Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VRT exemption

• 14-09-2018 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭

My father is moving in with me from the UK as he's now in his late 70's .He has owned the car since 2007 in the uk and he wants to bring it here with him.I think he's mad as its a 3ltr and will cost him a fortune to tax but he's adamant its coming with him .
    Obviously he has proof of taxing and insuring it in the UK over the years .Would this be exempt from VRT and would there be any issue with getting an Irish insurance policy for the first time at his age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

VRT is exempt. Just check out the requirements of proof of ownership and citizenship and it should be grand

As for insurance , he can brink his No claims bonus with him. So if he has a full 5 year NCB in the UK then he can get insured here on a full 5 year NCB.

He will still have to go through the VRT process for getting the car examined and registered for Irish registration and then afterwards he can tax online or a local tax office and book an NCT.

In regards NCT, it is possible the DOE from the UK may be transferred but I'm not up to scratch on that but worth investigating.

Good luck !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Go onto the Vrt calc and see how much it'll cost. Also find one in Ireland and see what it is to tax. Maybe he'll change his mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Yes he'll be exempt from VRT.

Have as much proof of ownership and his life over there as possible.
    Have ferry ticket.
    Have proof of moving here.

In this case you could talk to them in advance. Call into local revenue. V helpful.

Wife and I brought home 2 cars no problem.

No use to you on the insurance question.

MOT is not transferable to NCT. He'll ave to do one soon as registered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Make sure he is aware of the motor tax of €1494 a year, unless it's something special it will have zero resale value here. Check prices for similar cars on Donedeal, he might make much more money selling it in the UK and picking up something here with cheaper motor tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

MOT is not transferable to NCT. He'll ave to do one soon as registered

It is now...
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-drivers-can-now-import-12591557

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

VRT is exempt. Just check out the requirements of proof of ownership and citizenship and it should be grand

As for insurance , he can brink his No claims bonus with him. So if he has a full 5 year NCB in the UK then he can get insured here on a full 5 year NCB.

He will still have to go through the VRT process for getting the car examined and registered for Irish registration and then afterwards he can tax online or a local tax office and book an NCT.

In regards NCT, it is possible the DOE from the UK may be transferred but I'm not up to scratch on that but worth investigating.

Good luck !

Yes, MOT is convertible into an NCT if it meets certain criteria. No fee at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Basically, (as already mentioned) what car is it ?
    Unless it's something very special then he will be paying huge Motor Tax for nothing......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

2901cc - 3000cc
    €1494 for 12 months
    €829 for 6 months
    €422 for 3 months

Let him know that his motor tax will be a €1.5k per year.
    And if his car is 3001cc, he'll be paying €1,809.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭scwazrh

It’s nothing special , an 06 e320cdi . was a lovely car when new as it has all the extras on it but he bought it as his retirement car and as he’s selling his house because he needs to move in with us ,getting him to sell his car will be a
    step too much for him .
    I know it doesn’t make financial sense but it’s a real example of how sometimes a car is more than just a vehicle to those of us who are car enthusiasts and tend to get a bit nostalgic and emotional about them .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭rovertom

scwazrh wrote: »
    It’s nothing special , an 06 e320cdi . was a lovely car when new as it has all the extras on it but he bought it as his retirement car and as he’s selling his house because he needs to move in with us ,getting him to sell his car will be a
    step too much for him .
    I know it doesn’t make financial sense but it’s a real example of how sometimes a car is more than just a vehicle to those of us who are car enthusiasts and tend to get a bit nostalgic and emotional about them .

Really he should be buying something equally nice but newer to make use of the benefit of the vrt exemption and also get cheaper tax.
    That said, he would have to own any newly purchased car for 6 months before moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

scwazrh wrote: »
    step too much for him .

3.2L. Ouch.. €1,809

mikeecho wrote: »
    3.2L. Ouch.. €1,809

Yeah, but he's got a floating palace, with zero depreciation and full knowledge of everything thats been done to it. Apart from tax and insurance, it'll cost him nothing and he's probably got loads of memories inside it. Let him enjoy it if that's what he wants. Its costing him feck all. Any decent car will have a road tax cost anyway, and annual depreciation will be a lot more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭rovertom

mikeecho wrote: »
    3.2L. Ouch.. €1,809

I think they are just under 3000cc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

rovertom wrote: »
    I think they are just under 3000cc

Yes, 1494 to tax.

It isn't the end of the world if one can afford it. Especially if car is owned from new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'd try getting a few insurance quotes before he does anything. I've had a sharp intake of breath and a really flustered sales agent when they found out that my car is a 3.5l. For a old person from the UK the insurance quote will be a shock.

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    Yeah, but he's got a floating palace, with zero depreciation and full knowledge of everything thats been done to it. Apart from tax and insurance, it'll cost him nothing and he's probably got loads of memories inside it. Let him enjoy it if that's what he wants. Its costing him feck all. Any decent car will have a road tax cost anyway, and annual depreciation will be a lot more.

Too much emphasis placed on tax v depreciation here.

If he can insure it reasonably batter on.

Sure if he bought something newer he'd loss that in 6 months depreciation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Del2005 wrote: »
    I'd try getting a few insurance quotes before he does anything. I've had a sharp intake of breath and a really flustered sales agent when they found out that my car is a 3.5l. For a old person from the UK the insurance quote will be a shock.

Insurance for retired people with good driving history is quite reasonable. Father in law - 76, just renewed for under €500 and it was 2007 A4 with open driving.

Even putting above vehicle in for his quote, gives €545 with liberty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Insurance for retired people with good driving history is quite reasonable. Father in law - 76, just renewed for under €500 and it was 2007 A4 with open driving.

Even putting above vehicle in for his quote, gives €545 with liberty

And what is he paying in the UK? Because saying its reasonable here doesn't correspond to reasonable value compared to the the UK. At best he'll be paying €2k per annum for a worthless car before he moves a millimetre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Del2005 wrote: »
    And what is he paying in the UK? Because saying its reasonable here doesn't correspond to reasonable value compared to the the UK. At best he'll be paying €2k per annum for a worthless car before he moves a millimetre.

Lads, it doesn't matter

The OP said his father wants to bring his car over and that's it, we gave the information on how to do that already, there's no need to go into scaremongering on cost of tax or insurance just because it's a 2007 car.

It's his car and he wants it and that's cool.

Like I said first OP, he will be VRT exempt and he can carry his full no claims bonus from the UK to here, so the cost won't be bad at all.

If you need any help with the VRT process or insurance process, ask back here again and I'll do my best to answer you

One thing I'd suggest is when his insurance policy in the UK ends, to get a letter and proof of no claims bonus of them. It'll have to be requested specifically. The letter needs to state that the policy is terminated and the bonus is not in use anywhere else AKAIK

Lads, it doesn't matter

The OP said his father wants to bring his car over and that's it, we gave the information on how to do that already, there's no need to go into scaremongering on cost of tax or insurance just because it's a 2007 car.

It's his car and he wants it and that's cool.

Like I said first OP, he will be VRT exempt and he can carry his full no claims bonus from the UK to here, so the cost won't be bad at all.

If you need any help with the VRT process or insurance process, ask back here again and I'll do my best to answer you

One thing I'd suggest is when his insurance policy in the UK ends, to get a letter and proof of no claims bonus of them. It'll have to be requested specifically. The letter needs to state that the policy is terminated and the bonus is not in use anywhere else AKAIK

Also, if he gets a new MOT now, it'll be convertible into an NCT, so it'll save him that hassle after he brings it in here.