Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ucc - starting college Nerves HELP

Options
  • 24-08-2018 1:37am
    Registered Users Posts: 6

I’m starting college in Ucc in September, this is my first time moving away from home and I feel really anxious. Some of my friends will also be going to Ucc so it’s nice to know I’ll be in cork with them but none of us are in the same accommodation. My accommodation is actually nearer to Cit than Ucc so I’m presuming it’ll be mainly Cit students. I’m worried that I won’t make friends or that I’ll be left out and stuff, my anxiety is kicking in, can someone give advice

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Bradlin

Annc999 wrote: »
    I’m starting college in Ucc in September, this is my first time moving away from home and I feel really anxious. Some of my friends will also be going to Ucc so it’s nice to know I’ll be in cork with them but none of us are in the same accommodation. My accommodation is actually nearer to Cit than Ucc so I’m presuming it’ll be mainly Cit students. I’m worried that I won’t make friends or that I’ll be left out and stuff, my anxiety is kicking in, can someone give advice

Get involved in as many Societies in College as you possibly can. And not just as a member. Offer to help as a volunteer and that will quickly get you on the inside track. My big regret in College was that I didn't join as many societies as I should have. I thought I was too kool for skool - the problem was, no-one else did!!

Also, remember, everyone is nervous starting College, even if they have loads of friends and even if they try to pretend they are not nervous.