Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep losing or breaking wallets!

• 05-07-2018 1:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭

I'm a bastard for either losing them or the button clasp breaking on them.

Same thing again yesterday now I have to either find way of fixing it or buy yet another one!!

Anyone recommend place can get decent good value wallet that fit good few cards plus decent amount of room for notes and coins. I just find an awful lot them to be very tight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

TK max have good quality wallets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Need one before head out tommorrw ha. I'll try get out somewhere have a look. Sick of buying them! Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Won't get it tomorrow, but...
    https://elephantwallet.com/

"Minimalist", when really it's just a bit of elasticated fabric, or two pieces of carbon fibre with a rubber band around them, but I've been using the E8 for two years and it's tough as old boots. I got the "collection", which means I have the carbon fibre one too, but that's considerably more fiddly so I only use it as my "fancy" wallet.

Doesn't really take any coins, but then all my coins go in the jar, I've never put them in a wallet.

I like having certain amount of coins sure you always end up with them on night out to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Can you not have coins loose in your back pocket like most blokes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,592 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pockets are for coins, wallets are for notes.

The item you are looking for that bridges this gap is called a 'purse' :D

Lol ah I used to do that but ended up losing them plus don't want them scratching me phone.

Pockets are only so big on most jeans anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

I have a Visconti leather wallet the past 3 years or so, love it. As small as possible, notes and cards only (coins loose in left pocket, phone in right) looks good and didn't break the bank.

I'll have to start keeping the coins to a minimum be lot easier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I've had the same problem for years.
    I bought a SecrID clone about a year ago from AliExpress RFID Protected Vintage Automatic Leather Credit Card Holder Men Aluminum Alloy Hasp Business ID Multifunction Cardholder Wallet (http://s.aliexpress.com/vEZfAf2i?) Similar to this that I absolutely love and is bloody bullet proof.
    9 cards, 5 held in a RFID safe pop out fan holder and 4 in leather pockets.
    Simple billfold for cash.

No coin storage but wallet is used and abused and is still in great condition.
    It replaced an I-Clip wallet that I used previously and is a much better wallet at a 6th of the price of the I-Clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

o1s1n wrote: »
    Pockets are for coins, wallets are for notes.

The item you are looking for that bridges this gap is called a 'purse' :D

Would that be a “laydees” purse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I have a secrid and I am delighted with it. So good that my better half bought a rose gold one for herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I'm a bastard for either losing them or the button clasp breaking on them.

Same thing again yesterday now I have to either find way of fixing it or buy yet another one!!

Anyone recommend place can get decent good value wallet that fit good few cards plus decent amount of room for notes and coins. I just find an awful lot them to be very tight!

why do you need a clasp ?

Was just the way the last few I've bought where made.

I'm gonna glue this yoke back together will do me for weekend ill order new one online.

Amazon has loads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

I have a secrid and I am delighted with it. So good that my better half bought a rose gold one for herself.

I have one itself and it's great, but it's quite annoying for notes and coins. Coins always fall out of it for me, and it's annoying having to fold up notes first before putting them in.

But the hassle is all worth it for the card pop-up. I feel so cool every time I use it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'll have to start keeping the coins to a minimum be lot easier!

I'm in the same boat. Having coins is dead handy. And no lads seem to do it anymore. Parking your car, grabbing a bus unexpectedly, using a vending machine etc. I manage to use coins a lot. I'd rather I didn't have to, but we're not there yet.

I also have the same problem with wallets not holding up. But I have the added annoyance of having my wallet and keys live the same pocket. (other pocket is for my insulin pump and phone). It just means leather gets ruined quick enough. Haven't found a solution.

I'm in the same boat. Having coins is dead handy. And no lads seem to do it anymore. Parking your car, grabbing a bus unexpectedly, using a vending machine etc. I manage to use coins a lot. I'd rather I didn't have to, but we're not there yet.

I also have the same problem with wallets not holding up. But I have the added annoyance of having my wallet and keys live the same pocket. (other pocket is for my insulin pump and phone). It just means leather gets ruined quick enough. Haven't found a solution.

We get there someday haha.

I'm just glad it broke this time and didn't bloody lose it on night out again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

wallets the mans purse :D

hugo boss- real ones cost about 120-150 but they last good 4-6 years. if you can afford it, plus finding is another hassle.

tk max would be second on my list and thou usually they are a mess and all over the place but can find decent one you need. picked up few over the years and its hard to complain yeah they rip eventually but for 20e a year its not bad.

thou personally found that using card holder that has pocket does well, specially if combined with money clip takes time to get used to but as coins go can get messy.

clip on wallet depending on design for me personally its extra nuisance when you need to stick it back on.

Haven't bought a wallet in shop in years last few I bought on Amazon or got an old one off someone else.

Actually got two really nice ones on amazon but lost one and his one broke ha.

I'm glueing it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Bought a wallet in Dunnes Stores a few years ago. Leather. It fell apart recently. NFC implant would be great. Imagine that.

Seen one that had Bluetooth built into it the other day!

Get a shoulder bag. For me, my wallet phone keys and sun glasses are in it. I couldn't have all those in pockets.

Also, coin tray in car keeps my coins. Maybe €5.00 in coin in my pocket.

See post above :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

last post reminds me how many times ive had to ask cashier at shops to put like 30-20 c on my card :o coins are good to have for the times listed above and usually youd want some on you, but its nuisance once you got bucket of copper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

https://www.fjallraven.com/shop/fjallraven-zip-wallet-F24216-navy/?sku=7323450022433

I had one of these and while it's a bit bulky it was a great wallet.

brevity wrote: »
    https://www.fjallraven.com/shop/fjallraven-zip-wallet-F24216-navy/?sku=7323450022433

I had one of these and while it's a bit bulky it was a great wallet.

Looks like has space for everything alright but like you said it's not a small one! Ha

JaMarcus wrote: »
    I have one itself and it's great, but it's quite annoying for notes and coins. Coins always fall out of it for me, and it's annoying having to fold up notes first before putting them in.

But the hassle is all worth it for the card pop-up. I feel so cool every time I use it :pac:

What are like compared to your average wallet ? I have one of these at the moment just different color https://www.amazon.co.uk/BLOCKING-DESIGNER-GENUINE-LEATHER-WALLET/dp/B01IPN009Y/ref=sr_1_34?s=luggage&ie=UTF8&qid=1530812813&sr=1-34&keywords=mens+wallet.

Ya smaller in my jeans or jacket pocket would be great but all these fancy new wallets look so small and tight for fitting few cards and even 50 euro notes into.

What are like compared to your average wallet ? I have one of these at the moment just different color https://www.amazon.co.uk/BLOCKING-DESIGNER-GENUINE-LEATHER-WALLET/dp/B01IPN009Y/ref=sr_1_34?s=luggage&ie=UTF8&qid=1530812813&sr=1-34&keywords=mens+wallet.

Ya smaller in my jeans or jacket pocket would be great but all these fancy new wallets look so small and tight for fitting few cards and even 50 euro notes into.

Its small enough to keep in your front pocket and you don't amass a loaf of rubbish like reciepts etc. It holds 4/5 €50 notes at most but I rarely carry much cash anyway.

Cool thanks! might look into getting a decent one and keep the monster for when i have a jacket on me and have extra coins.

Actually where is the best priced place to get them? Arnotts are about 60 or so is that the going rate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Ted Baker do really excellent wallets I have to say had mine like 4 years

Cool thanks! might look into getting a decent one and keep the monster for when i have a jacket on me and have extra coins.

Actually where is the best priced place to get them? Arnotts are about 60 or so is that the going rate?

I got mine and hers in Mathew Stephens jewellers here in Limerick. €57 I think.

Im in Dublin ill look around sure thanks!. The glue seems to of fixed the other one for now so hopefully will do me for the weekend. Knowing me though :pac:

Weirs do them afaik.

Ya i just went on there website good few places do them including few not to far from me!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭vikings2012

gmisk wrote: »
    Ted Baker do really excellent wallets I have to say had mine like 4 years

+1 for a Ted Baker wallet. Have one for the last 3 years and still in excellent quality.

Ended up picking up a secrid wallet in Avoca today very happy with it so far!

Let's see how it fares tonight so! Haha.

Thanks again for all the advice lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

i lost my last wallet and just use my mobile phone case now. a wallet just meant i carried too many coins and notes around.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

Money changes everything

Forget about coins in your wallet and buy a Secrid wallet.

Stylish and small.

Secrid is great for decluttering

As for coins, get a sealed tin in a euro shop and fire all you coins into it. Open at Christmas and amaze youself how much is in it. I have a tin just for €2 coins and it paid the tax and insurance for my classic car this year. Didn't even feel it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Wallet? Eggs. Basket. Why?!? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Automatic-Slide-RFID-ID-Credit-Card-Holder-Men-Women-Mini-Slim-PU-Leather-metal-Wallet-Credit/32855898327.html

OK it doesn't have room for coins but I've been using one of these for years and it's pretty much as good as the day I bought it. Inexpensive, small and actually quite practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Neames wrote: »
    Money changes everything

Forget about coins in your wallet and buy a Secrid wallet.

Stylish and small.

Which do you have ? I have an old CK trifold and its about 10 years old.

I love it, but its falling apart a bit at the moment.

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.