbers work.

cros13 wrote: »
    The cost for the BEV battery upgrade is ~€7k. It's possible in some cases to make the numbers work.

High mileage i3, pull battery out and slot in new one....off you go :D

if it the motor does explode you can sell on battery afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭cros13

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    High mileage i3, pull battery out and slot in new one....off you go :D

if it the motor does explode you can sell on battery afterwards

If the motor explodes (which is super super unlikely) an new motor is €750.
    One good thing is the new battery comes with a new warranty as well.

Though being a heated and cooled pack, unless you just want the extra range you are unlikely to want to replace the battery until 250,000-300,000km for the 22kWh or 500,000km for the 33kWh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Looks like the Rex model is discontinued for Europe.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

Plug in hybrids are compliance cars - a thing of the past! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

The 120Ah is rated at wlpt of 308k. What would that be in real world motorway?

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

Depends on the drag of the car. Ioniq gets very close to 100% of the WLTP range at 120km/h real speed under perfect circumstances, other very aerodynamic cars like the Tesla Model 3 should be close enough too, but some other EVs don't get much more than about 60% (Leaf 2018)

80sDiesel wrote: »
    The 120Ah is rated at wlpt of 308k. What would that be in real world motorway?
    Throwing a dart at a dart board I'd guess 240-250.

I'm sure it can be extrapolated using the pro rata WLTP to real world range of the 60ah/90ah models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

80sDiesel wrote: »
    Looks like the Rex model is discontinued for Europe.

wait, what? No rex on the 120ah here?