Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cattle age descriptions

• 01-08-2018 7:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

Looking at buying cattle & one thing l noticed is around the country it can vary what description people give their cattle regarding their age. So more so curious what are the name tags, weights and ages ye all have. ie. Calves, runners, yealings, forward stores, store finishers etc.. i know there are are variants regarding weights but in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Hagimalone wrote: »
    Looking at buying cattle & one thing l noticed is around the country it can vary what description people give their cattle regarding their age. So more so curious what are the name tags, weights and ages ye all have. ie. Calves, runners, yealings, forward stores, store finishers etc.. i know there are are variants regarding weights but in general.
    Calves 50kg-100kg
    Runner 140-200kg
    Weanling 300-400kg
    Yearling 400-450kg
    Forward stores 520-560kg
    Store finishers? 600+ kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Who2

Calves 50kg-100kg
    Runner 140-200kg
    Weanling 300-400kg
    Yearling 400-450kg
    Forward stores 520-560kg
    Store finishers? 600+ kg

Unless your buying off a dealer then you could be buying a calf that’s actually a yearling or a forward store that’s an oap. Keep your dates in mind if your buying cattle and buying light cattle that are very old can be costly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Calves 50kg-100kg
    Runner 140-200kg
    Weanling 300-400kg
    Yearling 400-450kg
    Forward stores 520-560kg
    Store finishers? 600+ kg

the term "runner" wasnt something I ever heard until relatively recently, mostly i see it describing weaned calves that lads stick into a calf sale because they'd look small selling along with wealings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

_Brian wrote: »
    the term "runner" wasnt something I ever heard until relatively recently, mostly i see it describing weaned calves that lads stick into a calf sale because they'd look small selling along with wealings

Usually the term runner describes a suckler calf taken off a cow at less than 250kgs and will be unweaned. Do not know where the term came from was it that they were running with a cow or is it down to the fact that unless you house them and watch them they will do a runner. Sometimes these calves will be only 6-8 weeks old.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Had a few calves under cows one year and sold at 3 months old, that's what haulier called them, runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Mooooo wrote: »
    Had a few calves under cows one year and sold at 3 months old, that's what haulier called them, runners

About 10 years ago I bought an October/November born suckler LM bull and heifer, in a calf mart in Early March. The heifer was not too bad but he was straight off the cow. Had no slatted unit at the time, put him in a shed with a gate and pallet. He climbed the pallet to got out. Got him back in and had the pallet on it side and he still climbed it to get out. He got out over the gate as well. I had to collect him off a neighbour once. So I think they get the name from doing a runner.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

In Ennis mart they have a ring just for 'runners' on a Tuesday. I asked once should I book weanlings I was selling into the 'weanling' or 'runner' section and I was told that only stock under 6 Months could be sold in the runner section.

Here it is;
    http://www.claremarts.ie/auction-diary-reports/?PHPSESSID=0ede027bb25ed41415599a73de5699a3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

In Ennis mart they have a ring just for 'runners' on a Tuesday. I asked once should I book weanlings I was selling into the 'weanling' or 'runner' section and I was told that only stock under 6 Months could be sold in the runner section.

Here it is;
    http://www.claremarts.ie/auction-diary-reports/?PHPSESSID=0ede027bb25ed41415599a73de5699a3

Yeah even if it’s 6 months on the day of sale. You que for the numbers for runners in ennis. AFAIK you don’t have to enter them.