Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on unsuccessful homing of stray dog please.

• 13-08-2018 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭

Folks,
    A local family moved out of our area just before Christmas leaving 3 dogs behind. Dogs had been very poorly treated for a long time as far as we are aware. We are new to the rural area in which we now live. The local dog warden took two of the dogs as far as we know but couldn't catch the third. As the cold snap approach I made him a kennel in our outside garage and put a bed and blankets etc in. He even got a hot water bottle most nights! We have spent months trying to gain his trust and he will now eat out of our hands but has never allowed himself be touched/patted etc.
    He has never snapped or growled at any of us (2 adults and 2 young kids) but has taken the barking all night long outside the small group of houses where we live. It s disturbing everybody's sleep. He has also been seen in a local farmer's field where there are sheep and lambs during the week. I was informed today that the farmer would most likely shoot him on sight if he was caught in the field.
    We had our own dogs for 12 years and are used to handling them but we haven't managed to gain this guy's trust enough to tame him. I don't want to see him shot and our neighbours, although patient, are sick of the relentless barking at night.
    Had anyone any idea as to what the best course of action might be? We have tried hard to give him a better life but we need to take our neighbours' wellbeing into account as well. Stray dogs are not tolerated in the area and he will most likely be shot if he strays onto a farm again. We can't catch him, put a lead on him but he does sleep in our sheltered carport in a kennel which is insulated but doesn't have a closeable door.
    We are based between Carlow and Kilkenny. Any advice appreciated. I'm currently trying to entice him back from barking outside our neighbours house. Last night I was out twice at 12 and 4am doing the same.
    Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭fathead82

Could you build a run around the kennel? Then you could start feeding him in the run every evening & just close the door & leave him in there for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭mobfromcork

Good suggestion and it may help with the barking problem but even if we were able to keep him in at night, our site is around 2 acres bordered by farm fields and he can get through hedges in loads of places. Fencing the whole place isn't an option for us. He hasn't gone into the farms before but another neighbour spent a long time trying to entice him out of a sheep field with some food last week.
    While not a threatening dog and quite gentle in nature, he is quite feral/wild and I'm not sure we will be able to tame him enough to confine him safely.
    We were thinking of contacting an animal rescue shelter tomorrow to see if they had any advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

Good suggestion and it may help with the barking problem but even if we were able to keep him in at night, our site is around 2 acres bordered by farm fields and he can get through hedges in loads of places. Fencing the whole place isn't an option for us. He hasn't gone into the farms before but another neighbour spent a long time trying to entice him out of a sheep field with some food last week.
    While not a threatening dog and quite gentle in nature, he is quite feral/wild and I'm not sure we will be able to tame him enough to confine him safely.
    We were thinking of contacting an animal rescue shelter tomorrow to see if they had any advice.

Surrender him to the pound perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

If this dog truly is as feral as you say have you considered that the Kindest thing to do might be to trap him and have him put to sleep humanely. He certainly can't be left to run wild around sheep Country in any case. There may be some exceptional human being willing to Foster him and try to win his trust but realistically a dozen other dogs could be saved with the resources it would take up to work with just this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Contact local rescues, they may have a trap and be able to catch him.

Well done for all you're doing and have done for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

as others wisely say this really is a job for professionals . I would though go with a private rescue rather than the pound which is a one way ticket. There may well be a perfect owner for him,

And soonest best.

and echoing what others have said. well done and thank you on behalf of all doglovers - and dogs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

The prolonged barking at night is probably in response to another dog in the neighbourhood. if you can close it in a garage or shed at night with a radio playing the barking may stop. If the dog will allow you to feed it your best bet may be to move the food into a garage or some place where you can close it in and if if it is using the kennel put a door on it.

To catch it. Use a wide looped choke-chain style collar rattle it to call the dog in for food and draped over your arm and rattle it around its head while the dog is eating and gradually over a few days move it over its head while it is eating. It that works you can swap it out for a proper collar.

Please don't do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

OP - please contact our local animal recuse center they will have HUMANE traps where food is placed and you can trap him and they may be bale to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

muddypaws wrote: »
    Please don't do this.

agreed... the poor dog will FLIP out completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

cocker5 wrote: »

I think a dog flipping out is better than where the situation is heading

ganmo wrote: »
    I think a dog flipping out is better than where the situation is heading

Dog flips out, bites the OP in fear, then loses all trust in humans completely and the bite is a death sentence for the dog. There are more humane ways to catch a scared, semi-feral animal.

the dog is on its way to a death sentence already with the possibility of causing damage too.

cocker5 wrote: »

If the dog will flip out it will do so as soon as the OP tries to put anything over its nose or head, and its people friendly so should reverse away as it flips out. As it will not allow petting the OP has a snowballs chance in hell of clipping on a collar without getting nipped if the dog flips out. This way the dog gets to choose and as the OP wants to rehome it, it will need to learn to accept a collar. As the OP has dogs, the OP should be able to spot the signs of the dog being unhappy and stop the action before it flips out.
    But if someone wants to recomend a better way please do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

the dog is on its way to a death sentence already with the possibility of causing damage too.
    There are traps available that help to catch the dog without frightening it so much. That is what is being suggested here...

AryaStark wrote: »
    There are traps available that help to catch the dog without frightening it so much. That is what is being suggested here...

the dog has to be contained whether its a choke chain slipped over his head or a trap it doesn't matter as long as it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

the dog has to be contained whether its a choke chain slipped over his head or a trap it doesn't matter as long as it happens

I agree that the dog has to be contained. I think a professional rescue getting involved would be the best option if possible.

The advice given to the op to put the chain on while the dog is about to eat leaves the op in a dangerous situation where they could get bit as well as ruin any chances of catching the dog.

If the dog will flip out it will do so as soon as the OP tries to put anything over its nose or head, and its people friendly so should reverse away as it flips out. As it will not allow petting the OP has a snowballs chance in hell of clipping on a collar without getting nipped if the dog flips out. This way the dog gets to choose and as the OP wants to rehome it, it will need to learn to accept a collar. As the OP has dogs, the OP should be able to spot the signs of the dog being unhappy and stop the action before it flips out.
    But if someone wants to recomend a better way please do.

We already have, a humane trap

AryaStark wrote: »
    I agree that the dog has to be contained. I think a professional rescue getting involved would be the best option if possible.

The advice given to the op to put the chain on while the dog is about to eat leaves the op in a dangerous situation where they could get bit as well as ruin any chances of catching the dog.

The OP has experience with dogs and the dog can see what is happening around it and will be able to see the OP putting the chain up to its nose and will indicate if it's happy with what is happening.
    There is no way I would suggest that someone unsure or not use to dogs would try to catch the dog. but as the OP is happy enough to have the stray around young kids I would hope that its because they are not idiots but rather they are experienced and confident enough to be able to read the dogs body language. Trapping the dog is well and good but to resocialise that dog will take a lot of time, and its likely the dog will just end up being PTS.

The OP has experience with dogs and the dog can see what is happening around it and will be able to see the OP putting the chain up to its nose and will indicate if it's happy with what is happening.
    There is no way I would suggest that someone unsure or not use to dogs would try to catch the dog. but as the OP is happy enough to have the stray around young kids I would hope that its because they are not idiots but rather they are experienced and confident enough to be able to read the dogs body language. Trapping the dog is well and good but to resocialise that dog will take a lot of time, and its likely the dog will just end up being PTS.

With all respect, if you read the OP, you will see that the dog will eat out of their hands, but will not allow them to touch him. Rattling a chain near him will, I have no doubt, freak him out and he will run. He will go into an open garage area and eat, so the humane trap can be used by putting that into the garage with food in it, so no humans need to be nearby scaring him.

Resocialising the dog can be done by a rescue, if they have space, as everyone is unfortunately full. Using a humane trap, the dog can then be transported safely in that cage to a kennel environment where again, he can be contained safely while his rehabilitation takes place. Using crates like this, the dog doesn't associate the feeling of being trapped with humans as much as he would with a choke chain around his neck and a human on the other end of a lead.

I have dealt with a feral dog that was brought in by a rescue from overseas that unfortunately escaped, she is petrified of people and again, whilst she will go into an area to eat, she won't let anybody put a collar or lead anywhere near her.

Thanks for all the replies folks. In his previous house the dog was chained up outside according to a neighbour. We had gotten him to the point where he was eating from our hands but he would always recoil whenever we tried to rub him. At no stage were we worried about him with the kids (when we were there).
    He had once come right into the house and sat at the bottom of the stairs for around an hour as we walked up and down past him so we thought we were getting places but as soon as any contact was initiated he would jump away.
    I would rather see him rehomed if possible although I understand this is a long shot. My partner has contacted a friend this morning who works with animal shelters and is waiting to hear back. Will keep you updated.
    Mark

With all respect, if you read the OP, you will see that the dog will eat out of their hands, but will not allow them to touch him. Rattling a chain near him will, I have no doubt, freak him out and he will run. He will go into an open garage area and eat, so the humane trap can be used by putting that into the garage with food in it, so no humans need to be nearby scaring him.

Resocialising the dog can be done by a rescue, if they have space, as everyone is unfortunately full. Using a humane trap, the dog can then be transported safely in that cage to a kennel environment where again, he can be contained safely while his rehabilitation takes place. Using crates like this, the dog doesn't associate the feeling of being trapped with humans as much as he would with a choke chain around his neck and a human on the other end of a lead.

I have dealt with a feral dog that was brought in by a rescue from overseas that unfortunately escaped, she is petrified of people and again, whilst she will go into an area to eat, she won't let anybody put a collar or lead anywhere near her.
    You may notice that I said that the OP should to call the dog in for food with the rattle of the chain so the dog will associate the sound as a good thing. And I never suggested that the OP attempt to put a lead on the chain for the dog but rather switch over to a proper collar once the dog accepted something going over its head and neck. If the OP can manage this on their own they have a better chance of rehoming the dog themselves with someone who will have the time and interest in dealing with the dog. Sending it off to a full rescue is probably just extending its life by a matter of weeks.

Thanks for all the replies folks. In his previous house the dog was chained up outside according to a neighbour. We had gotten him to the point where he was eating from our hands but he would always recoil whenever we tried to run him. At no stage were we worried about him with the kids (when we were there).
    He had once come right into the house and sat at the bottom of the stairs for around an hour as we walked up and down past him so we thought we were getting places but as soon as any contact was initiated he would jump away.
    I would rather see him rehomed if possible although I understand this is a long shot. My partner has contacted a friend this morning who works with animal shelters and is waiting to hear back. Will keep you updated.
    Mark
    Ask around the neighbourhood also as there could be someone who has a good pen setup who will take it and work with it. Our last dog was friend, of a friend, of a friend 'rescue' to be a companion to our dog due to the death of it's kennel mate. People are good that way and will spread the word through the dog owning community.

You may notice that I said that the OP should to call the dog in for food with the rattle of the chain so the dog will associate the sound as a good thing. And I never suggested that the OP attempt to put a lead on the chain for the dog but rather switch over to a proper collar once the dog accepted something going over its head and neck. If the OP can manage this on their own they have a better chance of rehoming the dog themselves with someone who will have the time and interest in dealing with the dog. Sending it off to a full rescue is probably just extending its life by a matter of weeks.

Yes, I did see thst and I still stand by my point that rattling a chain near a scared dog will make that dog run. The dog needs to be under it's fear threshold to eat, counter conditioning an animal unfortunately isn't as simple as pairing an aversive with food.

You misunderstood my point about rescues being full. If a rescue agrees to take the dog, it won't only be for a few weeks, that's not how good rescues work. The problem is with finding a rescue with space to take the dog at all..

We all want what's best for the dog, but if the warden couldn't catch him, I very much doubt that the OP or neighbours will be able to unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

OP it’s admirable what you are trying to do so fair play. Please heed the advice using a humane trap instead of a choke chain, not only for your safety, but also the dogs.

Somewhere in our little lads life he was chained/ restrained by a choke chain & the scars are still present & always will be along with the fear associated with chains rattling.

I see dogs, little & large, being walked on them in our area and TBH, if you have to walk a Chi or any dog on one you shouldn’t have a dog full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Graces7 wrote: »
    as others wisely say this really is a job for professionals . I would though go with a private rescue rather than the pound which is a one way ticket. There may well be a perfect owner for him,

And soonest best.

and echoing what others have said. well done and thank you on behalf of all doglovers - and dogs..

Actually the Carlow/Kilkenny Dog Pound are really good and very rarely are dogs put down, only if they’re very sick or killing sheep.

Graces7 wrote: »

And soonest best.

Actually the Carlow/Kilkenny Dog Pound are really good and very rarely are dogs put down, only if they’re very sick or killing sheep.

Yes, they are a good pound, I got Bran from there, and he has major issues but they kept him for two months until I took him

So, we chatted to a few people during the week in different dog shelters etc and local groups and have decided to contact the Carlow/Kilkenny Dog pound in the morning. Another group from Carlow are also going to contact them on our behalf. The dog actually has a very gentle nature but needs a more secure garden than we (or our neighbours) can offer in the midst of sheep fields. One of our boundaries can't be altered at the moment for a few reasons and he can jump over it easily. Hopefully the pound will be able to help us catch him safely and easily for him. I'll keep you all updated. Thanks again for all the advice. Good to hear that that particular pound won't be rushing to put him down

Folks, a quick update on the stray dog situation. After nearly a week of trying we finally managed to catch him (quite peacefully) today and he is now in the Carlow/Kilkenny Dog pound in Paulstown. We had help from the ISPCA and the dog warden during the week but he was very wary of the humane dog trap and wouldn't go near it. We cajoled him into our garage with some food today and managed to close the door until he was collected by the warden. It wasn't an easy thing to do but we feel it was the best thing for all, including the dog, in this situation.
    If he is not adopted/fostered from the pound we hope he might find some help in a dog shelter. We (and one of our neighbours) would be happy to contribute to his upkeep in a shelter.
    Thanks for all the help and advice. I hope it all works out for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

You did a really nice thing. So many people just turn away and ignore an animal in need. I have a dog and currently have massive vet bills but I would be happy to make a donation towards his care if needed. At least you know he now has a secure bed and food in his belly at night.