Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Edinburgh in September

• 18-07-2018 10:10am
    Registered Users Posts: 39

Travelling there with a bunch of lads at the end of September. Hear it can be very quiet that time of year.

Any suggestions?

What to Do:

What NOT to Do:

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

There's an element of post festival blues but things quickly get back to normal!

Hard to know what to suggest without a rough idea of what the people are like. Do you want gigs, sport, culture?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It's a big UK city, if its the weekend you'll be grand.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

What sort of stuff are ye looking for? If its pub or club nightlife ye'll be grand; if it's live music, Glasgow's generally a better bet. If it's comedy, ye're about 6 weeks late ;) (but you can probably still find a show to go to).

The main thing I'd suggest avoiding is planning too much in the way of outdoor activities because like Ireland, the weather at that time of year will be unreliable. So if you get a good day for it, by all means go and perch yourselves in Inverleith Park or The Meadows or Princes St Gardens with a bunch of cans, or go for a wander up Arthur's Seat or something like that. But have a backup plan just in case.

If you pop along to VisitScotland.com you can filter a search by the dates you'll be here, location (probably easiest to set it as "Edinburgh - City Centre" to exclude anything too far outside the city) and whatever things you're interested in.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 eleventy6

jimmii wrote: »
    There's an element of post festival blues but things quickly get back to normal!

Hard to know what to suggest without a rough idea of what the people are like. Do you want gigs, sport, culture?

Sport, gigs etc would be good. Something to keep us out of the pubs ALL day.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

eleventy6 wrote: »
    Sport, gigs etc would be good. Something to keep us out of the pubs ALL day.

Hearts are at home the last two weekends. Both glamour ties vs St Johnstone and Livingston :pac:

There's a pro14 game on too if rugby is more you thing.

There's lots of smaller sports teams in the city too

There's a ton of things on the list (https://www.list.co.uk/events/location:Edinburgh(55.9524,-3.1933)/) that are non sport related on all the time. The quality does vary but you should be able to find something!