Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lines/Scenes in films that never happened

• 07-07-2018 10:31pm

I just watched Poltergeist II and was waiting for the line where Kane says “I want your daughter” in his creepy lilting Southern accent ... and it never showed up! I’ve been terrifying my sister for years with that line, particularly since she had a daughter, but I must have imagined it?

Any moments you were sure were in a film but on rewatch weren’t there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Beam me up Scotty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Play it again Sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Play it again, Sam.

Dammit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

'Do you feel lucky, punk?'
    'Luke, I am your father'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭ShaunC

'Do you feel lucky, punk?'
    'Luke, I am your father'

Do I feel lucky?" Well, do ya, punk? Like a lot of others more of a misquote than not in the film:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

we're going to need a bigger boat

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

silverharp wrote: »

Isn't that the correct line?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

silverharp wrote: »

From Jaws? That line was in the film, albeit as "you're" rather than "we're" but who's quibbling. Hardly as egregious as "beam me up Scotty" for instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Shpud2

Ah the Mandela Effect. Very interesting concept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

“You dirty rat”

Jimmy Cagney didn’t say it in any film.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

play it again, Sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

When I watched The Prestige first, for some reason I thought itvshowed Borden coming out of the second closet when we first see his transported man trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Hello, Clarice!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Ah, the Mandela Effect.

I'm not one of them but many people recall a different ending to Big in which the younger version of Tom Hanks is back in school and a new girl enters the class - the implication being that Susan (Liz Perkins's character) used the Zoltar machine to make herself a kid.

However, that's not how Big ends, nor was such an ending ever shot or planned. This false collective memory is the result of conflating Big with the tv movie 14 Going On 30, which does end that way. Though most people with this false memory deny ever seeing the latter... possibly because they are from an alternate reality in which Big did end this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭brevity

I always thought it was Interview with a Vampire but apparently it's Interview with the Vampire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,079 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

"Houston, we have a problem" was actually "Ah, Houston, we've had a problem".

"If you build it, they will come" was actually "If you build it, he will come."

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Ah I dunno, I think we can forgive folks mixing up a pronoun here and there...

Gordon Gecko never said "greed is good.", not exactly: apparently he said "The point is ladies & gentlemen, that greed, for lack of a better word, is good. Greed is right, greed works."

IIRC, zombies moaning "braaainnns" never appeared in cinema, certainly not the Romero ones; I think it was "Return of the Living Dead", itself a bit of a comedy pastiche, that introduced the undead saying it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

"Houston, we have a problem" was actually "Ah, Houston, we've had a problem".
    pixelburp wrote: »
    Ah I dunno, I think we can forgive folks mixing up a pronoun here and there...

Gordon Gecko never said "greed is good.", not exactly: apparently he said "The point is ladies & gentlemen, that greed, for lack of a better word, is good. Greed is right, greed works."

I suspect these two might come from the trailers, which often re-edit lines to make them simpler.

For example, the line in the TLJ trailer "It's time for the Jedi to end" was not exactly what Luke originally said in the film. The trailer guys came up with it. But Johnson liked it so much he re-edited the line in the film to match the trailer version.

That's true; I mean if we extended the scope to include material from trailers that didn't appear in the final film, the thread would stretch to dozen of pages :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭stormthecastle

Peatys wrote: »
    Beam me up Scotty

Shatner talked about that in the show "Better late than never" and then said the line for the first time.

Actually, mentioning trailer/final film discrepancies made me think of one tiny, really petty & pedantic moment from Crystal Skull, where Spielberg used a different line reading than the trailer, part of an otherwise funny moment:

(Clip pulled from RedLetterMedia's 'Plinkett' review)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

I suspect these two might come from the trailers, which often re-edit lines to make them simpler.

For example, the line in the TLJ trailer "It's time for the Jedi to end" was not exactly what Luke originally said in the film. The trailer guys came up with it. But Johnson liked it so much he re-edited the line in the film to match the trailer version.

Not a lot of people know that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Ah, the Mandela Effect.

I'm not one of them but many people recall a different ending to Big in which the younger version of Tom Hanks is back in school and a new girl enters the class - the implication being that Susan (Liz Perkins's character) used the Zoltar machine to make herself a kid.

However, that's not how Big ends, nor was such an ending ever shot or planned. This false collective memory is the result of conflating Big with the tv movie 14 Going On 30, which does end that way. Though most people with this false memory deny ever seeing the latter... possibly because they are from an alternate reality in which Big did end this way.

I have to rewatch that movie now because I'm sure your trolling :pac:

I'm almost certain I've never seen 14 Going On 30, I googled it and it doesn't look at all familiar to me. But that is how I remember Big ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭trashcan

I'm almost certain I've never seen 14 Going On 30, I googled it and it doesn't look at all familiar to me. But that is how I remember Big ending.

Big definitely didn't end that way, and it's the first time I've heard such an ending referred to. It ends with him getting out of the car and walking back to his house, returning to his child state. Then his mother runs out of the house to greet him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭budgemook

Ah, the Mandela Effect.

Hmmm

This!

budgemook wrote: »
    Hmmm

This!

I guess you guys are seeing alternate realities then because in this reality Big didn't end that way. :pac:

Context from the Wikipedia entry on false memories:
    In 2010 the phenomenon of collective false memory was dubbed the "Mandela effect" by self-described "paranormal consultant" Fiona Broome, in reference to a false memory she reports, of the death of South African leader Nelson Mandela in the 1980s (when he was in fact still alive), which she claims is shared by "perhaps thousands" of other people. Broome has speculated about alternate realities as an explanation, but most commentators suggest that these are instead examples of false memories shaped by similar factors affecting multiple people, such as social reinforcement of incorrect memories, or false news reports and misleading photographs influencing the formation of memories based on them.

Do you have a memory of Nelson Mandela dying in the 80s by any chance? :p

Hmmmm, IMDB doesn't confirm it, but stokes the fires that there were some regional edits containing this ending (yes yes, IMDB is user edited etc.)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0094737/alternateversions?mode=desktop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭budgemook

Nelson Mandela is dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

trashcan wrote: »
    Big definitely didn't end that way, and it's the first time I've heard such an ending referred to.

It absolutely doesn’t but I can see that ending in my head :)

Another vivid “memory” I have is Magua cutting out Monroe’s heart and eating it in Last of the Mohicans but apparently that didn’t happen either! Not the eating part anyway.

I think this is your mind filling in the gap. He says he's going to eat it, and then cuts it out and holds it up in a way that suggests he's going to take a bite out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Ah, the Mandela Effect.

I never heard that one and there is no scene remotely like that with that implication, it would be a very memorable ending if it was. They must have been high or drunk when they saw the movie :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

I think this is your mind filling in the gap. He says he's going to eat it, and then cuts it out and holds it up in a way that suggests he's going to take a bite out of it.

Absolutely! I know it didn’t happen but I can still “see” it :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Ah, the Mandela Effect.

I honestly thought it had that ending!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Michael Caine never said "Not a lot of people know that" but more of a general quote attributed to him than a line from a film I guess.

The line 'Mirror, Mirror on the wall' was never said in Snow White. It was actually, 'Magic Mirror on the wall but because the line had become so synonymous with the film, when they did the Huntsman remake a few years ago that's the line they went with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,331 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Michael Caine never said "Not a lot of people know that" but more of a general quote attributed to him than a line from a film I guess.

It's actually "Not a lot of people know that I know that"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I'm almost sure Caine used this misquote in a scene in Educating Rita poking fun at the mis-attribution to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

A good few years back at the Kinsale sevens, there was a charity printing stall, where you could get your name stuck on a jersey for a few quid. Our team decided, in our drunken wisdom, to go for movie quotes on the front of the jerseys as well, as it was all for a good cause.

Following much deliberation, I went for Anchorman's 'I'm not annoyed, I'm impressed' which Ron supposedly says to Baxter after he eats a whole wheel of cheese and poops in the refrigerator. People even nodded in recognition of the quote as I strolled around the sevens, thinking I was the bees knees.

It was only afterwards that I realised I got the quote completely arseways and what he actually says is 'I'm not even mad, that's amazing'. Anyway's, I don't think anyone copped (or even cared for that matter).