Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shed erectors Wexford

• 13-08-2018 11:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭

Hi guys/gals.

Would any of ye kind folk have the names and numbers of shed erectors in Wexford, I’m in the Enniscorthy/Gorey area. I got let down badly by a lad last winter and my efforts to get guys out to measure and price a few jobs is proving fruitless I’m sick of ringing around reminding lads they’re meant to call out and never appearing.

Thanks in advance for any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,210 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭valtra2

Would second that. Excellent work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Is the builders holiday still in swing? One crowd especially haven’t answered the phone the last fortnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Box09

Yeah they are on holiday this week. They are busy too, it's taken a while to get them to do my job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Doyle does excellent work... although technically Carlow.. found it hard myself to get lads.. are you getting the grant or just normal?

Normal spec outta my own pocket. 3 seperate builds. Just can’t understand the reluctance from small guys to large companies to come and price the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Box09

There's also TJ Garahy nott a million miles away from there but I rang them 3 times and they never bothered to come to price my job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭ravima

Whatever you do, make sure that the contractor has full EL and PL insurance and that his insurer/broker will Indemnity you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

lefthooker wrote: »
    Normal spec outta my own pocket. 3 seperate builds. Just can’t understand the reluctance from small guys to large companies to come and price the job.

Took me the bones of 3 months to get a price... in the end I drove to them
    With the plans in hand and that was the only way I could get a price. Also it's worth shopping around as there was the difference of 7k in a 4 bay lean 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

lefthooker wrote: »
    Hi guys/gals.

Would any of ye kind folk have the names and numbers of shed erectors in Wexford, I’m in the Enniscorthy/Gorey area. I got let down badly by a lad last winter and my efforts to get guys out to measure and price a few jobs is proving fruitless I’m sick of ringing around reminding lads they’re meant to call out and never appearing.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Thought it was just me seems impossible to get a quote never mind a start date

Box09 wrote: »
    Yeah they are on holiday this week. They are busy too, it's taken a while to get them to do my job.
    grassroot1 wrote:
    Thought it was just me seems impossible to get a quote never mind a start date

So yesterday evening I rang the names and numbers I got, all mobiles. Tried a few again this morning. Not one answered and no call backs. Fine if I was ringing an office and there was no one there to pick up but FFS
    17 months in the offing now :mad:

That's the constant it seems may they never see a poor day
    One of the guys I rang who did not ring back was working over the road so called in he as good as ran me out of the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Joe Daly

They will only come to you when it suits them I have never meet a builder yet that would oblige you they always feel you are the one that should beg them to do a job that's why I do most jobs myself if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Found the same myself. Looked up DD and called a few numbers aswell. Got an answer from two numbers and could not get a quote. Getting someone to call into the yard and measure and quote like any other trade seems impossible too
    Its the same craic with milking parlour guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,487 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Pricing a fairly big job here at the minute. All flat out until after Christmas. Getting prices for separate concrete and steel work and all done by the one lad. Waiting on prices back. They all got a copy of the plans. Need to get esb to move 2 sets of 3 phases lines first though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

whelan2 wrote: »
    Pricing a fairly big job here at the minute. All flat out until after Christmas. Getting prices for separate concrete and steel work and all done by the one lad. Waiting on prices back. They all got a copy of the plans. Need to get esb to move 2 sets of 3 phases lines first though.

Get your request in early with esb and do everything in writing. I'm waiting 3 months to move 2 poles so I can start my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

sea12 wrote: »
    Get your request in early with esb and do everything in writing. I'm waiting 3 months to move 2 poles so I can start my house.

Go to them at the ploughing.
    We did last year and they were out the next week to survey the site and 4 weeks later the new supply was in

Will there be any cost to me for getting the poles moved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Not for me anyway. Once you have planning permission they have to move

whelan2 wrote:

No cost moved 4 poles here last week
    Waiting on concrete contractors now

sea12 wrote: »
    Not for me anyway. Once you have planning permission they have to move

Thanks I sent them an email this morning

Sorry for hijacking the thread. What does it cost to get 3 phase electricity in. It is passing over my yard. Would it be an advantage to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Cost me 2500, all they had to do was put up a pole and put the transformer on it., line was a length of cable from the parlour. Request a quote off esb networks and talk to the lad that comes out he can give other options as well like upping the single phase. If it's nearby 3 phase is prob better. Are you putting in a new parlour?
    Best talk to an electrician as well as to what would need to be done after, they can be as dear as anything else

Mooooo wrote: »
    Cost me 2500, all they had to do was put up a pole and put the transformer on it., line was a length of cable from the parlour. Request a quote off esb networks and talk to the lad that comes out he can give other options as well like upping the single phase. If it's nearby 3 phase is prob better. Are you putting in a new parlour?
    Best talk to an electrician as well as to what would need to be done after, they can be as dear as anything else

Ye new parlour and sheds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Ye new parlour and sheds

3 phase be worth it so for, never be lacking power again motors slightly cheaper as well

Mooooo wrote: »
    3 phase be worth it so for, never be lacking power again motors slightly cheaper as well

Is the electricity charged at the same rate?