Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a power bank for EVs?

• 12-07-2018 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭

Just curious can a power bank be got for using for emergencies back up charge if your badly stuck?

I saw few days ago someone in an Ionic was stuck and the AA were able to call out and give her car a fast charge on the side of a car park from their van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

You sure it wasnt an Ioniq hybrid/petrol?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

IrishHomer wrote: »
    Just curious can a power bank be got for using for emergencies back up charge if your badly stuck?

I saw few days ago someone in an Ionic was stuck and the AA were able to call out and give her car a fast charge on the side of a car park from their van.

Not aware of any mobile repairs that carry a battery that can boost an EV.
    Are you sure it was an electric car?

The fast chargers are generally power hungry, large machines and can cost the guts of €50k when stationary in a garage forecourt, so I can’t imagine anything that’s mobile that can be carried in an AA can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

AA have some vans with a charger on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Great to know the AA have them, as all Ioniqs come with free AA membership (don't know for how long though - 1 year? 3 years?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Fiesta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

ewj1978 wrote: »
    You sure it wasnt an Ioniq hybrid/petrol?

Yes I'm sure it was a full EV ionic, it was discussed on the Irish EV Facebook group page.

A lady from Dublin rushed to Athlone to a meeting and had no power left to get to Kilbeggan.

The AA called out and gave her a fast charge.

I stand corrected. Thanks for the info.
    Funny though, I was talking to one of the lads in a select Motors the other day. They have a Tesla 70 for sale but he got caught out coming home on the ferry and didn’t realise he needed an adaptor to use the chargers in Dublin port. He mentioned the AA Gabe him a mobile charge at a rate of 1 mile per minute but I didn’t think it was though the AA van!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭catharsis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,896 ✭✭✭✭ted1

kceire wrote: »
    IrishHomer wrote: »

Not aware of any mobile repairs that carry a battery that can boost an EV.
    Are you sure it was an electric car?

The fast chargers are generally power hungry, large machines and can cost the guts of €50k when stationary in a garage forecourt, so I can’t imagine anything that’s mobile that can be carried in an AA can.
    A Tesla powerbank could be used , far from 50k

ted1 wrote: »

Is it a fast charger and can it be mounted inside a van?

From the IT article:

"On average, the AA will be able to provide an electric vehicle with approximately 15 per cent of full battery charge in just 20 minutes"

Eh no it won't :p

unkel wrote: »
    From the IT article:

"On average, the AA will be able to provide an electric vehicle with approximately 15 per cent of full battery charge in just 20 minutes"

1 mile per minute according to a recent Tesla S70 owner I was chatting to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭cros13

jhegarty wrote: »
    AA have some vans with a charger on board.

And those portable rapid chargers are actually made in Ireland and exported too!

Is it a fast charger and can it be mounted inside a van?
    I don’t see why not.

From the IT article:

15% of a reva battery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Essentially you want a range extender, or a backup battery you only switch to when you're fecked.
    Same way some lads carry a few spare litres in the boot.

I don’t see why not.

Well it would fit in the glove box in fairness.

15% of a reva battery.

I think the AA claims are accurate enough.

15% in 20 mins. Not as quick as a FCP but quicker than a standard home charger. The Tesla last week got 1 mike a minute so equates to roughly 1% a minute for my Leaf L24, So 20 mins charge should see 20%.

The unit the AA are using is a 5kW:

http://www.jtmpower.ie/ev-rescue-5kw-portable-ev-charger.html

There are 20kW CCS and Chademo portable rapids available from swiss, german and chinese manufacturers but AFAIK AA have not deployed those.

Any idea of the cost of these CCS / CHAdeMO chargers, and are they double head or would the AA need to buy one each?

I can imagine that having to charge for 30 minutes with a 5kW charger would be costly in lost man hours once EV penetration is higher

At 5kW it charges Ioniq 1.67kW in 20 minutes. That's 5% of charge, but it would be good for about 14km (light foot 12kWh/100km).

In all other EVs the figure is even much, much worse. In Tesla Model S (light foot 18kWh/100km) it would get you 9km or 6 miles. So just 0.3 miles per minute. If you live 30km away it needs to be charged for well over an hour...

I don’t see why not.

Well it would fit in the glove box in fairness.
    Don’t be silly now. It’d easilt fit in the back of a van

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,131 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

The AA should buy some yellow Ioniqs

Don’t be silly now. It’d easilt fit in the back of a van

Of course it would, it’s only about 3 inches tall.

https://shop.tesla.com/us/en/product/apparel/powerbank.html

*there is a possibility that we are both talking about different things here, maybe you can clarify?

liamog wrote: »
    The AA should buy some yellow Ioniqs

Looks like that is a battery pack with a 22kW CCS charger. Pretty compact unit for what it is. I would love to know how much that costs and what the battery capacity is.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 8,131 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

It connects to the CCS port on the host Ioniq for the energy source, I'd love to know the details.

Any idea of the cost of these CCS / CHAdeMO chargers, and are they double head or would the AA need to buy one each?

Depends on the model. Most appear to be single standard, CCS or CHAdeMO. I think the swiss one is dual-standard.

AA could also rescue CHAdeMO cars with standard LEAFs that have vehicle to grid functionaly as standard since about 2015. Cut the middle man, i.e. the van. Range might be an issue though ;-)