Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you feel about sharing a hospital ward with a prisoner?

• 01-08-2018 9:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

Was in hospital for a week and ended up being in a bed beside a prisoner, We both were in A&E at the same time and he was going in and out with the prison officers. We were both admitted to the same 6 bed ward. He was handcuffed to the bed and then also to a prison officer when he was moving. I spoke to him a dew times and it didn't really bother me except for there being 2 prison officers there taking up floor space - I was on crutches. I know some of my visitors were surprised and felt a bit awkward and the man on the other side of me asked to get moved and was giving out about paying his VHI and being in the same ward.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

I have private insurance so I don't have to mix with riff raff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Same as I'd feel in a public ward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭touts

I wouldn't mind. It means you're in a ward with the best treatment and where everything will be perfect. I'd be really worried if I woke up and found myself beside an elderly person who had just spent 50+ years working, paying taxes and obeying the law. That means you're at the back of the queue for treatment and generally ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

If I'm honest, I'd be very very curious about him - what did he do to end up in prison? It must have been quite something to be handcuffed to a hospital bed...

Not sure how soundly I'd sleep, though. But then in my experience, nobody sleeps all that well in hospital anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Wouldn't bother me in the slightest.

I'd find it interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭touts

judeboy101 wrote: »

Don't you know if you pay tax and have private health insurance you're officially a leech on the public health system and they have to push you to the back of the queue in the dirtiest ward to make sure there can be no allegation of favouritism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Shenshen wrote: »
    If I'm honest, I'd be very very curious about him - what did he do to end up in prison? It must have been quite something to be handcuffed to a hospital bed...

Not sure how soundly I'd sleep, though. But then in my experience, nobody sleeps all that well in hospital anyway.
    I'd imagine that every category of prisoner is handcuffed to the bed when brought into a public hospital.

Anytime that they're outside of the prison during their sentence is an escape oppurtunity. Whether it's a court date or medical issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'd imagine that every category of prisioner is handcuffed to the bed when brought into a public hospital.

Anytime that they're outside of the prison during their sentence is an escape oppurtunity. Whether it's a court date or medical issue.

True, I hadn't considered that.

OP, did you get to chat with him? Anything you could share? I know I sound like a right nosy cow, but now I imagined myself in the situation, I can't help being curious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Conor84 wrote: »
    Was in hospital for a week and ended up being in a bed beside a prisoner.

Being in the same ward would be one thing but I'm not sure I'd like to be in bed beside a prisoner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

All prisoners no matter how rich or poor get medical cards when released from prison, it's a handy way of getting one.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/prisoners-to-get-medical-card-when-they-leave-jail-754971.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Conor84

That was the other guy's [point but I had private health insurance too and was still on a public ward - not always enough private or semi private rooms.

I found it interesting watching the goings on - was very bored. I don't know what he was in for but he was getting out in a few weeks. He didnt seem the worst and the officers seemed sound with him - taking him out for a smoke every so often. His gf and daughter came in to see him and remember the kid about 4 asking him why he was handcuffed to the bed and he said it was so he wouldnt fall off the bed. Thought that was funny but sad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

All prisoners no matter how rich or poor get medical cards when released from prison, it's a handy way of getting one.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/prisoners-to-get-medical-card-when-they-leave-jail-754971.html

So , all I have to do is serve a sentence and I get one ?

Sounds easy enough .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

I'm not a great sleeper at the best of times, but for whatever reason, whenever I've been in hospital I always get a great night's sleep.

As the OP, wouldn't be bothered in the slightest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭blazard

ah well at least u may have made a friend.

True, I hadn't considered that.

OP, did you get to chat with him? Anything you could share? I know I sound like a right nosy cow, but now I imagined myself in the situation, I can't help being curious!

Just general chit chat - first names only and not about why he was in prison or how long. There were always 2 prison officers there and one was as close to me as to him. No in depth conversations. I offered him a paper I was finished with but one of the guards checked it first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

touts wrote: »
    Don't you know if you pay tax and have private health insurance you're officially a leech on the public health system and they have to push you to the back of the queue in the dirtiest ward to make sure there can be no allegation of favouritism

Only ever go to private hospital and private a&e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Would depend what they were in for

honeybear wrote: »
    Would depend what they were in for

i would Not ask that question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

blazard wrote: »
    i would Not ask that question

I would , it might be for burning down a hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Wouldn't bother me in the slightest ... I've been through numerous addiction treatment centres where I've spent time with people convicted of everything from theft to murder, and most crimes in between. I mean, if you're going to share a ward with five strangers, at least you KNOW a little about this one's past.

There are very few of my friends/acquaintances in recovery who don't have a criminal record ... that doesn't mean they're not trustworthy honest people now.

haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

How would you feel about sharing a hospital ward with a prisoner?

I've done so loads of times....

( I'm a Prison Officer.. :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,254 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

If you weren't on a corridor OP you've done alright.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

If you weren't on a corridor OP you've done alright.
    By the time the prisoner got off the trolley his sentence was probably up anyway so he was actually a free man by the time you met him:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

I was waiting for an MRI scan once with a heavily cuffed prisoner not far from me. I felt for him. All that going on and he needs an mri

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

By the time the prisoner got off the trolley his sentence was probably up anyway so he was actually a free man by the time you met him:p

With his free medical card. And buggy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭Jennehy

You will be on top of Mount Everest with Elton John next week op singing the Dancing Queen with the imagination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

The prisoner next to me probably wouldn't even register with me. I'd be trying to cope with the shock of actually getting a bed and hoping I'd manage to get out of there without contracting anything else. However my local hospital is the Mid West centre for 'excellence' (that's a bloody joke!) formally the regional in Limerick.
    Biggest dirtiest kip in the country.

The prisoner next to me probably wouldn't even register with me. I'd be trying to cope with the shock of actually getting a bed and hoping I'd manage to get out of there without contracting anything else. However my local hospital is the Mid West centre for 'excellence' (that's a bloody joke!) formally the regional in Limerick.
    Biggest dirtiest kip in the country.

mr price has good value on astonish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Me too.

Let me know how you get on always getting that private room in our health system. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

As long as they were being treated ok it wouldn't bother me. I'd feel extra safe with a few prison officers around actually. You're safer in a ward than in a room on your own too.

I was in hospital a few years ago in a private room when a male patient came into my room at around 9 o clock and was acting a bit weird, telling me he'd seen me earlier, complimenting me on my black hair and red PJs. I told him I was waiting for a nurse and he left.
    He came back at around 2am. The lights were off but thankfully I was awake... when I sat up and put on the light he said "Oh, I thought they'd given you a sleeping tablet...".

Thankfully a nurse came along then. They made me leave the light on all night, taped the call bell to my wrist and also gave me a physical old fashioned bell and told me to just scream if he came into the room again. In the morning they told me they'd moved him from the floor and apologised. The truth is you never know what weirdo you'll be in beside. If your neighbour is handcuffed to the bed you're possibly doing better than some!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Do you get a choice in the matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭oneilla

Do you get a choice in the matter?

In the Mater? Only in the mater private afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

At least you know the worst re the prisoner in the next bed and are safe... which cannot be said about all the patients :eek:

Was supporting a friend in court a while back and there was a young man chained to a prison officer.. felt so sorry for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Wouldn't really bother me to be honest once he was somewhat behaved. I'd prefer it than a stuck up posh git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Those of you posting I'm insured/private room blah blah. You're not guaranteed a private or semi private room. You could end up on a public ward.

I've cover for private room and anytime i ended up in a hospital none were available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,352 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Keep in mind, it's shank or be shanked.

Even in a private hospital room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

Derek Brockwell escaped Tallaght hospital by stabbing 2 prison guards a few years ago.

My auld lad was in hospital a week later and shared a ward with a prisoner. Some of the patients demanded that he be moved. It was all over the news at the time so tensions were running high.

Wouldn't bother me in the slightest ... I've been through numerous addiction treatment centres where I've spent time with people convicted of everything from theft to murder, and most crimes in between. I mean, if you're going to share a ward with five strangers, at least you KNOW a little about this one's past.

There are very few of my friends/acquaintances in recovery who don't have a criminal record ... that doesn't mean they're not trustworthy honest people now.

Unfortunately I have a criminal record too (not prison) so wasn't judging him or anything. I spent one night in A&E after getting arrested and felt everybody was staring at me with being in cuffs and Gardai beside me. Think because of that I felt a bit sorry for him while others were giving out