Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Kitchen

• 09-09-2018 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Hi Folks,

Just wondering if anyone out there has had difficulty with ordering a kitchen off B & Q? I ordered a kitchen at the beginning of June and had to wait 6 weeks for delivery. When it came they had left me short several items on the order but had also included almost EU1000 worth of items that I didn't need (I had paid for these!) I brought the items back and got a refund and re-ordered the items missing. Waited 3 weeks and the order came out - they sent the wrong items again!!! Got back on to them and was told it would be a further 3 weeks to rectify. All in that will be over 3 months from order to delivery - unbelievable. Sorry for the rant, but feeling a bit peeved with a kitchen that's finished except for a door that takes the whole look off it and B & Q don't seem to want to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Doolittle51

I had similar issues with them a couple of years ago.

I ordered a kitchen just after Christmas. they said it would arrive in about 6-8 weeks. That was fine as I expected it to take a while.
    After a week or two I got a call from the haulage company to say they had a delivery from B&Q. I asked if they were sure it was the kitchen delivery and I told them it wasn't due for another few weeks but they said it was. So, I took the day off work and lined up my dad to help unload it. When the truck arrived, 2 lads hop out, open up the back door of the truck, and hand me one small box. I thought they were joking, but no. It was one small part that had been dispatched from their warehouse in Ireland. Rang B&Q about it, but they didn't care and assured me that the main delivery would arrive when first planned.

Roll on another 6 weeks and the main delivery arrived, roughly around the original date they told me. Everything was there except the worktops. Wasn't too worried, as I wasn't planning to install the kitchen for another few weeks. I rang B&Q and they told me they'd sort it out asap.

A couple of weeks later, the worktops arrived, but they were the wrong ones! It took 2 days of phone calls to get it sorted out. I made about 12 phone calls and only received 2 or 3 calls back despite everyone saying they'd call me back in a few minutes. I basically was calling them every hour. I spoke to about 5 or 6 different people in total. Most of the time when I called back to speak to the last person that dealt with me, they were on a break or finished their shift etc. so I had to explain the whole thing again from the start.
    The receptionist refused to put me on to the manager, and would only transfer me to the manager of the department, who was also useless. He promised to get it sorted and call me back. After an hour, he hadn't called back so I rang them again and he was gone home.
    The last guy they put me onto got the brunt of my anger. I told him he had 30 minutes to sort it out and if he didn't call me back, I was coming into the shop to see him.
    An hour later I had my worktops. In fairness this guy was the only one who had any cop on. He knew they carried stock of the worktops I ordered, so took it upon himself to bring them to my house in his own car. Every one else in that shop was 100% useless and didn't give a ****.

Long story i know, but I'd never advise anyone to buy a kitchen from B&Q.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 SparkeyByrne

Yea they are a disaster alright! To be fair to the staff, so far they’ve all been quite helpful but the issue seems to be that their hands are tied in terms of what they can do for me. I’ve had more auto generated emails from B&Q head office than I know what to do with. They’re all more or less advising me that B&Q value my custom and are handing my issue over to some other department! I don’t mind as long as they hand it over to the “ I want the kitchen that I ordered “ department eventually! Definitely wouldn’t recommend them to a friend!!!