Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Less than 48hrs

• 02-09-2018 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭

Collected my new car on Friday ( 172,new to me )

Brought my old Mum up to woodies early this morning, hardly a sole in the car park but as usual I parked one spot over from anyone else and beside a flower bed on my other side.

From inside the shop I could see an XC90 pull into the spot between me and the other car - the rest of the car park was virtually empty mind.

An auld lad got out and after a bit of messing manage to get out of his car.

I paid for my stuff and as I got back to my car, I could hardly believe my fookin eyes. The stupid old fart had put a little car park ding in my door.

I waited till he got back and let him have it with both barrels. He denied it at first but when he opened the door to match the exact spot he could deny it no more.

In order to stop myself committing murder in front of my 9 year old, I told him to learn to drive or get a car that wasnt too big for him and just drove off.
    Sorry for the rant, I am just so p*ssed off !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Some say that his car should accidentally suffer similar careless damage thus avoiding a confrontation in front of a 9 year old again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Id recommend some PDR to get it out id be tormented by that and have to have it removed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'd be angry at myself for only parking one space over. Down the back of the car park with you from now on. :) (just don't park next to me...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sorry to hear OP. Never too sure how I'd deal with the same scenario... Although I still park a million miles from the entrance if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

its the worst , people use your car to line up their own crappy parking or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I would normally park a bit awaymyself, but I tried get my Mum as close to the door as I could.
    In actual fact I was wrong in my description. there was a car directly in front of me and one 2 spaces over in front of me, with nothing to my side. He drove between them, parked beside me, got out and hit mine, and then proceeded to have to bend his mirror out of the way to get by on foot !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Leaving the dent aside, why do some people have an obsession with parking beside other vehicles in an empty car park. I recall when the Liffey Valley shopping centre opened (think it was called Quarryvale at the time). I had reason to visit one Monday morning. Parked well away from the main entrance in an empty car park. Returned 10 mins later to find another car parked 2 inches from mine. 20 fcuking acres of vacant parking all around.:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Leaving the dent aside, why do some people have an obsession with parking beside other vehicles in an empty car park.

Exactly! I'm baffled by this however perhaps it's something like Eric Cartman suggested here, perhaps some absolutely shíte drivers use other cars as a guide for their parking...the mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

Similar happened to me in a shopping centre underground while i was sat in the car.
    An Instagram blogger type lady zoomed into the spot next to me in her A3 convertible and out she jumped clutching a bag bigger than her ego, huge glasses on (dark car park) and hammered her door off my car. By the time i got out she was about 5 or 10 yards away and when i challenged what happened i was met with "oh F*&$ off and get a life its only a car" .
    On inspecting the door it really dented it and stripped paint as well.

I didn't wait around to see how she dealt with the 2 flat wheels on her A3. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

The worst I've ever had to put up with was pretty bad. About 1.5 years ago on my way to Dublin I went into Kildare Village. It was a weekday so it wasn't as busy as the weekends and I parked in a huge empty section all on my own. It was literally a huge chunk of about 60 empty spaces all around so I thought "nice one". Before I got out of the car I replied to a text and before I had done so, some bint pulled in right beside me at which point I said to myself "are you fvcking serious". She then proceeded to open her door, smacking my passenger side mirror and dislodging the cover.

NOT ONE WORD OF ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OR APOLOGY WHATSOEVER before she and her fella left the car and went shopping.

To this day and while typing this it makes me furious and boils my blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

This stuff boils my blood too. I have serious parking OCD because of it!

I cruise the car prk for nice car or new car or boy racer type cars to park between. they are always carefull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

RobAMerc wrote: »
    From inside the shop I could see an XC90 pull into the spot between me and the other car

It's an issue with SUVs - people (especially smaller people) driving them for the brilliant view can see over the hedge into the next county but can't actually see the markings in front of them in the car park, so they line up with another car instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

I'd be angry at myself for only parking one space over. Down the back of the car park with you from now on. :) (just don't park next to me...)

I park in the quietest area of the carpark I can find. Most times when I get back to my car there is someone parked beside me. If I parked on the moon there would be some fecker parked beside me when I got back to the car. It would actually be a bit humorous if I wasn't so protective of my car.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I'd have absolutely no qualms about claiming off their insurance if that happened to me. They won't fúcking do it again too quickly if their premium doubles because they don't care about other peoples property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

A mate of mine hit my car one day.

Parked outside his house, transferring few bits from his car to mine and whack! Nice mark on my driver's door!

WTF??? AH sure cars are only to get A to B, what are you crying About?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Is there no comeback in this situation? Can you claim against the other gobshi*es insurance?

I always park away from other cars and have been lucky enough to avoid dents to date so nice never had to test the above. How I don’t know as I’ve often come back to cars parked on top of me in empty car parks also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

Shopping centre car parks are an absolute warzone when it comes to picking up damage to the sides of cars. My girlfriends car was very clean when we bought it but two years of parking in a shopping centre car park 5 days a week for work has left both sides of the car in absolute tatters.

I drive an older car that I value greatly, people love using it as a door stop. I have to seek out an end space and park millimetres from the kerb to try and get out of the mouth breathers door swinging range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

This is why you take up two spots,parking spaces are fckin tiny here too..

Best be a dick than a dick who's car got a few hundred quids Damage to it by some idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Had this happen to me yesterday, some bint in a jeep bent my electric side mirror back, thought she busted the mechanism when it refused to move back.

Luckily it just needed some manual convincing.

The only way to claim on someone's insurance is to have the Gardai involved isn't it? No Garda is going to arrive on the scene of someone denting someone else's door.

Also, you'd have to provide proof that it was that person whom caused the damage. Kind of hard to do that at all let alone if they drive off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Have a courtesy car at the moment, best thing about it is a can park it anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

The only way to claim on someone's insurance is to have the Gardai involved isn't it? No Garda is going to arrive on the scene of someone denting someone else's door.

Also, you'd have to provide proof that it was that person whom caused the damage. Kind of hard to do that at all let alone if they drive off.
    This is where comprehensive dashcams come in handy.
    If you have it on video showing the reg of the offender then it should be easier to report the incident to their insurer,
    Technically is t hat counted as them leaving the scene?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

The gardai have nothing to do with claiming off insurance? You are not supposed/obliged to call them to attend unless there are injuries. You can just take their policy number etc from the window and call directly.....proving it is another matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭AhHaor

There's nothing worse than having your hands covered in suncream and accidentally rub them on the offending car. DO NOT CONDONE THIS NOR HAVE EVER DONE IT and you may leave finger prints.

rex-x wrote: »
    The gardai have nothing to do with claiming off insurance? You are not supposed/obliged to call them to attend unless there are injuries. You can just take their policy number etc from the window and call directly.....proving it is another matter

True but if you have a Garda report to back up your claim along with the offender admitting it to a Garda then you have a much stronger case.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Leaving the dent aside, why do some people have an obsession with parking beside other vehicles in an empty car park. I recall when the Liffey Valley shopping centre opened (think it was called Quarryvale at the time). I had reason to visit one Monday morning. Parked well away from the main entrance in an empty car park. Returned 10 mins later to find another car parked 2 inches from mine. 20 fcuking acres of vacant parking all around.:mad::mad::mad:

The reason is obvious,
    They are worried their car will be lonely :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

True but if you have a Garda report to back up your claim along with the offender admitting it to a Garda then you have a much stronger case.

The gardai don't take into account or record people admitting it unfortunately. they just report that they attended a call involving two vehicles and make sure insurance details are passed over

The Guards won't be interested in coming out to incidents like this. If anything, you'll only piss them off yourself / be accused of wasting their time!

I've successfully made claims against other drivers in the past for minor bumps and no Gardai were involved. So long as the other party holds their hands up and admits liability, that's all the insurance co want. If they deny liability though, then I guess you have a battle. But a few photos of the scene and the damage inflicted should help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Thats the reason I park in the back of carpark and like an asshole in two spots.

A few months ago I parked like an asshole as always and a massive soccer mom yolk parked near me. As soon as it stoped little darlings just pretty much kicked the door to get out. That door was ment for my car.

Hate parking in full car parks and will avoid them like plague. And even if carpark is empty I will park in the arse of it. I love lazy people who cant walk few extra steps and leave my car alone.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    The Guards won't be interested in coming out to incidents like this. If anything, you'll only piss them off yourself / be accused of wasting their time!

That's basically what I said.

I was involved in an incident a number of years ago where a car ahead of me at the barrier at entrance to a car park reversed into me and made sh!t of my front bumper. I called the Gardai (station is right next door to this car park) and a Garda came out, took insurance details etc, took a report from both of us including the other guy admitting liability and he even followed up with this guy when his insurance company couldn't contact him. The Garda rang him and even called to his house several times.

This same Garda also contacted me after the matter was resolved to make sure everything went ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Similar thing happened to me years ago with a new (to me) car which was immaculate and not a mark anywhere on it. Similar to you, parked away from everyone else in a near empty car park and came out to find a clio parked within 2 ft of my car and a 3" crease where the idiot opened their door at full force into mine. I took a photo of the mark and their insurance disc and waited. An pyjama clad moron arrived out a few minutes later and I showed her what she had done, she apologised and was about to get into her car thinking that was that and I told her she would have to pay for it to be removed as it'll cost me around €100. She said she didn't have any money and I told her, "fine, I have your insurance details from your windscreen, i'll put it through them" She changed her tune and said she'd get me the money and went off to the ATM and withdrew €100 and handed it over. Cost me €80 with dentmaster to get it taken out so at least I wasn't down money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

How much do dents about 2 euro in size take to fix? Even a ball bark? It's on my drivers door and I cry a little inside every time I see it.

If the paint isn't damaged, a PDR (dent specialist) should be able to sort it out relatively quickly and for not too much money. Less than 100 quid anyway.

Ugh. I might put up with it so until the misses comes home with a few more dents. Thanks.
    JoeA3 wrote: »
    If the paint isn't damaged, a PDR (dent specialist) should be able to sort it out relatively quickly and for not too much money. Less than 100 quid anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Similar thing happened to me years ago with a new (to me) car which was immaculate and not a mark anywhere on it. Similar to you, parked away from everyone else in a near empty car park and came out to find a clio parked within 2 ft of my car and a 3" crease where the idiot opened their door at full force into mine. I took a photo of the mark and their insurance disc and waited. An pyjama clad moron arrived out a few minutes later and I showed her what she had done, she apologised and was about to get into her car thinking that was that and I told her she would have to pay for it to be removed as it'll cost me around €100. She said she didn't have any money and I told her, "fine, I have your insurance details from your windscreen, i'll put it through them" She changed her tune and said she'd get me the money and went off to the ATM and withdrew €100 and handed it over. Cost me €80 with dentmaster to get it taken out so at least I wasn't down money.

Legend. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not everybody is a cnut. A few cars back I was driving a 93 Corolla. Nothing fancy and it had seen better days, displaying various dents and dings that it had picked up along the way. It was 12 years old when I got it. I remember getting back to the car in a supermarket car park to be met by a mortified and deeply apologetic lady who had hit my car with her door, and wanted to let me know she was sorry and would pay for the damage. I assured her that wouldn’t be necessary, but I really appreciated her waiting around. I refused to take any cash after showing her all the other various bumps and scratches in that panel, but she still wouldn’t let me leave without handing over a bottle of wine from her shopping.

We tend to only get the horror stories on here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

endacl wrote: »
    We tend to only get the horror stories on here...

Fair play to her, but that's because shes in the 1%.

Few and far between for sure. My last car was wrecked by the end of year 1. My efforts to keep away from others in a car park failed miserably. The size of car park spaces in this country are a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Same happened to me, reversing out of an angled parking spot and caught the back of the car beside me. Pure stupid watching for a gap in traffic. Waited for the owner who wouldn't have a red cent, it wasn't much damage but I know some would be well peed off to come back to a dent from a driveoff.

Have a dash cam on constant record now it's amazing what way people treat an empty car. I'd hate to have something nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭blingrhino

i Park in shopping centre car parks every day,its a nightmare trying to size up a car to park next too.
    if i see a child seat in something next to me i automatically look for another space.
    Always avoid **** boxes too.
    First week i had my new motor it was damaged inthe car park by a swinging car/suv and driver fecked off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Needles73

Typically less than €100 as another poster said. A good pdr guy will know nearly straight away if it will come out and the time it should take. I’ve seen them do amazing jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

No that’s incorrect. You can make a claim against anyone else’s insurance at any stage, Gardai do not have to attend however it will help your case if you have at least reported it to Gardai at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

I saw something quite the opposite once.

I was early for something so was sitting in my car in Stephen's Green car park listening to the radio and a woman in a brand new (at the time) 161 E class pulled into a space between two older cars, a 2008 Golf and something else. She proceeded to open her door straight into the golf, not a bother on her. Then she got out and got her bag out of the back and opened the rear door straight into the golf. She did not give a flying fook. She had a look of arrogance off her alright but couldn't believe she'd do that to her own brand new car let alone the other car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

In the UK last week in my camper, I parked up for the night in an empty layby at least 400 metres long and woke up to find one other vehicle has parked for the night, yes, right behind me. A couple of nights later I parked in a huge town centre car park which was entirely empty and parked at the furthest darkest end of it only to wake to find again, one other car parked....right behind me again. Makes no sense

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd reckon some of it is a sort of psychological comfort in people wanting to be near other people. Feels "safer"". With a bit of not wanting another person/car on their own. Plus a human nature thing of focusing on something that stands out or apart. I remember hearing tell of a big tree on some road where it was the only tree for miles. Australia IIRC. Well this one tree on an otherwise straight road would regularly be hit by cars. Once IIRC it was even clipped by a light aircraft. The thing that stood out in the landscape was what got hit. I;d say that's a lot of it with the only car in the carpark usually getting a "friend" in short order.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

It's herd mentality all right - I regularly leave the car in the most remote parts of car parks and almost always find other cars parked close to it when I come back. Haven't been on a beach in donkey's years, but I clearly remember the same phenomena: used to go early in the morning as a kid with my family; We'd be the one parasol on the entire, 2km long beach and guess what - the next family / person on the beach would put theirs 70 cm from ours. Even as a child, this p1ssed me off to no end - couldn't understand why they didn't go somewhere further away.

After 6 years in my ownership, my car's sides are absolutely ravaged - I have no less than 4-5 door dings each side, result of it being parked side-by-side with other cars in my two last apartment's car parks.

One former neighbour in particular drove a total scrapbox of a Passat - three different rims on it, dents everywhere and two children seats in the back. I never managed to catch them in the act, but the dings in my rear doors lined perfectly with the ones in hers :(