Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone breed PB lim with maternal traits

• 11-09-2018 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭

I am buying a new bull. I have been spending a fair bit of time on icbf bull finder and Irish Limousin society live herd book. I am fairly confident when I say milk has virtually been forgotten about in lim cattle. Most PB breeders are focused on beef full stop. Such a pity because I think they are one of best all round breeds. You will struggle to get a bull with daughters milk score over five. The vast majority have a negative score. Icbf is more concerned with amount of days a cow carries and not how much milk the bulls daughters will produce. But I suppose that’s another discussion at least there is something to go off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

If you want limousin bulls with milk, look for bulls sired by Bavardage (AGB) +10.2 for milk, Ronick Hawk (RKH) +6.1 for milk.
    I've a young bull here and he's +7.5 for milk.

+5kgs for milk is in the top 1% of the lim breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cacs

If you want limousin bulls with milk, look for bulls sired by Bavardage (AGB) +10.2 for milk, Ronick Hawk (RKH) +6.1 for milk.

The three sires I am looking for are AGB RHK and on Dit I notice he (on dit) has fell back in his milk score. My last bull was out of proctors cavalier and he was 4.4 kHz of milk. I know it seems crazy worrying about this when I only have 16 Commerical suckers but I want to breed replacements as think it is a mugs game buying in incalf or bulling heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭dodo mommy

When buying a bull I wouldn't read to much into the star ratings I would always buy private and have a good look at the mother of the bull as well.

Worth remembering too that any milky cow will be putting it into the calf, so may not look the best herself. Was AI'ing a cow last week and the AI guy commented on how muscley she was. Muscley because she has feck all milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

You have any by AGB? I'd say he would work well on a smaller well muscled type? I bought a few of his straws during the week.

One calf on the ground. Out of , yep, a small muscley type cow. He looks promising enough. Time will tell.
    I like those French bulls. If you look at the Sersia catalogues, they have a lot of bulls by Bavardage and Nuef. Have a Neuf cow here and she's a great type of cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭squinn2912

We had a neuf Bull here and he bred fantastic calves with great ends but they’re mad next parish type cattle. Not keeping any of his heifers regardless of the milk score. I won’t even check it! Spoke to a breeder the day we sold him and he said neuf cows were great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

One calf on the ground. Out of , yep, a small muscley type cow. He looks promising enough. Time will tell.
    I like those French bulls. If you look at the Sersia catalogues, they have a lot of bulls by Bavardage and Nuef. Have a Neuf cow here and she's a great type of cow.

One of the places I bought a heifer had a nuef cow, she was a solid tank with milk. I said I'd get a few of the bavardage straws as there can't be many left. You'd be hoping for heifers by him. Stick up a picture of your calf when he straightens up. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭TPF2012

One of the places I bought a heifer had a nuef cow, she was a solid tank with milk. I said I'd get a few of the bavardage straws as there can't be many left. You'd be hoping for heifers by him. Stick up a picture of your calf when he straightens up. Thanks

Knell, Bavardage son with PG looks decent. Have tried him on a few heifers and cows this year. Hope he's easy calving, should be according to his pedigree and figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Taken from progressive genetics page

Cross Liam LM4591, a milky pedigree; Ronick Hawk from a milky Haltcliffe Vermount daughter (+6kgs)

Looks a nice bull in the book, maybe a wee bit short but breeding is impressive

squinn2912 wrote: »
    We had a neuf Bull here and he bred fantastic calves with great ends but they’re mad next parish type cattle. Not keeping any of his heifers regardless of the milk score. I won’t even check it! Spoke to a breeder the day we sold him and he said neuf cows were great

My Neuf cow here is 5 stars for docility, Thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Possibly came from the other side. He was one horrible yoke to have about the place