Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog allergic to grass.

• 17-07-2018 3:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭

My dog is allergic to grass/pollen. This time of year is a killer on him. You can imagine how difficult it is to keep him out of grass, especially since we live in the countryside.

His main symptoms is a rash/hives on his underbelly and constant scratching. I usually give him antihistamines and when it breaks out badly I give him steroids which gets it under control again.

Anyone got a similar issue with their dogs and any tips on keeping it under control?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

IsMiseJoe wrote: »
    My dog is allergic to grass/pollen. This time of year is a killer on him. You can imagine how difficult it is to keep him out of grass, especially since we live in the countryside.

His main symptoms is a rash/hives on his underbelly and constant scratching. I usually give him antihistamines and when it breaks out badly I give him steroids which gets it under control again.

Anyone got a similar issue with their dogs and any tips on keeping it under control?

Are you sure it's not harvest mites? My guy gets them every year around this time. They would cause similar symptoms to the ones you describe. I'm not sure what the current best treatment is. I had some Frontline spray that was given by a vet but I'm unsure how effective it even is.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trombiculidae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭RockDesk

It might be worth talking to the vet. My cat has seasonal allergies and the vet last year mentioned that if getting steroid shots (which isn't long term) and using piriton wasn't doing the trick, there was a tablet that could be given. A more long term solution. I haven't gone down that route just yet as the piriton is doing the job as well as keeping her indoors while it's bad but obviously that's not an option for a dog. I'm afraid that's all I know about it because we didn't discuss it further as the allergies started to clear up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Kate2293

My dog has the exact same issue except the rash is on his paws. The poor dog get no break with it and had actually started chewing his paws to the point of bleeding.

We were back and forth to the vet several times a week for steroids and anti-histamines and anything else you can think of. Eventually the vet ordered little boots for him. They have been a life saver. He wears them when outside when in the grass and they have given him massive relief. Look ridiculous mind you!! :P

We also have a shampoo that the vet prescribed that we wash his paws with every day. This I think has been the main source of relief for him. I'd contact your vet about anti-histamine shampoos as it has been a life saver for us! Every evening we wash his paws down with it after he's been out for the day and we've noticed he has stopped the incessant chewing and the redness has gone down

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

^^^ yep, along the same lines, you might work on getting a babygro or vest that'll cover his undercarriage when he goes outside op. Also, give his tummy, groin, chest, legs and feet a rub down with a damp cloth, perhaps with a solution of apple cider vinegar.
    As already mentioned... You're sure this is a grass/pollen allergy, not harvest mites? This will surely be a bumper year for harvest mites. Horrible things, desperately itchy.

DBB wrote: »
    ^^^ yep, along the same lines, you might work on getting a babygro or vest that'll cover his undercarriage when he goes outside op. Also, give his tummy, groin, chest, legs and feet a rub down with a damp cloth, perhaps with a solution of apple cider vinegar.
    As already mentioned... You're sure this is a grass/pollen allergy, not harvest mites? This will surely be a bumper year for harvest mites. Horrible things, desperately itchy.

What is the best treatment for harvest mites in your opinion? As I said I'm not sure if the Frontline is that effective against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

What is the best treatment for harvest mites in your opinion? As I said I'm not sure if the Frontline is that effective against them.

Yep defo talk to the vet, our yorkie had a huge problem with them when he was in foster, but now he’s a city gent and doesn’t hang out in allotments so he’snot plagued by them, but he also has sever hay fever to pollen and is on 2 Piriton a day. He sneezes so much his poor litle sinus glands get inflamed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

We had our fella tested and it's definitely a number of different types of grasses he's allergic to. You can go down the route of steroids if it's pretty bad. If you want to go down the anti histamine route I'd avoid piriton as it's not long lasting and can make the dog sleepy. Piritez or similar works best. I give half a one per day for my JRTx. As mentioned above a t-shirt/babygrow to stop them coming into contact as much with the grass, a wipe down with a damp cloth when they come in and don't forget about in between their toes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭IsMiseJoe

Thanks for all the suggestions.

It's definitely not the harvest mites.
    It took awhile to figure it out, at first I thought it was a heat rash because it's mainly summer time it gets really bad. The first vet I brought him to told me it was mange which I thought was ridiculous. I got a second opinion and even that vet laughed when I told him about the mange diagnosis.

The tshirt/babygrow is a good idea. He is a Dachshund so his belly is in contact with the grass constantly when he goes into the lawn. I'll start wiping his underbelly after he goes outside too, hopefully it gives him some relief.
    His feet don't seem to bother him much, I never see him biting at them etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

as DBB mentioned, a babygro is super for helping alleviate the symptoms. My friends daxie has same problem. She has a basket of babygrows, that shes sewn/altered to suit him. She puts newborn socks on his paws, then the babygrow, each time before he goes outside. Takes longer to dress/undress him than her children, hes very used to it now though, and waits patiently. She has a packet of water based wipes in the basket, and rubs down his muzzle/head/tail when he comes in! Shes put gates on her patio, so he can be outside, but cant get onto the lawn.

Rightly or wrongly, for heavy harvest mite infestations, I've never found any of the spot-ons to work too well.
    Instead, I've given any affected dogs a TacTic bath to kill what's on board, and thereafter I've done a daily footbath and belly sponge-down in a warm water and apple cider vinegar solution (4 parts water to 1 part acv) until the madness of the mite season is over.
    I've had a few dogs that were magnets for the little feckers, and the above has worked well. Generally, you'd see a telltale horseshoe shape to the orange staining on their coats, up the front legs and across the chest. On further inspection the same would be observed at the hind legs. But... These were white dogs, so the staining was very obvious. You won't see it on dark dogs.
    I've been bitten by harvest mites too... I still shudder at the memory. They're extraordinarily itchy for short bursts at a time, and they tend to gather where clothing is tight against the skin... Top of socks, underwear, bra (yep! :o), also backs of knees and armpits. This year is surely going to be a bumper year for them... I'm waiting for them to feast on me any day now :o
    So, I have serious sympathy for dogs when mite season strikes!

The tshirt/babygrow is a good idea. He is a Dachshund...

In exchange for the babygro tip, I'm going to have to insist that you post a pic of him when you get his new ensemble sorted :D

I'll have to get one first. It's been a long time since there has been babygro's in the house. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

I'll have to get one first. It's been a long time since there has been babygro's in the house. :D

Penny's hun! :pac:

I got a pack the last time I had a little dog neutered and have some penny's baby socks for covering injured paws. Cheap as chips and fairly durable.

Hurry - I need to see a kitted out dachy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

I secind this, my mind cannot process that image. I was like babygro, socks, bra wtf is going on...

Awfully thankful we are city walkers and Mr C is not to fond of being in grass, but may do the babygro for fun!!!

Rightly or wrongly, for heavy harvest mite infestations, I've never found any of the spot-ons to work too well.
    Instead, I've given any affected dogs a TacTic bath to kill what's on board, and thereafter I've done a daily footbath and belly sponge-down in a warm water and apple cider vinegar solution (4 parts water to 1 part acv) until the madness of the mite season is over.
    I've had a few dogs that were magnets for the little feckers, and the above has worked well. Generally, you'd see a telltale horseshoe shape to the orange staining on their coats, up the front legs and across the chest. On further inspection the same would be observed at the hind legs. But... These were white dogs, so the staining was very obvious. You won't see it on dark dogs.
    I've been bitten by harvest mites too... I still shudder at the memory. They're extraordinarily itchy for short bursts at a time, and they tend to gather where clothing is tight against the skin... Top of socks, underwear, bra (yep! :o), also backs of knees and armpits. This year is surely going to be a bumper year for them... I'm waiting for them to feast on me any day now :o
    So, I have serious sympathy for dogs when mite season strikes!

Thanks. Is TacTic easy to get hold of? Is there any issue with them grooming themselves after applying it?

My lad is a Labrador and when he has them I can actually see them on him if I look closely, a magnifying glass helps. Usually between the toes but I've seen them on his ears and around his eyes on occasion. They really are a nuisance.

Thanks. Is TacTic easy to get hold of? Is there any issue with them grooming themselves after applying it?

My lad is a Labrador and when he has them I can actually see them on him if I look closely, a magnifying glass helps. Usually between the toes but I've seen them on his ears and around his eyes on occasion. They really are a nuisance.

I've picked them out of doggy eyebrows with a tweezers. Ugh.
    I got TacTic from my vet. It's a few years, ago now, I don't even know can you still get the stuff to be honest. It's pretty powerful stuff and not for careless use.
    I wonder though, maybe someone who knows can answer this... The standard treatment for red mites in hens is stuff called Smite, which is a detergent-based substance which strips the mites' protective waxy layer from them, drying them out and killing them. I wonder would something similar work for harvest mites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

Preds are cheap and cheerful but come with a range of side-effects including immuno-suppression, increased appetite and the possibility of developing diabetes or Cushing's. Something to bear in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,064 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Thornit is supposed to be good for harvest mites too? Somebody on FB was putting some in a bag, putting the dogs paw in the bag and shaking it to dust their paw with it.

boomerang wrote: »
    Preds are cheap and cheerful but come with a range of side-effects including immuno-suppression, increased appetite and the possibility of developing diabetes or Cushing's. Something to bear in mind.

Sorry I may be being dim but I have no idea what you mean by "Preds".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Preds are steroids. Really only meant for short term usage.

I've a jrt mix with the same problem. Grass and pollen allergies. She's been started on a medication called apoquel about a month ago. She's doing 90% better, still wipe her paws and belly after being outside.

It's more expensive than steroids. For my dogs size 4.5kg it works out around €25 a month. Worth it tho to see her not tormented by scratching.

It's short for prednisone or prednisolone, which as la.de.da explains, is a steroid... The bog-standard one used for skin inflammation and various other inflammatory malaises :)
    Great that Apoquel is working well for you la.de.da, I know it doesn't work for all dogs, but when it does, it's a godsend!

Every day is a school day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,064 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Oh I didn't think to suggest earlier.. as an allergy sufferer and anti-histamine taker the liquid is far better than pills imo!

Little update.

I've been wiping down himself since and it's making a difference.
    Going to hold back on the babygro's for awhile. Sorry to disappoint!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Eve2001

I had the same problem with an elderly bichon I rescued a few years ago.

I remember reading online about apple cider vinegar. Didn't make a huge difference to my pooch but I have heard of quite a few it helped.

If you want to try it I think it was a 50/50 solution of water and apple cider vinegar that you spray onto the dog everytime they come inside.

I've also read that adding a half teaspoon of it to your dogs water is meant to fight allergies from the inside and is good for the dog in alot of ways.

I used to add extra water to the spray as the skin was so sensitive, and make sure you don't get it on any open cuts as it will sting.

Can't guarantee it will work but it's worth a try even if it just relieves the itch a little. Seems to keep fleas away too so that's a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Julygirl

My 7yo Lab x was prescribed steroids for Cushings
    Same issue as OP, itchy dog, came on this summer, no issues before

We had her checked head to toe, actually treated her for fleas and mites. Had my husband hold her down while i checked every inch of her with a flashlight and a magnifying glass and nothing.

Took her to vets and she stopped itching within a day of starting steroids. Vet said it was Cushings which kicked off the allergy
    So she was on 10mg for 5 days, 5mg for 10 days, 2.5mg for 10days

She was grand for a few weeks then she started itching again last week. Same again, checked her head to toe and nothing to see. Back to vets and this time he gave her a shot of steroids while we were there, and shes now on 20mgx5 10mgx5 5mgx5 2.5mgx5 and she was more comfortable and stopped itching within a few hours