Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how do you study

Options
  • 23-09-2018 9:59am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭

I am a mature student and have been out of education a long time. I am a few weeks into a mechanical engineering degree and at the risk of sounding silly i dont know how to study and retain the information.

my current way of trying to learn is taking notes in lectures then as soon as i can after the lecture i look at the lecturers notes and i make a more detailed notes from the class slides and my rough notes. i also research the topic and add more to the detailed notes that will help me understand the topic. I have been told by several people that i am over doing it and that it is way much so soon. My logic is if i get into the routine now then in years 2,3,4 it will be second nature to me.

I know everyone learns differently but im curious to know how other people study to help them to retain the information?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭granturismo

I stumbled on a system of study that worked for me as a mature student which I realised afterwards was a system that a teacher tried to show us when I was in secondary school. I think he called it - Study, Question, Read, wRite, Revise. Its something similar to what you are doing. If I'd followed his advice I would have got a better leaving cert, and better results in years 1-3 of college. I generally also left it too late to study, but copped on in 4th year and later in a taught masters course.