Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Only diesels in my price range post diesel gate!

• 20-09-2018 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

Hi everyone,

I am looking for a car in the region of €10k. Ideally I would like a VW, BMW or an Audi executive saloon style. I have 2 kids under 7 so I need a reasonable sized car.

I cycle to work as I work in the city the car will be used mainly for short school/creche runs mon-fri. The car will get a better run on weekend on family days out etc. At least once every week or two weeks max.

A low engine petrol 1.4tsi for example would probably be ideal but these are like goldust in my price range. I would like 2011-above.

Diesel engines seem to be my only option, but will I be making a big mistake getting a diesel now post diesel gate, and with my driving schedule??

Appreciate any advice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

Prius+?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 MarcusT89

TRS30 wrote: »
    Prius+?

I've thought about a prius but not the + not really a fan to be honest. I've also thought about the Auris which I prefer to the prius but not sure about the size

I should also add I will potentially get one from the UK because the selection is better. Herself also wants an automatic just to make things even harder 😂.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

Get a Passat or Superb 1.4 DSG in the U.K. but do a VRT check in advance as depending on the year they could be in a lower band

Casati wrote: »
    Get a Passat or Superb 1.4 DSG in the U.K. but do a VRT check in advance as depending on the year they could be in a lower band

I can't seem to find any only diesels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Just bought a 10k diesel myself, not sure what all the hysteria is with people being suddenly allergic to diesel is right now. 
    My car has done a huge chunk of its depreciation, ill be keeping it for 3-5 years, do lots of decent commutes to work (40mins each way) and even if diesel goes up in the budget a little (it wont by much) itll still be a cheap and economical car to run. 
    The only people who should be careful with the way new car production is going with petrol and hybrid/electric are fellas throwing big money at a new diesel exec saloons where depreciation may hit them hard over the next 3 years. 
    The criteria for choosing petrol over diesel hasnt changed just because of a shift in mainstream opinion. It was always wrong to get a diesel for people doing regular short commutes and right for people doing nice long stretches on open roads.

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Just bought a 10k diesel myself, not sure what all the hysteria is with people being suddenly allergic to diesel is right now. 
    My car has done a huge chunk of its depreciation, ill be keeping it for 3-5 years, do lots of decent commutes to work (40mins each way) and even if diesel goes up in the budget a little (it wont by much) itll still be a cheap and economical car to run. 
    The only people who should be careful with the way new car production is going with petrol and hybrid/electric are fellas throwing big money at a new diesel exec saloons where depreciation may hit them hard over the next 3 years. 
    The criteria for choosing petrol over diesel hasnt changed just because of a shift in mainstream opinion. It was always wrong to get a diesel for people doing regular short commutes and right for people doing nice long stretches on open roads.

My issue is that the only nice cars available to me are diesels and I don't do the mileage really. My question is will the car get wrecked or will it actually be alright. Gonna keep it for 3-5 years myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Can you increase your budget a bit?

This could probably be bought for 12k cash, it's a 2014 so maybe think about holding onto it longer if you pay a bit more up front now, seems a better prospect than paying 10k for a car that is about 2 or 3 years older.

https://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=2010688&r=s.php%3Fm%5B%5D%3D80%26o%5B%5D%3D683%26f%3D1%26nx%3D6%26yn%3D2011%26pp%3D50%26g%3D0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Its not necessarily your annual mileage, its more the duration and type of your journeys. Lots of 5-15mins stop start journeys are not the end of the world but dont suit diesel cars. If thats the case you are better off in the uk with a petrol hatch.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Can you increase your budget a bit?

This could probably be bought for 12k cash, it's a 2014 so maybe think about holding onto it longer if you pay a bit more up front now, seems a better prospect than paying 10k for a car that is about 2 or 3 years older.

https://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=2010688&r=s.php%3Fm%5B%5D%3D80%26o%5B%5D%3D683%26f%3D1%26nx%3D6%26yn%3D2011%26pp%3D50%26g%3D0

That's exactly what I'm looking for. Definitely worth the extra 2k.

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Its not necessarily your annual mileage, its more the duration and type of your journeys. Lots of 5-15mins stop start journeys are not the end of the world but dont suit diesel cars. If thats the case you are better off in the uk with a petrol hatch.

Monday to Friday that's exactly what my journeys will be. Hence my reluctance to get a diesel. I think it would be a disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

MarcusT89 wrote: »
    My issue is that the only nice cars available to me are diesels and I don't do the mileage really. My question is will the car get wrecked or will it actually be alright. Gonna keep it for 3-5 years myself

I can tell you from personal experience and the many many discussions on here that the sky won’t fall in if you go and buy a diesel.

Despite the hype and the ilInformed nonsense that gets trotted out here every time the “D” word is mentioned, the reality is as long as you buy a decent car, same as any fuel, you
    Shouldn’t have any issues.

I’ve been doing small mileage’s and driving large diesels for years now. I’ve not experienced any of the fabled costs people will rattle on about. Ask them for specifics and you’ll be told the front tires wear quicker because of the heavier engine.

I know countless people with diesels doing similar driving. Yes EGR’s can clog up as can DPF’s but give it a good spin at the weekend and it’ll be fine.

I spent years at the petrol pump before switching and I’ve saved many thousands in fuel costs over the years. Around town will give you similar economy to petrol but out on the open road and there’s no comparison.

Rennaws wrote: »
    I can tell you from personal experience and the many many discussions on here that the sky won’t fall in if you go and buy a diesel.

Despite the hype and the ilInformed nonsense that gets trotted out here every time the “D” word is mentioned, the reality is as long as you buy a decent car, same as any fuel, you
    Shouldn’t have any issues.

I’ve been doing small mileage’s and driving large diesels for years now. I’ve not experienced any of the fabled costs people will rattle on about. Ask them for specifics and you’ll be told the front tires wear quicker because of the heavier engine.

I know countless people with diesels doing similar driving. Yes EGR’s can clog up as can DPF’s but give it a good spin at the weekend and it’ll be fine.

I spent years at the petrol pump before switching and I’ve saved many thousands in fuel costs over the years. Around town will give you similar economy to petrol but out on the open road and there’s no comparison.

That's what I wanted to hear. I think if I can't find a small engine petrol that hits the spot I'll just take the plunge with a diesel. I know i wont be happy with anything other than an executive saloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I’ve been doing small mileage’s and driving large diesels for years now.

I spent years at the petrol pump before switching and I’ve saved many thousands in fuel costs over the years.

Doing small mileage how have you managed to save thousands by switching to diesel?

What diesel car do you own?

OP in response to your original question, of the 3 brands you've mentioned they only one I'd see with the space to be family friendly would be a VW. BMW 3 series and Audi A4's are all a bit tight in the back. It's just something you may wish to consider aside from the fuel.

I'd be advising you however to find a good VW group car with the 1.4TSI ACT engine with an DSG gearbox. They'll easily do diesel like economy and so far have proven to be reliable. Car's you may wish to consider with this engine are the Seat Leon (hatch or estate), Octavia/Superb or a Golf/Passat.

Personally I'd be more inclined to go for a Toyota/Lesux hybrid along the lines of a well kitted out Auris hatch or estate. If space isn't a priority go for Lexus IS200H but test drive one first. You may not like it.

As regards diesel some engines are more tolerant of multiple short journeys and low mileage usage. Kia/Hyundai 1.7d and the Renault group 1.5dci engines being 2 examples. Other engines like VAG's 1.6d and the PSA group 1.6hdi both sh!t themselves at the very idea of it.

I'd consider the next point however for a low mileage user, city driving in a diesel gives poorer economy than petrol equivalents as a general rule. You generally pay a price premium, in Ireland at least, for a diesel. You'd need to think about the fact you may never get that price premium back in fuel savings.

There are other issues which you may wish to consider also that comes with diesel ownership, currently better resale values in Ireland (that could change over time), servicing costs (never been an issue I've noticed) and high repair costs after a breakdown (my wallet agrees with this point).

I wouldn't say no to a diesel for low mileage usage but I'd be looking for the right car and going into it with my eyes open and forget about the €190 road tax that some can't see beyond and perceived savings that don't actually materialise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Doing small mileage how have you managed to save thousands by switching to diesel?

What diesel car do you own?

My diesels have been the following..

06 535d
    05 X5
    06 535d
    05 Saab 93 2.2tid
    06 Saab 95 2.2tid
    08 Saab 93 1.9ttid

I did also own a 78 VW Kombi which had large twin carbs on a flat 4 engine and probably negated any fuel savings I ever made but it was worth it while it lasted.

These are over the last 10 / 15 years or so. As regards savings, I’m guestimating sure but I do quite a bit of mixed driving and i know I’ve saved a fortune over that time.

The 2 cars before were a 520i and a 523i. Both were guzzlers. My had was wrecked watching the needle and then trying to drive easy so I could save on fuel. I thought feck that, bought a diesel and never looked back.

The vast majority of my driving consists of short trips around town interspersed with 30 to 50km round trips on the motorway every week or 2. Then it gets the odd decent run and I don’t pet the engine when on the motorway.

I’ve never suffered any diesel specific issues. The most expensive repair to date was a phone module which set me back 4 figures at Frank Keane’s and more recently a steering rack on the 93 which was considerably less but still a big job. Either way, neither were related to fuel.

I do the majority of servicing myself and costs are exactly the same.

If Petrol as a fuel was cheaper I’d go back to it but it’s way too uneconomical once you get used to diesel.

I can’t wait to get my first EV when there’s one that interests me and budget allows. I’ll have no problem seeing the back of diesel.

It’s a filthy fuel..

My diesels have been the following..
    06 535d
    05 X5
    06 535d
    05 Saab 93 2.2tid
    06 Saab 95 2.2tid
    08 Saab 93 1.9ttid
    In fairness these are older type diesel engines, OP however is asking about modern diesel engines. You're comparing apples and oranges and coming up with Kiwi's.
    I’m guestimating
    i know I’ve saved a fortune over that time.
    Which is it, because it can't be both.

I've run diesels and petrols on similar type commutes to what you've identified. I've never noticed any saving running a diesel over a petrol. I've always just chosen using personal preference.

Currently I'm doing pretty high mileage so it's diesel all the way but I'm likely to go for a hybrid next time round as I don't see it being any more expensive overall to run.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    OP in response to your original question, of the 3 brands you've mentioned they only one I'd see with the space to be family friendly would be a VW. BMW 3 series and Audi A4's are all a bit tight in the back. It's just something you may wish to consider aside from the fuel.

I'd be advising you however to find a good VW group car with the 1.4TSI ACT engine with an DSG gearbox. They'll easily do diesel like economy and so far have proven to be reliable. Car's you may wish to consider with this engine are the Seat Leon (hatch or estate), Octavia/Superb or a Golf/Passat.

Personally I'd be more inclined to go for a Toyota/Lesux hybrid along the lines of a well kitted out Auris hatch or estate. If space isn't a priority go for Lexus IS200H but test drive one first. You may not like it.

As regards diesel some engines are more tolerant of multiple short journeys and low mileage usage. Kia/Hyundai 1.7d and the Renault group 1.5dci engines being 2 examples. Other engines like VAG's 1.6d and the PSA group 1.6hdi both sh!t themselves at the very idea of it.

I'd consider the next point however for a low mileage user, city driving in a diesel gives poorer economy than petrol equivalents as a general rule. You generally pay a price premium, in Ireland at least, for a diesel. You'd need to think about the fact you may never get that price premium back in fuel savings.

There are other issues which you may wish to consider also that comes with diesel ownership, currently better resale values in Ireland (that could change over time), servicing costs (never been an issue I've noticed) and high repair costs after a breakdown (my wallet agrees with this point).

I wouldn't say no to a diesel for low mileage usage but I'd be looking for the right car and going into it with my eyes open and forget about the €190 road tax that some can't see beyond and perceived savings that don't actually materialise.

I ideally wanted an BMW but I think I could live with a Superb or a Passat. I think I will just test drive a 5 series and a Superb, ive already driven a Passat. 1.4 tsi seems to be the right option but if a nice 2.0d 5 or 3 series comes around the corner I could be swayed into taking the risk and hoping for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I ideally wanted an BMW but I think I could live with a Superb or a Passat. I think I will just test drive a 5 series and a Superb, ive already driven a Passat. 1.4 tsi seems to be the right option but if a nice 2.0d 5 or 3 series comes around the corner I could be swayed into taking the risk and hoping for the best.

I can vouch for the superb reliability. 09 2.0d with 355k . Zero problem with the dpf (touches wood). Big comfortable fast barge and fairly cheap to run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Why not look at Lexus Hybrid? CT200H, plenty knocking around in that price range

Or if bigger an IS300H: https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/lexus/is300h/used-2010-lexus-is300h-toyota-sai-dublin-fpa-201809010050401

The hybrid will be better for the driving you are doing and reduce fuel costs.

If you are looking for petrol you will need to go to UK.

Nobody know when the government will put up price of diesel, it could be this budget or next. All indications point to an extra 10 cent per ltr on diesel over the next few years. That will bring it inline with diesel. For your type of driving you will get it hard to get good MPG for diesel so hybrid is better option

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Why not look at Lexus Hybrid? CT200H, plenty knocking around in that price range

Or if bigger an IS300H: https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/lexus/is300h/used-2010-lexus-is300h-toyota-sai-dublin-fpa-201809010050401

The hybrid will be better for the driving you are doing and reduce fuel costs.

If you are looking for petrol you will need to go to UK.

Nobody know when the government will put up price of diesel, it could be this budget or next. All indications point to an extra 10 cent per ltr on diesel over the next few years. That will bring it inline with diesel. For your type of driving you will get it hard to get good MPG for diesel so hybrid is better option

I've decided I'm gonna go for a 2013 IS300H I thinking will be worth the extra few grand (€13000) roughly.

Low tax, Good MPG, No DPF worries, low VRT and a cracking looking car. Never driven a Lexus before so I'll test drive it first and see what I think. Not too concerned about thrills I just want a good looking car that's reliable. Seems to tick all the boxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

I've decided I'm gonna go for a 2013 IS300H I thinking will be worth the extra few grand (€13000) roughly.

Low tax, Good MPG, No DPF worries, low VRT and a cracking looking car. Never driven a Lexus before so I'll test drive it first and see what I think. Not too concerned about thrills I just want a good looking car that's reliable. Seems to tick all the boxes.

They are a lovely car....lovely to drive as well....really a great alternative to your standard BMW/Audi....The hybrid engine is perfect for those cars as well.....