Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it all worth it?

• 12-07-2018 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Working 7 days a week.A **** year to be farming.Cow down in the milking parlour this evening,still there now won't get up.**** price for milk,bills everywhere.A f'ing fool to be at this game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

Gothenso wrote: »
    Working 7 days a week.A **** year to be farming.Cow down in the milking parlour this evening,still there now won't get up.**** price for milk,bills everywhere.A f'ing fool to be at this game...

I know how u feel .at same craic here. Have u any loose hay to throw round her and she might get grip on over night . Could be worse if u were sick your self or close family . Hang in there mate weather and grass wil come i know how u feel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Gothenso

6480 wrote: »
    I know how u feel .at same craic here. Have u any loose hay to throw round her and she might get grip on over night . Could be worse if u were sick your self or close family . Hang in there mate weather and grass wil come i know how u feel

Thanks lad.I have straw around her to help her get some grip.Youre right things could be a lot worse,just fed up with a lot of **** at the present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Thanks lad.I have straw around her to help her get some grip.Youre right things could be a lot worse,just fed up with a lot of **** at the present.

Every job in the world is the same.its human nature to get sick of doing the same old sh1te.keep the head up and take a few minutes now and again to breathe deep and let the head rest. I hope you’re cow gets up but it would be an awful lot worse if you hit the deck yourself.
    The weather isn’t playing ball now but this too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Not much help but most farmers I have been talking to the last few weeks are fairly down and out in themselves. Cattle trade is poor, No Grass, not near enough fodder saved and no water locally to make things worse. There's fellas going night and day around here with ibc tanks and slurry tanks if they are lucky enough to have access to one trying to keep flocks of cows watered at the moment. Nearest lake to fill from is 10 miles away to make it worse. I have questioned my sanity a few times this year, one extreme to another. A lot to be said for a 9-5 and actually having time off with out being accountable for something outside of those hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Sneak

Sell up and move on lads tis not worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Poor price.... You should be furious about it all. Everubody is a fool it seems ....

Milk farmers furious at litre price cut by Glanbia to 20c - The Irish Times
    https://www.irishtimes.com › news

Farmers 'furious' over Glanbia's milk price cut - FarmIreland.ie
    https://www.independent.ie › dairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

May I suggest calling the knacker for the cow. I know it sounds very extreme but you’ll actually be doing the poor cow and yourself a favour. I’m not for 1 moment underestimating how difficult it is to make that call. She will eat your time and drive you down further.

I would also suggest loading up the wife and kids after you milk early this evening and going for a swim, walk or even a picnic up the fields. It’ll do you the world of good. If single get off the farm for an odd evening after milking or between Milkings, do something you enjoy just to give your head a rest.

Talk to a friend that is unconnected with farming can also help. Stay away from media and people constantly complaining. It’s amazing what a clear head can achieve. Assess your situation and make a plan. A financial plan could be as simple as totalling all the bills, then prioritising them. Contact creditors and discuss a plan with them.

Keep your head clear and keep chipping away at the bills, this will pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

May I suggest calling the knacker for the cow. I know it sounds very extreme but you’ll actually be doing the poor cow and yourself a favour. I’m not for 1 moment underestimating how difficult it is to make that call. She will eat your time and drive you down further.

I would also suggest loading up the wife and kids after you milk early this evening and going for a swim, walk or even a picnic up the fields. It’ll do you the world of good. If single get off the farm for an odd evening after milking or between Milkings, do something you enjoy just to give your head a rest.

Talk to a friend that is unconnected with farming can also help. Stay away from media and people constantly complaining. It’s amazing what a clear head can achieve. Assess your situation and make a plan. A financial plan could be as simple as totalling all the bills, then prioritising them. Contact creditors and discuss a plan with them.

Sounds like a good call on the cow.

Definitely do something with the wife and kids, for kids even an hour of your dedicated time is allot, think back to when you were a kid, a hour doing something was a long time, I was painting teacups recently with my daughter ;)
    Your doing this work for your family so spend time with them, you will benefit as well as they will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Peach of a post and something we should all be doing ,balls of a year weather wise which makes balls of year farming wise .ill be honest for last 3 weeks farming has taken a back seat here ,all stock have and are been well cared for ,keeping fertliser out to keep some life in the ground .lad in doing 4 milking a week but doing an extra 4 for last 2 weeks and I’m taking off in afternoon or evening with wife and daughter to the beach to a park for ice cream or a cold cider !!!!anyehere that dosnt involve the farm .great to get a break and clear the head ,kept positive as well which is huge help the weather will turn and normality will resume quicker than we think .could end up married to the mower ,Tedder and fertliser spreader quickly enough again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

For a minute I thought you were saying load up the wife with the cow, that would relieve manys the mans troubles.😮
    On a serious note good advice

Thankfully I managed to get the cow up and out to a paddock.Shes very wobbly on her legs but I think she'll be ok with a bit of luck.

You gave good advice there though about getting out from the farm , clear the head etc.Even to get out for a stroll for a while.I feel a bit embarrassed about my initial post as it appears as I'm whining and I'm usually quite a positive person.

I guess I had a mini meltdown as it was one of those days when everything went wrong.Thanks to everybody for the positive advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Keep her lit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Thankfully I managed to get the cow up and out to a paddock.Shes very wobbly on her legs but I think she'll be ok with a bit of luck.

You gave good advice there though about getting out from the farm , clear the head etc.Even to get out for a stroll for a while.I feel a bit embarrassed about my initial post as it appears as I'm whining and I'm usually quite a positive person.

I guess I had a mini meltdown as it was one of those days when everything went wrong.Thanks to everybody for the positive advice.
    We all have days like that, and more than just the odd one this year. Ah someday we'll look back and say 'twas great craic all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

I actually spent the last hour and a half at the beach with the kids. Great to clear the head and forget about the farm.
    And the farm was still here when i got back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Getting away from the farm is the best advice anybody can follow.
    I told a young lad who had just become a dad for the 3rd time last year to take Sundays off, do only the bare minimum jobs - not for religious reasons (although that can also be a good idea!) but to give his young family his undivided time. I met him recently and he said he has tried to do this and it gives him a great chance to recharge for the rest of the week.
    I'm old stock and don't work on Sundays unless in an emergency. When the kids were young we used to go for spins with my father every Sunday and they now remember those days when he is gone. I still drag OH and the daughter left at home for spins on Sundays and it is still the best spent time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,223 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Simple thing I do every month on the financial side. Write down what is owed to everyone in my diary. Then write what I can pay that month. Strike it off when it comes out of your account. If you're in any trouble with any bill let them know. Went through a phase a few years ago of not opening the bills. It didn't end well. Even a small bit off a bill can help. Also left a bit aside for unplanned stuff and a treat.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Simple thing I do every month on the financial side. Write down what is owed to everyone in my diary. Then write what I can pay that month. Strike it off when it comes out of your account. If you're in any trouble with any bill let them know. Went through a phase a few years ago of not opening the bills. It didn't end well. Even a small bit off a bill can help. Also left a bit aside for unplanned stuff and a treat.
    Good advice there.I always feel under pressure financially at this time of year,a lot of money has to be paid out,bank loan on farm,contractors have to be paid,merchants, every other thing required to keep a farm running.It gets overwhelming at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

What stage of development is your farm at? Is it just dairying or mixed? Compact block calving? How many groups of animals? Much fragmentation? How much machinary work done in house? Where in any of them above areas can you streamline and reduce the effort required?

Also do you have specific end times, ie milking usually done by 6pm etc? On your own front what do you have in your life outside of farming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

There is ****ty days in every job it's how you deel with it is the thing. My own father god rest him was very bad at handling bad days on the farm, if he lost a cow or a calf he would be down for a week, bad form and maybe take to the drink for a day or 2 and that would cause more bother A dead cow is a loss on paper that's all it is. that's why ye keep replacers . Try to get away from the farm for a bit every day. I took up cycling myself nothing too serious. through the bike in the van drive somewhere nice and out with the bike and off you go it's as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

KatyMac wrote:
    Getting away from the farm is the best advice anybody can follow. I told a young lad who had just become a dad for the 3rd time last year to take Sundays off, do only the bare minimum jobs - not for religious reasons (although that can also be a good idea!) but to give his young family his undivided time. I met him recently and he said he has tried to do this and it gives him a great chance to recharge for the rest of the week. I'm old stock and don't work on Sundays unless in an emergency. When the kids were young we used to go for spins with my father every Sunday and they now remember those days when he is gone. I still drag OH and the daughter left at home for spins on Sundays and it is still the best spent time!

Just touching on something in your post, neither myself or my partner are religious but she has been known to go into a church and light a candle. Not during mass but just go in and sit down for a few minutes. Quiet reflection maybe. Does her the world of good she reckons. I'm not starting a debate on religion or anything but it might suit someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

kerryjack wrote: »
    There is ****ty days in every job it's how you deel with it is the thing. My own father god rest him was very bad at handling bad days on the farm, if he lost a cow or a calf he would be down for a week, bad form and maybe take to the drink for a day or 2 and that would cause more bother A dead cow is a loss on paper that's all it is. that's why ye keep replacers . Try to get away from the farm for a bit every day. I took up cycling myself nothing too serious. through the bike in the van drive somewhere nice and out with the bike and off you go it's as simple as that.
    Any animal that dies here is sent off to the knackery and quickly forgotten about, no point dragging yourself down over it and it certainly won't bring the animal back.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Get on with it and lift het out and dont spend too long thinking about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

visatorro wrote: »
    Just touching on something in your post, neither myself or my partner are religious but she has been known to go into a church and light a candle. Not during mass but just go in and sit down for a few minutes. Quiet reflection maybe. Does her the world of good she reckons. I'm not starting a debate on religion or anything but it might suit someone.

I’m often envious looking at American films where a man can go to a quiet sleazy strip joint for a few afternoon beers and ogle a few gorgeous naked girls with deep seated father issues..never heard tell of such a place in the locality but an hour or two in the local does wonders as does a half hour of meditation and prayer. Any quiet place works but churches are marvelous buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Don't we have the lovely girls competition down here in tralee where you can do that for the whole week if you want to

Had an hour of ****e this morning. Dried off a batch of cows. Was dosing them in the crush and 1 went down. Got her hip stuck under the bottom bar. Tried taking her out with the lifter, didn't work. Had to cut the bar of the crush. Then got lifter on her and she stood up and walked out.. Some days you're better off not going outside at all. Only getting breakfast now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Had an hour of ****e this morning. Dried off a batch of cows. Was dosing them in the crush and 1 went down. Got her hip stuck under the bottom bar. Tried taking her out with the lifter, didn't work. Had to cut the bar of the crush. Then got lifter on her and she stood up and walked out.. Some days you're better off not going outside at all. Only getting breakfast now

I'd see that as a good result. Cow up and walking! Easy to replace/repair a bar on a crush. Give yourself a pat on the back for sorting out the problem without any injury to the animal!

PS: Enjoy the cup of tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That's a win whelan.... well a draw at the very least! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    That's a win whelan.... well a draw at the very least! :D

Ah it's the shouting and crap that goes with a situation like that. Too many cooks spoil the broth. Doesnt do much for the blood pressure

I always have a 9 inch grinder at the crush. Might only be used 1 or 2 times a year, but if it saves an aminal from injury or death its peace of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I always have a 9 inch grinder at the crush. Might only be used 1 or 2 times a year, but if it saves an aminal from injury or death its peace of mind.

I think somebody needs to invest in a new crush!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

...... Then got lifter on her and she stood up and walked out....

She must have been watching the World Cup. :D

Muckit wrote: »
    I think somebody needs to invest in a new crush!

Bullocks will find a way get their head caught in places they are not ment to be.
    I remember having bought bullocks from the islands off west cork before, they were like big sheep..... they want to die