Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

in or out?

• 25-06-2018 7:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭

Hey guys just looking for some quick thoughts on the following....
    Is it better to leave dogs inside the next few days or outside with access plenty of shade....
    I have a small marquee, large umbrella, their kennel available to them and the outside tap constantly trickling cold water into their bowl available to them. They do love lying out in the sun unfortunately.
    With me gone to work during the day am I better off leaving them in the cool house or outside with access to all of the above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

If it was my two I could trust Lucy to stay in the shade.. but Bailey would be out cooking himself in the sun lol! I've kept them at the hottest times with a fan on and if they're out with me in the shade I put their cool vests on which they seem to love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Jood10

I struggled with what I was going to do all weekend while I was at home.
    We decided to let them out, our garden is fully shaded until mid day at the earliest with the bottom half shaded by a wall at all times and I've left 4 huge bowls of water in various shaded locations in the garden.
    I watched them all day yesterday and they spent most of the time at the bottom of the garden even though they had full access to the house, they only came in when there was a sniff of food, didn't even want to come into bed last night.
    Its hard to know what the right thing is, if I'd left them inside I'd be worrying that they were too hot in there too!

Yeah it really depends on your house/garden. We get the sun at the back so too hot outside and stuffy inside without fans on and cool mats etc. Bailey is now lying in front of the fan expecting it to come on lol :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭limericklad87

There's natural shade most of the day in the garden but can get exposed in the afternoon hence the marquee and umbrella. I might leave thm inside with the run of the tiled areas

I just passed somebody who was walking their dog - it’s 25 degrees!

Saw someone walking a Husky-like dog yesterday, poor mite with all that hair! Mine got a quick walk this morning but I wont stress about walks for the next week, its just too warm for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Jood10 wrote: »
    Saw someone walking a Husky-like dog yesterday, poor mite with all that hair! Mine got a quick walk this morning but I wont stress about walks for the next week, its just too warm for them.

I walked my husky yesterday morning at 7:30 before it got warm...

Be no walkies for the rest of the week though. a game of ball at 10pm id say will be all she gets, i cant remember the last time she wasnt walked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

My fella’s inside with the curtains drawn. I’ll be walking him at about 9 at night for whatever coolness there’s in it.

I see that file photo of burnt pads has resurfaced - the same one that appeared when it was snowing to warn everyone that the salt/grit cold melt pads off.... even though the place is gritted for months on end and nobody notices lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Days like this make living in a cold, damp old stone walled cottage worthwhile for the dogs, its always cold in here, no matter what the suns doing outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Jood10 wrote: »
    Mine got a quick walk this morning but I wont stress about walks for the next week, its just too warm for them.

Same, she'll be on short walk rations for the week, which won't please her, but she can just live with it! A spin around the block first and last thing is all she'll be getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

I had to go out and bring Hoops into the shade/inside yesterday when we were home, he was constantly lying in the sun. He's black and has patchy fur underneath so I don't like him lying out long at all. Bella on the other hand was plonked either in the shade, on the tiles or in front of the fan. They are in the house when we're not here. I've got a baby gate on their room so I leave the door open and just that closed over. Their room is tiled too so nice and cool and I have the blind pulled.

Well I needn't have worried, home hours now and they've only come in a couple of times - back door is wide open for them, the heat hasn't knocked a stir out of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

our dog lays on his bed at the front door which is left open we can trust him not to stay in the sun if he gets too warm he comes into the porch or sits in the shade

But he is really fed up with the heat

For the first time in 9 years my duskie stayed outside last night. By her own choice...i looked out about 3am and she was stretched out as long as she could make herself enjoying the cool on the patio...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭eirbear1989

I have been leaving my fella outside. I asked the neighbour to look out the window a few times and if he is lying in the sun to put him in the house, she said so far he has been sticking to the shade. I also freeze buckets of water with some treats thrown in. By the time I get home there is still some ice floating so at least I know the water is always cool for him.

The hardest part is the evening, he is so used to going straight out for a walk when I get home, and instead I am leaving it till much later to head out, its driving him insane! I have been bringing him to a lake so he can swim to cool off too, yesterday he didn't want to leave after 2 hours in the water!

I can't believe the amount of people I'm passing on the way home who are out with their dogs!?! :eek: I got some nice treats and new kong treat ball things in the post today to keep them busy - but the heat has them exhausted so not like they need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭ene

The amount of people I saw out walking today between 2-4 when it was incredibly hot is ridiculous!

Waited till 10 laat night to walk my dog and he was a lot more tired then normal- think today will the first EVER day he doesn't get a walk but its still to hot for a black dog!!

ene wrote: »
    The amount of people I saw out walking today between 2-4 when it was incredibly hot is ridiculous!

Waited till 10 laat night to walk my dog and he was a lot more tired then normal- think today will the first EVER day he doesn't get a walk but its still to hot for a black dog!!

Oh I’ve seen a good few black dogs out! To the point I think the spca needs to drive around and tell people to cop on!! Usually by the time I go to take my two out they’ve effectively gone to bed per their usual routine and don’t want to come :p

EDIT 28 degrees in Dublin and the same dogs out for walks!

No walks all week. debating getting up at 6 tomorrow to get out for a bit, i dunno will the roads be ok to go on though. A lot of melted tar round my way. no footpaths either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭JulesInKy

Two big black dogs (37kg and 40kg). We've been going out early, 7am and again in the evening at 9pm; the sun is low enough at these hours to pick a route that has decent shade on the path. Also plenty of vegetation/turf areas for them to keep their paws off the heated rough gravel road. They have a good drink before we leave, always water in the car and I hose them down and give them a good soaking before we set out (not on mains water folks!). Garden has a side that is permanently in shade so they can come and go as they please during the day, they seem to pick mostly in though.

success this morning .....6am walk at 11 degrees :P

We were later than normal at 7:30 but still cool enough and they had a good paddle in the river to cool down too.
    One of the vets who had a dog die from heatstroke :( had a post on FB yesterday asking people not to walk them between 9:00am - 8:00pm... friend thinks it’s fine as long as they bring a bottle of water :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

Struggling with my two and walkies too!

We went to the beach last night at 10pm, was gorgeous and they got a swim in.
    First outing for them in 3 days!!

We have a new born so the early starts are harder as I'm asleep after feeds when it's cool enough to bring them out!

To be honest I think they're too hot themselves to care, they normally annoy me from when I get up to bring them out (daily ritual!)

Where now they annoy me to open the back door. Go out for a sniff and then plonk themselves back in the kitchen panting!

My black lab loves the sun.

My rottie dosent know what he loves, but he can't handle the sun, not that he knows. Silly thing wants to be next to his sister all day every day. I reckon he'd die if we left him out as he'd stick to her in the sun!

At the end of the day they’re not going to die from missing a few walks!

OMG I had a paddling pool in the press that I got a few years ago and forgot about so blew it up and filled it a couple of inches .. well if I had a chihuahua he’d be sorted because the thing was tiny :p They could put their front paws in but that was it lol then it became their new dirty water bowl so the water was split between watering the tree and washing down the garden! How is it that they’ll demand a fresh bowl of water inside yet drink out of a paddling pool they’ve both been stepping in lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

Ahhhh

Mr C has to walk at least 15 mins before he will do his first poo, because of his issues we can’t walk during the ‘reactive’ time i.e 6:30-7:00 or the pre work 7:30-8:30, way too many dogs for his liking and mine.

It’s taken me a week to work out the sweet spot timing... between 9:45 - 11:00 while sticking to the shadows and avoiding the newly laid tarmac...

@shakencat have you not managed to teach Willow to walk Ralph & Raven Yet!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

In during the hottest part of the day .. and he likes to pan out under a big shrub in the garden in the evening..Walks have been around 11pm most days.
    Quick question how do I get him to drink more he never seems to drink enough.
    He is enjoying just standing in paddling pool...

harr wrote:
    In during the hottest part of the day .. and he likes to pan out under a big shrub in the garden in the evening..Walks have been around 11pm most days. Quick question how do I get him to drink more he never seems to drink enough. He is enjoying just standing in paddling pool...

Pupsicles might work to get more fluids into him. If you feed kibble put some into ice cube trays and water over it and freeze. Or else bits of fruit/meat/fish etc with water over it and frozen too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

harr wrote: »
    In during the hottest part of the day .. and he likes to pan out under a big shrub in the garden in the evening..Walks have been around 11pm most days.
    Quick question how do I get him to drink more he never seems to drink enough.
    He is enjoying just standing in paddling pool...

My dogs are kibble fed for the most part and I always put water in with their food. I don't allow it to soak in, just add cold water and serve. Before exercise I bait water with tinned fish, not a huge amount, but enough that they take water in whilst getting the fish. I've also used tinned dog food and cat food to entice them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Mine is stir crazy with a bad attack of cabin fever...

Early today, ie 4.30 am, I decided on a short walk (not well ; bad attack of prickly heat rash in a hard to reach place ) and when I opened the gate she shot out like the proverbial bullet from a gun, followed by 2 of the cats.

The dwelling is on the crossroads and we take the roads in turns. Dog was so overexcited she literally ran round in circles until I pointed to the lane to take, then all we saw was a blur..

She did one day get overheated so I gently ran a cold wet cloth over her .

So ive flipped my day on its head. Up at 6am for walks now and i go swimming in the evening instead. Its working fine. Lovely and cool with plenty of exercise. Looking at the weather it will be this way for a while

Just been on the phone to family in Canada. Places are very hot and any number of people leaving dogs in cars and the dogs dying of heat stroke.

More than once she has smashed a deserted car window to save a dog.

I know all here will be taking great care.

Two dogs are so over this weather, they're really not themselves sleeping loads and restless. One of them has started barking/whining each night even though they've the coolest room in the house with just the baby gate closed across. Trying to tire them out without walking as much as they're used to is not easy!

wish everyone were as caring as folk here...

https://www.rte.ie/news/weather/2018/0704/976299-weather-farmers/