Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

takeaway delivery driver

• 10-08-2018 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Hi thinking of looking for a job doing take away deliverers evening's and weekends. Just wondering how much can you potentially make working say 2-3 nights a weeks as want to see if its worth it taking on a second job for extra income

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Your potential employer should be telling you this.

p.s. Be careful and ensure your motor ins. covers this line of work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

You need to be insured to do this. Have a traffic accident and you will not be covered with a standard motor policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I do it for the craic. Have a proper day job that pays well but do it out of boredom really. Just be sitting at home doing nothing so why not.

Depends on the days really and the type of place. Chinese places are always the busiest.

I do 5 hours a night in a chipper. Get paid 6 quid an hour. Then you get the delivery fee for each run. Usually 2 euro to 3.50 depending on location.

Monday to Wednesday are not great days. But can be anywhere from 60 to 100 quid. Can be more sometimes.

On a busy day for where I do it. Which wouldn't be that many deliveries in a night maybe about 30 on a busy night with pay , delivery fees and tips about 150 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 thegrizz

thanks everyone for the replies. ye i figured i need to change the insurance to make sure im covered etc plan was to ring to the insurance company to get a quote of the change of use and do sums with extra petrol etc to see if its worth it. but if you could make 60 70 a night and 100 150 on a busy night could be worth it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

You need to be insured to do this. Have a traffic accident and you will not be covered with a standard motor policy.

Out of interest how would these thieving scumbags find out you were working on the night of the accident if you had the "wrong" insurance? The guards writing the report are hardly going to care for the reason you were on the road as long as you have your basic insurance. The vast majority of deliverymen don't wear a uniform.

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    I do it for the craic. Have a proper day job that pays well but do it out of boredom really. Just be sitting at home doing nothing so why not.

Depends on the days really and the type of place. Chinese places are always the busiest.

I do 5 hours a night in a chipper. Get paid 6 quid an hour. Then you get the delivery fee for each run. Usually 2 euro to 3.50 depending on location.

Monday to Wednesday are not great days. But can be anywhere from 60 to 100 quid. Can be more sometimes.

On a busy day for where I do it. Which wouldn't be that many deliveries in a night maybe about 30 on a busy night with pay , delivery fees and tips about 150 euro.

I take it that when you say you're on 6 euro per hour it's on the books? I seem to recall some exception to the minimum wage where a delivery person can be paid 6 euro per hour for being on call as long as they also get paid per delivery. Would lads keeping staff off the books usually not pay an hourly, and all income would come from the delivery charge?

In all these years I have had a grand total of one delivery man from Domino's who was Irish (the other night funnily enough), yet most drivers from local chippers and pizza joints are Irish (and often a bit older). I've always imagined that Domino's, being a big chain, do everything by the book and all staff are taxed which puts off lads on the dole working on the side, whereas with the chippers/ pizza lads a good few of them are off the books and claiming some form of welfare on the sly.

Another I'd say about Domino's vs smaller operators, smaller operators tend to have the same two or three drivers. Whereas I don't think I've ever had the same Domino's driver twice.

Whether that is because Domino's employs so many that there's a small chance of getting the same lad twice, or whether it means it employs so many that it's impossible to earn a decent coin due to over saturation and most of them feck off after a few weeks, I'm not too sure.

Although I will say, I've lived in three different areas of Dublin in my life, and, while virtually all foreign, upwards of 90 percent of the Domino's lads are of Pakistani/ Bangladeshi origin (judging by appearance and the muslim names showing up on the delivery tracker). I don't know is there a specific reason, if Domino's is a closed shop for these lads only (seems to be plenty of Irish kids working on the tills/ kitchens) but delivery men from other spots are mostly Irish with a handful being East European.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Mike Hoch wrote: »
    Out of interest how would these thieving scumbags find out you were working on the night of the accident if you had the "wrong" insurance? The guards writing the report are hardly going to care for the reason you were on the road as long as you have your basic insurance. The vast majority of deliverymen don't wear a uniform.

It's up to the policyholder to inform the insurer in advance of any material change in the cover.

You can be absolutely certain though that if the OP had insufficient cover and a claim arose where they had lots of fast food in the car the insurer would raise an eyebrow, and rightly so imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I take it that when you say you're on 6 euro per hour it's on the books? I seem to recall some exception to the minimum wage where a delivery person can be paid 6 euro per hour for being on call as long as they also get paid per delivery. Would lads keeping staff off the books usually not pay an hourly, and all income would come from the delivery charge?

In all these years I have had a grand total of one delivery man from Domino's who was Irish (the other night funnily enough), yet most drivers from local chippers and pizza joints are Irish (and often a bit older). I've always imagined that Domino's, being a big chain, do everything by the book and all staff are taxed which puts off lads on the dole working on the side, whereas with the chippers/ pizza lads a good few of them are off the books and claiming some form of welfare on the sly.

Another I'd say about Domino's vs smaller operators, smaller operators tend to have the same two or three drivers. Whereas I don't think I've ever had the same Domino's driver twice.

Whether that is because Domino's employs so many that there's a small chance of getting the same lad twice, or whether it means it employs so many that it's impossible to earn a decent coin due to over saturation and most of them feck off after a few weeks, I'm not too sure.

Although I will say, I've lived in three different areas of Dublin in my life, and, while virtually all foreign, upwards of 90 percent of the Domino's lads are of Pakistani/ Bangladeshi origin (judging by appearance and the muslim names showing up on the delivery tracker). I don't know is there a specific reason, if Domino's is a closed shop for these lads only (seems to be plenty of Irish kids working on the tills/ kitchens) but delivery men from other spots are mostly Irish with a handful being East European.

Other than a big chain like dominos I'd say 95% of takeaways do not pay for insurance or have any drivers on the books, so you just have to declare your extra income when October comes around with the tax man. I also reckon 95% of drivers do not do that.

Dominos I know used to be 5 euro an hour then a per drop charge. Not sure what it is now, I reckon they cover insurance also as they have guys out on bikes delivering, well they used to anyway and I doubt the drivers were paying for it out of their own pockets, I'd say everything there is all above board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Other than a big chain like dominos I'd say 95% of takeaways do not pay for insurance or have any drivers on the books, so you just have to declare your extra income when October comes around with the tax man. I also reckon 95% of drivers do not do that.

Dominos I know used to be 5 euro an hour then a per drop charge. Not sure what it is now, I reckon they cover insurance also as they have guys out on bikes delivering, well they used to anyway and I doubt the drivers were paying for it out of their own pockets, I'd say everything there is all above board.
    Lots of assumptions there...have you any facts?

Romayos have lads driving branded cars and all. Aside from that I'm not too sure, everyone else seems casually dressed and using his own motor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭duffman13

This is great little earner in the right shops, foolish now looking back but i did this while studying full time as I has zero income. Worked a few different places eventually got into the right place earning about 120 after fuel per night working 5pm-11.30.

Park off 20 quid a night for maintenance (more than enough) and your laughing. I wasn't on the books and the likes of dominos were the only ones who were.

Never got hit by revenue but more than a few of the lads I worked with got caught by inspectors from the department of social protection. Thankfully I wasn't on the dole but not long after I left revenue got a few lads in another takeaway.

Have been away 10 years from it but if I was stuck for cash I'd go straight back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 bob.k

Where did you see or hear that statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,261 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The Gardai might well care about whether you have legal insurance or not. The pizza boxes spread across the back seat could be a bit of a giveaway, as would the branded clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

a mate does it in a chipper in dublin and about E100 a night on average... thats 5:30-11:30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Pick the right place. Popular busy places.

I remember an indian place i used to work for would give them 5er an hour and 2 per delivery. On a quiet night that may be only 20 quid and you've to pay for your own petrol.

On the other hand if they pay you 6 an hour and its a quiet night you're basically sitting in your car doing nothing getting paid 40 either way or similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 bob.k

Pick the right place. Popular busy places.

I remember an indian place i used to work for would give them 5er an hour and 2 per delivery. On a quiet night that may be only 20 quid and you've to pay for your own petrol.

On the other hand if they pay you 6 an hour and its a quiet night you're basically sitting in your car doing nothing getting paid 40 either way or similar

How is it employers can legally only pay 5 or 6 an hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 StephenOT

Out of curiosity, how would someone go about finding a delivery job if they pay cash in hand. They hardly advertise the jobs? Would you need a connection to someone in the business or would you just go into the restaurants and enquire about their deliveries?