Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mow or graze new reseed

• 19-06-2018 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭

Recently got a field reseeded with germinals top five extend ...since the rain came it's looking like a good job imo

I was all set to spray it with undersown and graze it with calves to help it tiller out

Contractor that did the job reckons I should spread straight nitrogen now then mow it in about 4/5 weeks time instead. Reckons spray in this weather or if it's an extended dry hot period might set the grass back and mowing it would kill all the soft weeds and make the best possible job of it etc

Tbh I'd take the lads advice all day long, he knows what he's doing but I always thought it was recommended you don't now it first time out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Spray and graze. I wouldn't leave it for 5 or 6 weeks, as it would go too strong. Always graze or cut a reseed early to aid tillering. You can cut it but would cut it at grazing height not silage height

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Stick with plan A and spray it. Leaving it that long could give you established docks that are harder to kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Spray it with Pastor Trio, it’s the best chance you’ll get to have weed free pasture for 5-7 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I remember Dad reseeding a field and he didn’t graze it. I remember the guy came to cut it for silage and he struggled at times it was so heavy, you’d want to hear the roar of the tractor. Reckon it absolutely ruined the field, robbed it off a lot of p and k and the reseed got a big set back from competing grasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Spray it with Pastor Trio, it’s the best chance you’ll get to have weed free pasture for 5-7 years

Is that clover safe?

No. Grass at 3 leaf stage, clover unlikely to have struck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

gdzJUxG.jpg

Thats it above at the moment. Sorry if the image is too big or awkward, was quite a task for me to upload it with my patchy at best wifi believe it or not.

Seeded about three weeks ago but the dry spell delayed germination. Once the rain came it started motoring however, came in well under the trees where moisture was preserved a bit in the shade.

Coming on well now though all over I think..

I was surprised at the responses above tbh, As I said my contractor is usually dead on I was expecting confirmation. Would he be thinking theres very little weed in it and if I go with nitrogen now and he mows it'll avoid me spraying during the dry spell to come next week and damage the whole reseed I wonder? The man mentioned it would preserve my clover and calves could graze away no bother afterwards and in fairness he's not suggesting it for the business, there would be feck all bales on it according to him..........tbh I don't care about the clover, I didn't want it in the mix its just there as they didn't have the no clover in stock when I wanted ...I had intended to put clover out with fertiliser next spring...after any spraying that needed doing.

If I did go with spray though (pastor trio or undersown) Id surely have to wait for another week or two do ye think. and no point in letting calves out on it for another week or two either?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Whatever you do get them sprayed - we did a few acres 3 years ago and despite a load of promises from the contractor he never sprayed it. The paddock is dirty out now - he won't be doing any more work for us again.

We have always worked on the principle that grazing seeds is far far better than cutting them

Panch18 wrote: »
    Whatever you do get them sprayed - we did a few acres 3 years ago and despite a load of promises from the contractor he never sprayed it. The paddock is dirty out now - he won't be doing any more work for us again.

We have always worked on the principle that grazing seeds is far far better than cutting them

Thanks, well that sorts it so. What stage would you be spraying the above?...

I was thinking, put out the nitrogen..about a bag to the acre, wait a week or two, spray then graze a week after that...

the field itself got a top dressing of about 2.5 bags to the acre 10-10-20 and about the same in gran lime about 3-4 weeks ago just before the seed was broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Is it safe to do 6 week post emergence spray with the heatwave that’s promised?

As in spray in the next day or two or would I be better off grazing now till the heatwave passes and then spray

Yep, its this predicted heat wave that has me worried as well. Im going to wait until afterwards before I do anything.

If I were you I’d wait till after this week. I wouldn’t consider Undersown, it’s mid Delong at best. It’s perfect to hit weeds just germinated. If you wait and you should Pastor Trio with water at no less than 250L per ha

Btw, that’s a great strike of grass. Did it get N yet? I’d hit it every 3 weeks with 30 units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Interested to see what happens here.
    I have grass coming well in 2 small fields. Lots of weeds. Topped 1 field to see how it got on as it was getting a bit over weedy.
    It has got some n 2 weeks ago and going in the pit against every bit of advice here (which has me worried).
    When dry spell is over if i think it needs sprayed it will get it.have pastor trio sitting ready.

Btw, that’s a great strike of grass. Did it get N yet? I’d hit it every 3 weeks with 30 units.

Thank you, I tried to make sure all the recommendations I read about were followed, the only thing I couldn't factor in was the prolonged dry spell.

It got approx 3bags/acre (maybe a bit more now that I think of it) 10-10-20 chain harrowed in just before the seed was broadcast...and similar level of granlime...

I was going to hit it with CAN a couple of days ago but I'm going to hold off until after the heatwave before I do anything with it (including fertiliser)

If I were you I’d wait till after this week. I wouldn’t consider Undersown, it’s mid Delong at best. It’s perfect to hit weeds just germinated. If you wait and you should Pastor Trio with water at no less than 250L per ha

If I'm understanding you right...undersown won't be as effective because the weeds in the reseed have gone past the stage its most effective......pastor trio at the rate above (and even more dilute) will achieve a better outcome?

Dunedin wrote: »
    Is it safe to do 6 week post emergence spray with the heatwave that’s promised?

As in spray in the next day or two or would I be better off grazing now till the heatwave passes and then spray

Well, after speaking with a lot of lads, took the plunge and sprayed yesterday evening (underclear).

Will let ye know how it goes. Was fierce tempted to graze but greater advice was to spray now as the weeds would get too well established if left til after grazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Sami23

Dunedin wrote: »
    Well, after speaking with a lot of lads, took the plunge and sprayed yesterday evening (underclear).

Will let ye know how it goes. Was fierce tempted to graze but greater advice was to spray now as the weeds would get too well established if left til after grazing.

Sprayed my reseed yesterday evening with underclear myself. Was 4 weeks sown.
    How long was yours sown?
    Hooefully it does the job now ðŸ™

Sami23 wrote: »
    How long was yours sown?

How many leaves on you grass plant?

How long was yours sown?

Mine was 6 weeks. A fair bit of chickeeed. Some thistles and docks too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Sami23

How many leaves on you grass plant?

3 anyway but hard be exact as the grass is very varied in size. Some is up 4 or 5 inches and some is only just emerging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

3 anyway but hard be exact as the grass is very varied in size. Some is up 4 or 5 inches and some is only just emerging

It's the year that's in it