Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Cert Advise

• 07-08-2018 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭

Lads I need to get this yoke done.

The only thing from research it seems to be Monday to Friday classroom work I'm working full-time and can't get that sort of time

Then it seems the online version requires level 6 minimum, I have level 5 but intend on doing a level 6 QQI in healthcare stuff in October should be a year

Is my only option to do the level 6 and then apply for next year?

Did anyone here do it while working a job full-time besides your own farm? How did ye swing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Lads I need to get this yoke done.

The only thing from research it seems to be Monday to Friday classroom work I'm working full-time and can't get that sort of time

Then it seems the online version requires level 6 minimum, I have level 5 but intend on doing a level 6 QQI in healthcare stuff in October should be a year

Is my only option to do the level 6 and then apply for next year?

Did anyone here do it while working a job full-time besides your own farm? How did ye swing it?
    That level 6 might not be strong enough plus it’s about 2 grand too

There does be night classes that doesn’t need a level 6, if you ring your local Agri college or Teagasc office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

I'm looking into this myself. I'm looking at this:
    https://www.teagasc.ie/education/courses/agriculture/teagasc-distance-education-green-cert/

If you have a level 6, you should be able to apply for it.
    I work 9-5 so I have to do the distance learning. I have only started looking into it over the last few days, going to email teagasc to get some more info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Thanks lads I'll see what the boys in T suggest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

Is there a list of the benefits of doing this course anywhere? Stamp duty etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Do you really need to do it? I'm in the same situation and I have no time with a full time job, part time farming and family. I'm fecked if I'm going to go back to studying and school a few times a week. Can't anyway as I do shift work. If your only doing it for stamp duty and not drawing down a grant to spend 100k on a new dairy set up you don't need it.

Recently done my transfer and a good soliciter that knows what they are at doing transfers you won't need to pay 6%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

Is there a list of the benefits of doing this course anywhere? Stamp duty etc

It's not just benefits, you might also actually learn something new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Has anybody done the "Teagasc Distance Education Green Cert (for Non Agricultural Award Holders)" https://www.teagasc.ie/education/courses/agriculture/teagasc-distance-education-green-cert/

Seems like you need to be on site for around 25 days for the duration of the course. How many of these days are mid week? I seen the dates for 2018, they first 7 were all mid week. If everything is mid week, then I may not have enough annual leave from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Has anybody done the "Teagasc Distance Education Green Cert (for Non Agricultural Award Holders)" https://www.teagasc.ie/education/courses/agriculture/teagasc-distance-education-green-cert/

Seems like you need to be on site for around 25 days for the duration of the course. How many of these days are mid week? I seen the dates for 2018, they first 7 were all mid week. If everything is mid week, then I may not have enough annual leave from work.

Can you take unpaid leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

The days you are on site tend to differ from course to course. I used to be on Mondays but a few of my mates are on Wednesdays thursdays Fridays depending on the course they are on at the moment. We all did it in Pallaskenry so it differs for everyone.
    Best thing you can do is contact your local office and find out who your local education officer is and have a chat with them.
    You could even possibly try contacting the local provider and speak to one of the course leaders and maybe they can give you some info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

JK I wonder did you find a solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭anfieldrd

I finished it this year, all 25 days were on a Friday. 5 of these days are discussion groups which are compulsory, if missed you will have to travel other teagasc centres or ag colleges to make up.

Also, assessments are on throughout the year on these days, if you miss one you have to repeat it before the next on-site day, this can be done by calling into the centre or the morning of the next on-site. I would say that you would probably need to be there for 16-17 on-site days.