Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor oils

• 30-06-2018 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Looking for oil today
    Seen norlube 15/40 for 50 euro . Is it good oil or am I better going for genuine Massey . Top or maxol oils

Massey 390t is 15/40 0r universal oil the best for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭mad-for-tar

Never heard of them, not a huge amount of info on their website though, seem to be based in NI, maybe others in that area may have more experience. If you’re fussy, Castrol or Mobil is the best bet. Have been using Maxol also myself and can’t fault it. If I remember rightly, Fuchs are or at least were an OE supplier to MF at some point. Any good common reputable well known brands are safest bet.
    15W-40 for the engine and Super Universal for back end. 80W-90 front axle and hubs (4WD).

HTH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Donegalforever

Beaubeau wrote: »
    Looking for oil today
    Seen norlube 15/40 for 50 euro . Is it good oil or am I better going for genuine Massey . Top or maxol oils

It is safer to stick to brand names when buying oil, even if it is more expensive. I use Maxol mostly.

Cheap oil could turn out to be very expensive if you happen to wreck the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

What tractor engine oil would ye put into a MF 390? Would it differ from a 390T/398? Also any suggestions for back end oil for the above?
    TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭mad-for-tar

Sugarbowl wrote: »
    What tractor engine oil would ye put into a MF 390? Would it differ from a 390T/398? Also any suggestions for back end oil for the above?
    TIA

Any good brand of 15W-40 Multigrade engine oil will work in these models, back then would have been around API-CD4 or CF4 spec but today’s ones are at least CI4 or CJ4.

For back end, 15W-30 Super Universal, again same for all models across 300 series. You’ll find a load of info on the label, one of specs which is M1135 1139 etc, JD J20C, Ford NH M2C134D and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Only use Castrol 15/40 for tractor engine. 150 hours done since last service and it's as clean looking as it was when it came out of the can. €70 for a 20l drum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Using Morris oils, grease, fluids and coolant here for years and never any issues.

local rep. is very well versed on the correct specs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

Beaubeau wrote: »
    Looking for oil today

Modern tractor engines need very specific oil, but a 390T will be far less fussy. Any modern day oil will be far superior to the oil that was available when she was new. However, I would certainly spend the extra cash to buy a quality known brand. Universal oil will work fine in the engine, but again I’d do it right and get the proper engine oil......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

Sugarbowl wrote: »
    TIA

A diesel engine oil from any established brand will be fine for the engine of any 300 series Massey. Super universal oil for the back end....again, using a quality brand.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

orm0nd wrote: »
    Using Morris oils, grease, fluids and coolant here for years and never any issues.

local rep. is very well versed on the correct specs.

A few lads at this end of the parish are giving out about squealing brakes and rear end trouble. Not JD tractors either.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭older by the day

I would go with an oil brand you have heard of. I bought oil off " a certain ethnic minority" member. He gave me two drums for 90 euros. It went white after a week. Lucky I noticed it. It's not like I change it that often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Donegalforever

I would go with an oil brand you have heard of. I bought oil off " a certain ethnic minority" member. He gave me two drums for 90 euros. It went white after a week. Lucky I noticed it. It's not like I change it that often

I would agree.....avoid anything for sale by "a certain ethnic minority" as it is likely to be sub-standard at best.
    Any of the popular brands for sale by reputable sources should be OK