Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman acquitted of social welfare fraud- didn’t know a Vegas wedding was legal ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

more money well spent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Did the judge suggest AA meetings lol

That's about average for an Irish wedding 30,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Just listening to Pat Kenny.

Apparently part of her defence is that she thought she was only married in Vegas and Nowhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

There was a previous thread but it was locked as court proceedings were in place.
    Acquitted yesterday. Is it possible to just rock up in Vegas and get hitched?
    I honestly thought a licence had to be applied for in advance etc as opposed to being dragged in off the street drunk to some premises like they were offering free shots.

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/mum-accused-of-30k-social-welfare-fraud-claims-vegas-wedding-was-just-a-bit-of-fun-and-she-didnt-know-it-was-legal-36730355.html

You do need to get a license at the town hall beforehand which isn't on the strip. It's pretty easy to do that though, it's open pretty late and you can be drunk and get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

I thought it was a long established principle here that ignorance of the law was not a defense. That was the attempted defence of some of the Anglo leadership and that defence was explicitly rejected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭ARNOLD J RIMMER

What happens in Vegas doesn't necessarily stay in Vegas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

What happens in Vegas doesn't necessarily stay in Vegas

My doctor told me that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Judge John Brennan should be removed from judicial office for his disservice to the Irish people.

Irrespective of the amount of work and investigation involved in proving that the Dublin mother-of-four unlawfully obtained almost €30,000 in one parent family social welfare payments, the judge decided to rule in Michelle Burke's favour because "he had studied her demeanour when she testified".

€317 a week is what she was getting (not including children's allowance) on the one parent allowance; even though she was cohabiting with her partner/husband.

I wonder if I could use her solicitor's “honest though unreasonable belief” as a defence for not paying the television license bill that just came in the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Kivaro wrote: »

I wonder if I could use her solicitor's “honest though unreasonable belief” as a defence for not paying the television license bill that just came in the door?

No, because it wouldn't be an honest belief.

Lux23 wrote: »
    No, because it wouldn't be an honest belief.

Yes it would if I came up with a story similar to the Finglas woman. Her story; all aspects of it, is unbelievable. For example, I could say that I was drunk when the bill came in the door and I used it to make a substantial marijuana joint.

Now most people might not believe my story, but I now know one judge who possibly would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Wasn't this a tiny scenario in Friends? Like, in season 8 or so, Phoebe realizes she's married a few guys in Las Vegas over the years and says something along the lines of 'I've a few phone calls to make'.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

That's where I go on holliers when I'm on social welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I honestly assumed those Vegas chapels were a joke as well, I'd imagine many people who get "married" in them have no idea that it actually counts for anything more than a bit of craic. Really doubt anyone in this case was trying to pull a fast one or scam anyone tbh.

Yes it would if I came up with a story similar to the Finglas woman. Her story; all aspects of it, is unbelievable. For example, I could say that I was drunk when the bill came in the door and I used it to make a substantial marijuana joint.

Now most people might not believe my story, but I now know one judge who possibly would.

No, you couldn't. You get your TV licence bill every year, whereas getting married in Vegas is quite likely to be a one-off experience. Like I don't disagree that the judge is wrong, but I think your TV licence comparison is hysterical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

30k in under 2 years just for being a single parent?

Yes, parenting is just so easy. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I honestly assumed those Vegas chapels were a joke as well, I'd imagine many people who get "married" in them have no idea that it actually counts for anything more than a bit of craic. Really doubt anyone in this case was trying to pull a fast one or scam anyone tbh.

I don't believe her. It's well know, (aside from yourself) Las Vegas weddings are the real deal. Didn't Britney Spears have to get a quickie divorce after marrying there? Also it comes up in numerous movies and as mentioned 'Friends' and even Homer and Ned Flanders ffs. Also, the dude would have said, 'By the power invested in me by the state of Nevada...' and they would have had to have a witness and sign the documents.

It would be a good tax payer spend to put a watch on her house and see who's really living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Over 20 years uninterrupted on social welfare!!

The epitome of a non-tryer right there folks.

I don't believe her. It's well know, (aside from yourself) Las Vegas weddings are the real deal. Didn't Britney Spears have to get a quickie divorce after marrying there? Also it comes up in numerous movies and as mentioned 'Friends' and even Homer and Ned Flanders ffs. Also, the dude would have said, 'By the power invested in me by the state of Nevada...' and they would have had to have a witness and sign the documents.

It would be a good tax payer spend to put a watch on her house and see who's really living there.

Personally I don't really take appearances in fiction, or the life of Britney Spears, as lending any sort of credibility to anything :D

Having to witness and sign documents doesn't necessarily mean anything if the documents themselves are just made up BS. I just thought those wedding chapels were for having silly drunken craic and nothing more. Obviously I was wrong and obviously you knew this to be the case, I'm merely putting forward the assumption that I surely can't be the only one who made this mistake?

Maybe this individual is lying and maybe she isn't, but in general I'd imagine a lot of people will read this headline and go "wait what? Those things aren't just stunts for lulz?"

As I say, maybe I'm the only eejit here, but I sincerely hope not :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Why do ppl go to Vegas to get married? Is it because it's the best place to go to take a gamble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There married but living separately and Claims FIS jointly with the supposed husband she didn't know she actually married

Don't know if you are joking or not Patrick, but if you're not, I own a bridge in Brooklyn that I would like to sell you.

Vegas marriages are quite serious and the Chapels have to follow strict guidelines. For example, when this "single parent" received her marriage certificate from the Chapel, the certificate had her address and date of birth as well her partner’s details, and that they had to hand over their passports beforehand.

She was/is scamming the system and her neighbours going out to work in the morning once again pays the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

And is able to fund a trip to Vegas for her brothers friends birthday.. Think the Judge dropped the ball on this one.

Don't know if you are joking or not Patrick, but if you're not, I own a bridge in Brooklyn that I would like to sell you.

Vegas marriages are quite serious and the Chapels have to follow strict guidelines. For example, when this "single parent" received her marriage certificate from the Chapel, the certificate had her address and date of birth as well her partner’s details, and that they had to hand over their passports beforehand.

She was/is scamming the system and her neighbours going out to work in the morning once again pays the bill.

Sure look, you learn something new every day. I thought they were entirely for show and nothing more. Maybe she knew this, I'm merely pointing out that here's at least one person who genuinely didn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Lux23 wrote: »
    Yes, parenting is just so easy. :rolleyes:
    well considering that humans have been doing it for the entire history of our existence and mostly on no money whatsoever it can't be that hard.

padd b1975 wrote: »

And the sad fact is that she is only 39. She has a lot more years remaining to get decades more of welfare payments.

But, you know, she has a positive/good demeanor ............. according to one judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

padd b1975 wrote: »

You can claim OPFP whilst you're working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Judge John Brennan should be removed from judicial office for his disservice to the Irish people.

Irrespective of the amount of work and investigation involved in proving that the Dublin mother-of-four unlawfully obtained almost €30,000 in one parent family social welfare payments, the judge decided to rule in Michelle Burke's favour because "he had studied her demeanour when she testified".

€317 a week is what she was getting (not including children's allowance) on the one parent allowance; even though she was cohabiting with her partner/husband.

That puzzled me too.

Graces7 wrote: »
    That puzzled me too.

I was confused also. According to the article, she said the husband was living at another address.
    She also said her partner, who was not the father of her children, paid tax and then lived at a different address in Dublin 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Sometimes I almost feel lucky to live in Ireland.

Then I read ****e like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Sure look, you learn something new every day. I thought they were entirely for show and nothing more. Maybe she knew this, I'm merely pointing out that here's at least one person who genuinely didn't!

That's fair enough, but if you got married, needed a witness, had to fill out official documents and give accurate personal information, I'd be less likely to believe you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,794 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

State should appeal the verdict! That cow should not be allowed to get away what is clearly a case of defrauding the social welfare system! She should also have her wefare cut and made go out and get a job even if it's part-time!

Who said she didn't have a job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

A holiday to Vegas for a brothers friend! Dont get me wrong, I agree with social welfare for those who need it but that just galls me. Save up and take the kids on a supervalu break to Kerry or maybe even a cheap holiday to Spain if you save for a couple of years but somethings wrong if you can afford to go to Vegas while on social welfare. I was getting FIS for a while, really helped me out but I couldnt afford a weekend away in Ireland never mind a holiday in America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

To score a marriage license in Clark County, you must appear in person before a clerk at a Marriage License Bureau location, either downtown or at one of the outlying offices. Your proposed union must include two people who are unrelated and both at least 18 years old. Proof of name and age will be required, so don't forget to bring your valid driver's license, passport, military ID card or other government-issued ID card. Other combinations of ID that contain your photograph along with an original/certified birth certificate or social security card are cool too.

It’s not like you can just rock up to a chapel and get married.