Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish drill music

• 02-09-2018 5:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭

I'm curious whether this is on anyone's radar yet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7ao6LOUMOQ

I'm a fan of grime and lately drill music. Now, drill music in the UK is violent, with artists often serving long jail sentences and numerous members being killed, so it's almost an extension of the normal crime scene in London.

I'm not trying to make a moral judgment here but it does seem that nobody has quite twigged we now have UK style postcode gangs.

In many ways this extends the ye olde stuff, Tallaght v Blanch and so on, but not with proper production values and some slick outfits.

I realize this will inevitable bring up race, but I think the issue here is more to do with more complex factors, such as the basic fact of it being documents, whereas in the past our white youth from the same places were simply unseen.

I personally would like to see some of them do well, but obviously it seems we're missing what could be a big social problem if London drill is the model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Gob****es,
    little cardboard gangsters hopefully it dies pretty quickly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

That's not drill music, this is drill music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

First lad was alright, rest garbage.

Prefer these guys

Haha..classic..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

^Heh yes, they are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

What sounds cooler, technopunk or synthgaze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

scopper wrote: »
    I'm curious whether this is on anyone's radar yet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7ao6LOUMOQ

I'm a fan of grime and lately drill music. Now, drill music in the UK is violent, with artists often serving long jail sentences and numerous members being killed, so it's almost an extension of the normal crime scene in London.

I'm not trying to make a moral judgment here but it does seem that nobody has quite twigged we now have UK style postcode gangs.

In many ways this extends the ye olde stuff, Tallaght v Blanch and so on, but not with proper production values and some slick outfits.

I realize this will inevitable bring up race, but I think the issue here is more to do with more complex factors, such as the basic fact of it being documents, whereas in the past our white youth from the same places were simply unseen.

I personally would like to see some of them do well, but obviously it seems we're missing what could be a big social problem if London drill is the model.

The K32s have been leaving their mark around Balbriggan for a few years now.

Not sure what drill is but they do this kind of stuff too.

Are they still using land lines in Athlone?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Is that what that sh1te is called?

Pure and absolute dirt.

In my humble opinion.

Interesting, I had no idea this was a thing (I grew up in Tallaght, but I'm in the leafy environs of Donnybrook these days, no D4 gang, as you might imagine). I'm guessing they must live a little of the life if people know them beyond music.

"There's a load of black lads in balaclavas dancing outside costcutter!!"

It reminds me of Jungle.

And they all bounce like bunnies

Star Bingo wrote: »
    It reminds me of Jungle.

And they all bounce like bunnies

Yep, it's for sure in the jungle-grime-uk-vibes lineage. The dances are always fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Think this is closest we have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Hopefully the lads with guns can be identified and receive appropriate sentences. It's a bit stupid to be putting yourself out there like that. I'd imagine the lads in actual gangs wouldn't go making videos about it. It's slightly scary though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Now this is drill music

When I hear the drill I know it’s time to evacuate
    GarIT wrote: »
    It's slightly scary though.

my bowels?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

pure cac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I think Fr Stack did it better:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

23 seconds in to the OP's video...
    There are gangs beginining...

F*cking eejits. :pac:

Watched it again there for a laugh..

It can probably be traced back to d4nny goodbye I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Eircode finally took off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Hard to take lads having a hip spasm in blue surgical gloves seriously
    Especially if outside costcutters.
    In Athlone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Load of s**t, bunch of lads rapping about been tough when they're not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

They're no Scary Eire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jaysus and I was only getting used to the aul Dubstep meself.

It'll be a cold Christmas in the Skrillex house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Lol at the lads outside costcutter across form AIT.
    Gob****es.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

they are all using london slang and accents, that is their first mistake. you have to use your own accent and slang.

why do they call themselves gangs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

Another multi-cultural success story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I always thought Drum N' Bass was drill music, especially when Aphex Twin dropped it.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

this is proper irish drill music, boi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

fryup wrote: »
    this is proper irish drill music, boi

That's better.