Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boyfriend dosnt want photos of us together online

• 03-08-2018 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

My boyfriend and I were at the races his friend took a photo of the two of us I asked my bf to send it to me so I could put it up on instragram as we were both dressed up I thought it would be nice to share the photo. My bf has instagram but has never posted any photos and he wouldn’t post on fb but either would I, when I asked him for the photo he said he didn’t want those photos online even though he had said to me he was going to change his profile photo to the picture of him and his friend! I find this really strange as he gave me no explanation for not posting the photo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

he doesn't anyone to post pictures of you two together
    or he doesn't want anyone to post pictures of him on sm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

My boyfriend and I were at the races his friend took a photo of the two of us I asked my bf to send it to me so I could put it up on instragram as we were both dressed up I thought it would be nice to share the photo. My bf has instagram but has never posted any photos and he wouldn’t post on fb but either would I, when I asked him for the photo he said he didn’t want those photos online even though he had said to me he was going to change his profile photo to the picture of him and his friend! I find this really strange as he gave me no explanation for not posting the photo!

Maybe he simply doesn't want to live his life through social media. Sounds like a sensible chap.

(Alternatively, he's running a small stable of young fillies and doesn't want to be caught out!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

He’s not keen on sharing his life on social media, wouldn’t be worried about this. Plenty of people don’t want the world to know their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,063 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Could annoy his other gf???

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I halfway agree with him. I don't post any more. i just don't want that crap out there. I've gone from viewing this stuff as something i share with friends to thinking of it as something the whole world can see. When other people post stuff up if feels like they're making me do something i don't want to do. I'm not about to stop them doing it but at the same time I don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

Fair play to that man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Smart bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Blondie1994

I feel stupid for getting annoyed at him now I had just put so much effort into my outfit and make up and he looked so well in his suit that I wanted to share it with my friends I suppose to kinda wanted show him off and by him asking me not to I felt as if he didn’t feel like I looked good and maybe wanted to keep his options open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Keepaneye

Why do you need validation by a bunch of people online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

I feel stupid for getting annoyed at him now I had just put so much effort into my outfit and make up and he looked so well in his suit that I wanted to share it with my friends I suppose to kinda wanted show him off and by him asking me not to I felt as if he didn’t feel like I looked good and maybe wanted to keep his options open

Why not upload the photo here and we'll give you some constructive feedback - and we promise not to tell him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If he uses social media a lot and has loads of photos of himself online/etc I'd be a tad worried.
    If he's just not into social media I wouldn't be overly worried.
    So, he's either not into social media.
    He may have another girlfriend or boyfriend.
    He might be ashamed to be seen with you.
    He mightn't want somebody like his parents to see the picture because they might grill him with questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,912 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

He wants no one to know he is with you. If someone truly loved someone they'd be so proud to show them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Good fcuk, that is some insecure bullsh1t.

Take a break from social media yourself. It'll do you the power of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

U oK huN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Maybe he should have been in work and didn't want his boss to see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Joe prim wrote: »
    U oK huN?

Don't wna talk bout it here. PM me xo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Why do you think you are owed an explanation OP? I don't get this mentality at all. If somebody asks you to not do something, why do they need to explain the reasons behind the request? Just do it, or don't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Blondie if your post is genuine ask to have it moved to personal issues. The p*ss will be pulled out of you here.

Turnipman wrote: »
    Why not upload the photo here and we'll give you some constructive feedback - and we promise not to tell him!

Haha he wouldn’t send me the photo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

He's possibly holding out for his ex and thinks it could still work with her and doesn't wanna jeopardise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

First lesson of Boards, m'dear - don't post stuff like this in After Hours unless you want the absolute sh*te ripped out of you. For genuine answers, go to Personal/Relationship issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

He wants no one to know he is with you. If someone truly loved someone they'd be so proud to show them off.

Not everyone is in to that ****e

Dial Hard wrote: »
    First lesson of Boards, m'dear - don't post stuff like this in After Hours unless you want the absolute sh*te ripped out of you. For genuine answers, go to Personal/Relationship issues.

You just ruined an evenings entertainment for some of us.

Can you not put your imagination to work and think up some scenario that will generate some imaginative responses in AH? There seems to have been a lot of interesting first time posters here recently with juicy issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,912 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Edgware wrote: »
    Not everyone is in to that ****e

There are lots of people we would like to have some fun with, but would not want it made public. Then there are the people we wish to be with, to show off, to walk down the street hand in hand with and strut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Photoshop the face of Sloth from The Goonies over his face and tag him. You'll get your answer quickly enough.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

He doesn't want his other gf/ex to see he's keeping busy in his spare time.

Dial Hard wrote: »

Thanks I couldn’t find the relationship issues to post it there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Maybe he's wanted by the FBI?

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Blondie if your post is genuine ask to have it moved to personal issues. The p*ss will be pulled out of you here.

How do I have it moved to personal issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

even though he had said to me he was going to change his profile photo to the picture of him and his friend

Tá sé Gay.

Ask the mod to move it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

A mod should be along to help you out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

I try to avoid having photos of myself on the internet, and untag myself or have them removed if I see them on Facebook. AI facial recognition, stalking, deepfakes, it's all getting really creepy online. I'm off-putting enough to see in real life, I don't want prospective employers and such seeing me in advance and deciding not to give myself the opportunity to humiliate myself in real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭oceanman

I know this may seem blunt...but your boyfriend seems to have a lot more cop on than you have yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

He’s a Spy with a bounty on his head.

He'd look a bit stupid walking around with a bar of chocolate on his head , any wonder he doesn't want his pictures taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

Only he can tell you why he doesn’t want his photo shared in social media, although him telling you not to should be enough for you.

Can you not just respect his wishes? It’s not an unusual or sinister request.

It’s not as if he doesn’t want to be seen in public with you.

If you have to analyse & process simple things like this the relationship is doomed to fail already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Keepaneye wrote: »
    Why do you need validation by a bunch of people online?

1994, unfortunately very very normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

ED E wrote: »
    1994, unfortunately very very normal.

It would be cool to go back to 94. No stupid smart phones or social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Smart man.

Always said the trick is to get the away leg in first.

One of the main reason I know why people our age(I'm slightly older than you). don't put photos online is they have a job such as a teacher!

OP has started similar thread in another forum!