Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gemma O' Doherty fails to secure enough Council nominations

• 24-09-2018 8:31pm

Stockpile your tinfoil, the 'truth' is still at large.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Good. She can start looking for Madeleine McCann again.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

We still haven’t forgiven you, Bertie.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

The Lizard people are responsible for this

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    We still haven’t forgiven you, Bertie.

I was only covering for the Boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It’s only a matter of time before she’s the Irish correspondent for Inforwars. The fecking looper.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,927 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Damn. That would have been fun.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,349 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Councillors backing someone with an anti corruption stance? nah more interested in Dragons Den credentials.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

But she's not as crazy as Sarah Louise Mulligan.

https://www.joe.ie/politics/sarah-louise-mulligan-637649

• Registered Users Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭benny79

The corruption will never be fixed in this Country its a joke..

• Registered Users Posts: 17,653 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Good the woman is a conspiracy theorist loon, calling herself an investigative journalist is a disgrace

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

They will be working overtime in the outrage factories on twitter and Facebook as a result of this news.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭JMNolan

3 dragons den stars, one of who has admitted to handling envelopes for FF? No problem.

Anti-corruption journalist? Not a hope.

Best of luck trying to sort out the housing crisis when ye all put up with corruption!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

JMNolan wrote: »
    3 dragons den stars, one of who has admitted to handling envelopes for FF? No problem.

Best of luck trying to sort out the housing crisis when ye all put up with corruption!

She’s not an anti-corruption journalist. She’s a conspiracy theory headbanger. Madder than a bag of spiders.

She never had a hope after her disgraceful comments about Veronica Guerin.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Anyone can call themselves an "anti-corruption" journalist.

She's a fruitcake. The odds of her actually doing any investigative journalism of impact are slim to none.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,481 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I think Gemma O'Doherty is our very "Cheerful Spring" in drag!
    Battling to ensure every event has its very own conspiracy theory to ensure no stone is left unturned in pursuit of "the truth".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

You might want to have another look at the role of the President in our constitution.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

benny79 wrote: »
    The corruption will never be fixed in this Country its a joke..

you do know that we are statistically, realistically and factually one of the least corrupt countries in the world?:confused::confused::confused::confused:

we have a certain portion of the population here that constantly go on about corruption but there is no basis for it whatso ever.

id worry for them if they were ever forced to live in another country, because theyd be in for a big big shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

No problems with a serving President who cheerfully voted through a tax amnesty that allowed countless large-scale tax dodgers to escape prosecution not all that long ago?

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

I think a lot of people haven’t a clue what the President of this country can and can’t do. The role is largely ceremonial. Gemma O’Doherty becoming President would never solve the housing crisis. If Gemma really wants to try and make a difference she should be more focused on trying the get elected in the next General Election.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭Robert McGrath

Turnipman wrote: »
    No problems with a serving President who cheerfully voted through a tax amnesty that allowed countless large-scale tax dodgers to escape prosecution not all that long ago?

I’m pretty sure that didn’t happen. Care to elaborate?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The lunatic fringe in Laois saw fit to give her a nomination. It doesn’t say much for their calibre.

Anyway good riddance to her, she can trot off now on shergar and search for JFK’s killers or what ever mad fantastical investigation she’ll immerse herself in now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Dissapointed she didn't get on the ballot purely to show her crazy supporters how "popular" she actually is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭benny79

you do know that we are statistically, realistically and factually one of the least corrupt countries in the world?:confused::confused::confused::confused:

we have a certain portion of the population here that constantly go on about corruption but there is no basis for it whatso ever.

id worry for them if they were ever forced to live in another country, because theyd be in for a big big shock.

Right I'll bite. Are you for real? forget about the "one of the least" but this country is full of corruption! For a start the money their on! the pensions they still get when shamed into retirement for being dodgy even the pensions they get full stop, all the tribunals, the golden circle, the new children's hospital being built in St Jame's do you know when finished will be one of the dearest in the world! In a country the size of Ireland. The list is endless .. Good auld Charlie he taught them well just ask Bertie..

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Dissapointed she didn't get on the ballot purely to show her crazy supporters how "popular" she actually is.

Every election needs a Dana type candidate.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

benny79 wrote: »
    Right I'll bite. Are you for real? forget about the "one of the least" but this country is full of corruption! For a start the money their on! the pensions they still get when shamed into retirement for being dodgy even the pensions they get full stop, all the tribunals, the golden circle, the new children's hospital being built in St Jame's do you know when finished will be one of the dearest in the world! In a country the size of Ireland. The list is endless .. Good auld Charlie he taught them well just ask Bertie..

can you list the corruption thats going on please? nothing above that you have listed involves corrution on any scale (maybe the bertie tribunal did but thats not applicable to current debate)

when you say the money "they" are on, who you referring to?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭mikeym

Her followers on Facebook are as deluded as she is.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,477 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

seamus wrote: »

She's a fruitcake. The odds of her actually doing any investigative journalism of impact are slim to none.

She's a travel reporter who started to see a conspiracy on every corner.

Good piece here: https://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/columnists/michael-clifford/in-truth-what-has-gemma-odoherty-exposed-473234.html

• Registered Users Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭daheff

who?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

seamus wrote: »

She's a fruitcake. The odds of her actually doing any investigative journalism of impact are slim to none.[/quotquo

Thats very insulting towards fruitcakes

• Registered Users Posts: 6,349 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

You might want to have another look at the role of the President in our constitution.

Would make you wonder why they are the third highest paid President in Europe in fairness.