Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facebook friends - can you have too many?

• 02-07-2018 2:35am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I have about 200 or so FB so-called “friends”, some of whom are good, genuine friends, family and extended family and quite a few people I know from my past like old college friends/ work colleagues but TBH most of whom I wouldn’t even consider good acquaintances and quite a few whom I have never even met in person at all.

I’ve noticed that some of my other FB friends have 600, 800, or even 1,000+ FB “friends”, is this a sign of popularity, wanting to appear popular to others, vapid insecurity or just plain narcissism? Do certain people attract Facebook friend requests? I’ve ignored quite a few in my time.

Answers on a postcard please...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

I have 36 on Facebook. All family or former colleagues that have moved on.

I dont care about "likes" or any of that crap. It is a form of communication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Facebook me hole..
    Ok children it's time for dinner...
    Omg look at you, your all filthy, get into that bathroom and scrub your thumbs :)

Too many and your feed turns to crap. I got past that by unfollowing pretty much everyone but it's still crap so I just use it for messenger.

Why do people have lots of people on it? Lots of reasons I guess. Maybe they lived somewhere else for a while. It can be very useful for getting into what's happening in a new city.

Few adults do it to have big friends lists like you noticed for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I have about 500 facebook friends a good few are local business.
    I would never delete any of them encase I upset one them. If they were posting a lot of rubbish I'd just unfollow them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I have 33 Facebook friends and that's too much. I have most of them muted including my family. I don't let those people see my posts either. Most of the people that I post to are people I met on forums or chat rooms years ago.

Yeah..I have over 200..don't talk to any of them in real life..unfollowed everyone too, so it's generally just a particular branch of memes until I get sick of them and unlike whatever page seems to be too prevalent in the news feed..I've been wondering if people might have taken offense to being unfollowed..My more recent posts struggle to hit the dazzling heights of 5 likes that they used to..I'm thinking I may have been unfollowed too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I am not sure how many I have, probably 150-200, but it's a nice way to keep in touch with people from old jobs or ones you may have met on holiday.

I unfollow if they get a bit repetitive with their posts though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,436 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Never had a Facebook, life's too short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I belong to a limited number of groups that I am especially interested in, including a couple of my own. I have about 40 friends, but most of them are muted. I almost never look at my own timeline, I just have links directly to the groups I am in. So f/b works for me, though I am probably not using it the way f/b would like me to use it.

Can you have too many fb friends? - that depends entirely on how you use fb and what your interests are. I could easily have too many, but others may think differently, that's fine, use it to suit yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Diversity for Hire

I have over 1000 friends myself but then again I'm a 16 year old girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

They aren't "friends" they're aquaintences. Especially if you;ve had no contact wit them for several years.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I have over 600 "friends" but could easily delete most of them. They could be split into three groups.

The few friends I use it to keep in touch with.
    The people I'm never going to contact but don't want to cut off contact with. For example someone I used to work with reached out to ask about a job in the company I work for. I'm not about to hang out with him but he's a lovely guy and I have no problem recommending him for the job.
    All the rest. Former coworkers and people from college who added me but I honestly never want to see them again.

The solution is to disable all notifications from facebook and use messenger only. I never ever check facebook so i don't see peoples updates etc. I just don't delete all of them because there are some that I like and I'd like to have a method of contacting

I'd honestly delete the fecking thing but there are a few people that I do want to be able to contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Deleted Facebook years ago. Full of narcissistic, virtue signalling ass holes..

Luckily you found boards.ie as a completely different alternative :pac:

I have 33 Facebook friends and that's too much. I have most of them muted including my family. I don't let those people see my posts either. Most of the people that I post to are people I met on forums or chat rooms years ago.

33. G'way outta dat.

How could you have 33 friends even on Facebuke? Sure I heard you were an awful awful awful bollix altogether.

"Don't invite that fecker or he'll bring his guitar"
    "If he starts up that Wonderwall shite again I'm going to glass the prick"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭blackbird 49

I often wonder how many Facebook friends people actually know, When my OH did door work a few years back there was a girl who would always be on about how she had over a 1000 friends on Facebook, She was having her 21st in the upstairs room of the place he worked in, it seemed she had invited everyone, well it proved how many "friends" she actually had about 25 people turned up, he said you could see the disappointment in her face

I'd have gone.

Is she hot?

Well she's 21. Wouldn't be too many miles on the chassis yet even if it hadn't been looked after too well.