Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so is the hay weather over you think

• 13-07-2018 9:01am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 134 ✭✭

made 10 acres of round bales hay but due to work could not get the other 6 acres cut on another farm , missed out I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Sami23

adamhughes wrote: »
    made 10 acres of round bales hay but due to work could not get the other 6 acres cut on another farm , missed out I think

Looking like it for a few weeks anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

In all fairness there was 6 weeks to cut it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Angus2018

lab man wrote: »
    In all fairness there was 6 weeks to cut it

Lad told me he was waiting for the rain to bulk up his silage before he cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,494 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Don’t want to sound like an afull bollix bit I hope to fook that’s it re hay weather !!!!!!,few weeks nice soft rain temps in low 20s be most welcome now ,few dry days every now and then to make silage as well would be the icing 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Sami23 wrote: »
    Looking like it for a few weeks anyway

So it's going to rain for a few weeks, where do you get your forecasts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'd cut it ok. You'll save it in a couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Angus2018 wrote: »
    Lad told me he was waiting for the rain to bulk up his silage before he cuts.

That man should get out of farming

Exactly and there is only a very slight chance of light rain. I'm cutting as well as the tractor was out of action and nothing to turn the hay with. If it does rain it will be very welcome and the hay can be wrapped without any loses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

rain needly badly.. I cut a Monday--light crop! bales it up Wednesday. turned once-then rowed up! grand stuff..
    get hay in a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

If in the East of the country cut away, no rain forecast for a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Why?
    Why would he go cut light meadow and be wishing for bales come February. If its silage he's after and not hay what's the panic in cutting it?

I was debating making hay and hoping for a second cut of silage. Wish I did now. Hay seems scarce for sale even though every field you drive by around here has hay sat in it. Asking 38 euro for round bales of hay here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 134 ✭✭adamhughes

Need 4 days, its not much sun now, overcast, should have cut it all down but due to working away i couldnt

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Exactly and there is only a very slight chance of light rain. I'm cutting as well as the tractor was out of action and nothing to turn the hay with. If it does rain it will be very welcome and the hay can be wrapped without any loses.

ok so if it rains you bag it but we sold the last hay bales at good price but no profit in selling silage bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Angus2018

Silage bales will sell no problem once housing starts and if not there will be lads looking for them in the Spring.
    davidk1394 wrote: »

Going for quantity over quality. It would be mostly stem by now with less yield after being burnt and starved so much.

Angus2018 wrote: »
    Silage bales will sell no problem once housing starts and if not there will be lads looking for them in the Spring.

Going for quantity over quality. It would be mostly stem by now with less yield after being burnt and starved so much.

depends they say if theres a shortage of fodder, i would not have minded to have had lots of both silage and hay bales last year that is for sure

ok so if it rains you bag it but we sold the last hay bales at good price but no profit in selling silage bales

I don't sell bales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

MeTheMan wrote: »
    Why?
    Why would he go cut light meadow and be wishing for bales come February. If its silage he's after and not hay what's the panic in cutting it?

I was debating making hay and hoping for a second cut of silage. Wish I did now. Hay seems scarce for sale even though every field you drive by around here has hay sat in it. Asking 38 euro for round bales of hay here.

If it doesn’t rain soon all what’s left will go back into the ground in the next few weeks. A farmer near me said he had more second cut last week than this week