Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machine Transport

• 26-07-2018 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Looking to get a MF 50HX transported from enniscorthy to Mayo. I have an ad on DD and have gotten quotes from €300 - €620. I told one lad to go ahead with it and he said he'd get back to me, but never did.

My question is, what is a fair price currently, and have ye numbers for anyone who is half reliable? Bought the machine a week ago so looking to get it up asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Damo810 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Looking to get a MF 50HX transported from enniscorthy to Mayo. I have an ad on DD and have gotten quotes from €300 - €620. I told one lad to go ahead with it and he said he'd get back to me, but never did.

My question is, what is a fair price currently, and have ye numbers for anyone who is half reliable? Bought the machine a week ago so looking to get it up asap.

Where in Mayo? Would the lad who you bought it off know anyone who could do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

whelan2 wrote: »
    Where in Mayo? Would the lad who you bought it off know anyone who could do it

Ballyhaunis. He's to try a lad in the morning, tried him earlier in the week and he was on holiday.

Your best bet is a back load. Oh charges a euro /km but most lads forget he has to get to where he is collecting the item and load it and then deliver it . Most lads want it done for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Your best bet is a back load. Oh charges a euro /km but most lads forget he has to get to where he is collecting the item and load it and then deliver it . Most lads want it done for nothing

How do you hear of an empty trailer heading from Mayo to Wexford though? :confused: Don't mind paying, but there seems to be a huge variation in pricing.

Where is he based out of? Would he be busy atm or how would he be fixed. No rush getting it back but I would just like to have it sorted. Can't stand lads letting ya down without notice and not having the decency to answer the phone :(

How do you hear of an empty trailer heading from Mayo to Wexford though? :confused: Don't mind paying, but there seems to be a huge variation in pricing.

Where is he based out of? Would he be busy atm or how would he be fixed. No rush getting it back but I would just like to have it sorted. Can't stand lads letting ya down without notice and not having the decency to answer the phone :(
    We are in Louth , too far away to do it. There's a group on facebook called Irish rigs , ask in that. I'd say alot of lads are flat out drawing feed/straw at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Hi guys,

Check your pms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

That's very cheap, just relating it to the guy that draws the sheep here, if he fills the lorry he gets over a grand.
    it's between 4-500kms round trip
    and he's run off his feet so he must be competitive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Ballyhaunis. He's to try a lad in the morning, tried him earlier in the week and he was on holiday.

Major, Cashels or AgriSpread might have a truck coming back empty from Roslare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

get the bus/train to Dublin and down to wexford

stick on the radio and start driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I'd do that before I'd give €600.

A neighbor brought a tractor into Rosslare and went down for it with the jeep and trailer, when he got down the trailer was too narrow so he went into town and bought a ball hitch for the tractor and put the jeep in the trailer, and that was for an old MF 188 with wide wheel, you'd be shook after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Bazzer007

A sound fella from Co. Down transported a JD6600 from Newry to Cork and he charged €250. He transported a few machines on the same run. I rang around and haggled first. His name is Philip and he normally has an ad on DD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Bazzer007 wrote: »
    A sound fella from Co. Down transported a JD6600 from Newry to Cork and he charged €250. He transported a few machines on the same run. I rang around and haggled first. His name is Philip and he normally has an ad on DD.

Newry /Dublin and Dublin to cork all motorways

Wexford to Dublin and Dublin to Longford not to bad. but west of Longford and its rough terrain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Bazzer007 wrote: »
    His name is Philip Martin.

https://m.facebook.com/groups/1526767674253462?view=permalink&id=2021196561477235

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

wrangler wrote: »

I'd do that before I'd give €600.

A neighbor brought a tractor into Rosslare and went down for it with the jeep and trailer, when he got down the trailer was too narrow so he went into town and bought a ball hitch for the tractor and put the jeep in the trailer, and that was for an old MF 188 with wide wheel, you'd be shook after that

Realistically id be slow to try to drive a hx with a torque transmission that far on the road. . Tractor would be a different story.
    Neighbours bought a tw35 in the north at one stage and drove it down to west limerick.
    Years ago the grandfather collected a tractor with a lorry in limerick heading for laois. 20 miles down the road the lorry broke down . They towed the lorry home with the tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

I'd take the hand off the man that is offering to bring it for €300 if I trusted him.

I got a 20 tonne back load brought from Skibbereen to Claremorris for €650 on a lowloader last year. The same man is still hauling exported stuff from Donegal to Cork harbour every week as i was talking to him this week about hauling straw. I doubt he'd get near that price you got though.
    A good few of the lads I tried weren't really doing lowloader transport,only flatbed,which wouldn't suit you either.