Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you share earphones with someone?

• 26-06-2018 5:44pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 176 ✭✭

That isn't in your family? Just realized that many people think this is weird, I was giving a friend an earpod to listen to but he was quite squeamish about it. Quite offended since I clean my ears every weekend. There are other friends who have shared mine so it must just be a preference.

Wonder if he would have the same attitude towards an attractive woman he likes. Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Depends if they're in the in ear type, if they are then go and sh1te but the ones that just sort of sit in your ear would be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

That isn't in your family? Just realized that many people think this is weird, I was giving a friend an earpod to listen to but he was quite squeamish about it. Quite offended since I clean my ears every weekend. There are other friends who have shared mine so it must just be a preference.

Wonder if he would have the same attitude towards an attractive woman he likes. Probably not.

Every weekend??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

I wouldn't give someone my last rolo let alone share earphones with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Probably not, Nigel.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

No!
    I can hardly bear to sit on seats strangers have just sat on. Shared bum warmth. Ugh. And as for touching shopping trolleys after other manky humans. Gah. The thought of inner ear sweat swopping! Barf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Its a kind gesture and nice to share music and nod along and to do together if.your feeling lovely dovey but a big part of me squirms and if I share my earphones with you.you can be sure that I go.home and throw them in the bin after. The pound shop makes a fortune from me. Second hand earwax - bleugh

PS
    If.you insist I listen with yours I only ever hold them close to my ear - I never stick.them in. And I never use the communal.ones on planes. Horror story scenarios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They are sticking them in their ear not up their arse

Some shower of weirdos in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I recall having a filthy raucous time with a guy I picked up in a seedy nightclub and the next day when I went to use the bathroom he screamed at me from the other room 'don't use my toothbrush'.

I have embellished this story a bit just to make the point (the nightclub wasn't that seedy)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Only if I was already swapping bodily fluids with them. In for a penny in for a pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Course I would ffs.

Always annoyed me when I was young when someone would say 'Leave us some' when you'd be drinking a can of Coke (or Tab, or whatever) and as soon as they got it they would then wipe the top with their sleeve. Made me want to kick it from their hand, cheeky fcukers.

Strangers I might not, but someone you know? Course I'd have no problems using their earphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

How exactly does one "clean their ears"? My limited knowledge of ears tells me that they are a self-cleaning organ.

Also, are women's ears/earbuds now a fetish? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Course I would ffs.

Always annoyed me when I was young when someone would say 'Leave us some' when you'd be drinking a can of Coke (or Tab, or whatever) and as soon as they got it they would then wipe the top with their sleeve. Made me want to kick it from their hand, cheeky fcukers.

Strangers I might not, but someone you know? Course I'd have no problems using their earphones.

Inner ear one with crusty bits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Malayalam wrote: »
    No!
    I can hardly bear to sit on seats strangers have just sat on. Shared bum warmth. Ugh. And as for touching shopping trolleys after other manky humans. Gah. The thought of inner ear sweat swopping! Barf.

I hold trolleys at the sides.. ;) NOT the handles...Actually easier to steer that way NO shared earplugs thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

And then, as soon as they take a gulp, "Huh, I backwashed that"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

At university last year a lad was trying to show me his videogame project and offered me his earbuds to listen to it. I could see a lot of crusty material inside them and it actually turned my stomach. Then, while he was explaining how his audio was absolutely vital to the story, I thought about the dozens of other people he was going to demo this thing to...

This is how people get HEARING AIDS! Don't use someone else's crusty ear condoms FFS!

At university last year a lad was trying to show me his videogame project and offered me his earbuds to listen to it. I could see a lot of crusty material inside them and it actually turned my stomach. Then, while he was explaining how his audio was absolutely vital to the story, I thought about the dozens of other people he was going to demo this thing to...

This is how people get HEARING AIDS! Don't use someone else's crusty ear condoms FFS!

Haha :D 'ear condoms'...do these compulsive ear gunk sharers want to die roaring?
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

They are sticking them in their ear not up their arse

Wouldnt be too into that either tbh

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Wouldn't worry me TBH. I'm not a germaphobe. Not beyond basic hygiene anyway. My mother was a bit of a germaphobe. Don't share drinks with the other kids, ugh stop the dog licking your face kinda thing. My dad on the other hand wasn't. At all. Buttered toast fall on kitchen floor? Meh, be grand. I inherited his general approach. And so far so good as I've never needed nor taken an antibiotic in my life.

I remember when the first Sony Walkmans came out and they came with two headphone jacks because they reckoned it could be a shared experience. I seem to remember ads with two people listening to the same headphones an ear each, but they weren't in ear jobs.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I'd share with Mr Crumble, but I forgot my headphone sin the gym one day and one the lads working there offered me a pair from the lost property box. Erm, no thanks.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Wouldn't worry me TBH. I'm not a germaphobe. Not beyond basic hygiene anyway. My mother was a bit of a germaphobe. Don't share drinks with the other kids, ugh stop the dog licking your face kinda thing. My dad on the other hand wasn't. At all. Buttered toast fall on kitchen floor? Meh, be grand. I inherited his general approach. And so far so good as I've never needed nor taken an antibiotic in my life.

I remember when the first Sony Walkmans came out and they came with two headphone jacks because they reckoned it could be a shared experience. I seem to remember ads with two people listening to the same headphones an ear each, but they weren't in ear jobs.

I veer between the two. Am barefoot most of the time so some melange of squashed slugs, animal spit, and variations of mud is probably permanently on my footsoles. I also eat stuff that falls on the ground, never use those chemical household cleaners, couldn't be accused of being overly tidy and thankfully have only had one antibiotic since childhood (which was elective). But God, people can be filthy and sharing their random stuff is sometimes rough. Oul fellas approaching the shopping trolleys having just hacked up half their lungs into their hands :eek: Whiskery women copping a feel of every fresh roll on the bakery display. :( I thought I had it all rationally figured out - no need to worry too much - until the day a couple of years ago when I went down to the back of the bus and sat down innocently only to find that the whole seat was sopping with the piss of the person who had just gotten off. Instantly drenched through to the knickers with some strangers pee! :mad: Feck that. Bus pants for the win. Humans can keep their crusty bits to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Years ago, I started a new job that included dicta-typing and on my first morning one of the bosses pointed to two scraggly looking bits of sponge on the table. They were the bits of sponge covering the bit on the headset that goes into your ears.

As they'd been used by the previous secretary, my new boss thought it would be a nice gesture to take them off the earphones and wash them for me. I know she meant well but I couldn't bring myself to put them into my ears so I went to a nearby office supplies shop (thankfully there was one a few doors away) and bought myself brand new bits of earphone-covering-sponge before I had to do any typing.

I think she'd washed them in washing up liquid and more than likely didn't do a great job of rinsing them. Bubbly ear buds for the new secretary :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Graces7 wrote: »
    Malayalam wrote: »
    No!

I hold trolleys at the sides.. ;) NOT the handles...Actually easier to steer that way NO shared earplugs thank you

For some reason I hate taking a trolley that someone has just left back. I'm not even sure why. It doesn't matter what they look like and if I don't see them leave it back I don't even think about it. But I get all icky at taking one that I've seen been left back. It's up there with not wanting to watch the deli person make my sandwich. I'd rather not know.

Also ....big no no to the earbud thing. Uggggh dead ear skin gunk !!!!