Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealing with rude assholes.

• 09-06-2018 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

I had a rude witch type creature into work yesterday.

Yoke giving me attitude from the get go.

"Give me my Title Deeds'

No hi or please off this species. She didn't even identify herself. I'm suppossed to know who she is. Our client index is huge.

I've no time for people who don't practice basic manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Rave.ef

Always do onto others as others do to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Huge you say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Be sweeter than sweet and annoy the **** out of them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Apply for access to the ranting and raving forum. A private forum where outsiders can't see you rant. Great threads for giving out about work and customers.

Apply here, https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=107212786#post107212786 Read the first post though, rules for access are

CRITERIA FOR ACCESS
    A minimum of 50 posts on boards.ie
    A minimum of 3 months on boards.ie
    A relatively clean record (this is at the mods discretion)

Subscribers bypass the time and postcount restrictions (please mention in your request if you are a subscriber). Please note that the moderators decision is final with respect to access.

Although I do hear if you offer chocolate you can bypass the rules :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Kick in the gee works a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Last time a mod advertised above the other mod was flooded with requests......

Great forums though ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Last time a mod advertised above the other mod was flooded with requests......

Great forums though ;-)

That was me also that time. It is a great forum. The thread with all the pics of naked mods,cmods and admins is good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

You should have cut out signs for this...

https://goo.gl/images/yDg5UB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Arseholes.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Everyone is someone else's weirdo asshole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

To work in a DIY/hardware store. Being a man of certain DIY talents I thought it would make a nice job where I could use my knowledge and talents to good effect.

I was strongly advised to spend as much time as I could in a variety of stores to get a feel for the job.

Biggest drawbacks were rude women looking for non-existent or badly described goods or items and getting annoyed when their strange requests were not understood or responded to. The garden section was a nightmare because a botanists level of knowledge was expected of the assistants working there.

I quickly made up my mind to avoid such work.

The main types were finger clickers thinking you were a dog and shouters looking for instant attention ahead of others in an obvious queue.

It was obvious to me that these creatures never had to spend time in a workplace or outside the home and had become dysfunctional in normal society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭FingerDeKat

Putinbot wrote: »
    The thread with all the pics of naked mods,cmods and admins is good too.

Tell me more....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Punch them in the face.

Then have a ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Same as how you deal with any arsehole

Use plenty of lube and tell her it'll be over in a minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

Use plenty of lube and tell her it'll be over in a minute

They don't deserve lube...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

They don't deserve lube...

#RiderOntheStormy

Putinbot wrote: »
    That was me also that time. It is a great forum. The thread with all the pics of naked mods,cmods and admins is good too.

Putinbot, that's very interesting.....

I honestly forgot it was you.

Now you have just ruined the other lads weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

I recently dealt with one of our GPs receptionists who was incredibly unprofessional. No manner, pleasant greeting or anything, and then got into a huff when a colleague told her she was filling out the wrong form. Cue deep loud sighs and the the word "siht" - in front of a customer FFS. I'm not one to take offense and not shocked by bad language, but what did shock me was the utter lack of anything resembling professionalism. Usually I try to defuse such situations with humour and a pleasant attitude but - maybe because I'm getting older - I'm not inclined to make that effort for rude people any more. Fcuk them. I just glared at her instead and kept any further conversation very brusque, and made a point of not exchanging any farewell pleasantries. It probably didn't make any difference to a thick hide like that but I must say I enjoyed doing it at the time.

A few weeks before that a work colleague said something I considered quite rude to another colleague and where normally I would pretend I hadn't noticed it, I gave the offender one of Paddington's "hard stares" without interrupting the conversation. He got the message too and was especially pleasant for the rest of the day. This was not long after I'd heard a snippet of Jordan Peterson's advice that sometimes it's better to be a bit unpleasant, a bit dangerous even, so that your reaction can't be taken for granted. I'm not a Peterson disciple, but I'll use good advice wherever it comes from. It's quite liberating actually, knowing you don't have to be nice to everyone - particularly the ones who go out of their way not to earn it.

I realise that above doesn't sound at all "dangerous", of course, but it's a big departure from my normal MO. I recommend it to anyone who usually strives to minimise conflict but is looking for a new approach to dealing with the d1ckheads of this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,846 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

@OP. Hello. Your name is not Lisa by any chance it it? Just thought Id ask. You never know I could be right.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

AMKC wrote: »
    @OP. Hello. Your name is not Lisa by any chance it it? Just thought Id ask. You never know I could be right.

Is your name Frank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Arseholes.

Arse biscuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Rave.ef wrote: »
    Always do onto others as others do to you

The full version is.. "do unto others as you would have them do unto you" and it works well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Huge you say?
    There would a couple thousand clients yea dating back. People come in after years away.

The business has been operating since 1933.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,846 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Is your name Frank?

No not Frank go again. I do however know someone who's name is Frank.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Francisco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"Give me my Title Deeds'

No hi or please off this species. She didn't even identify herself. I'm suppossed to know who she is. Our client index is huge.

Depends on what you do:

If you're an estage agent you have a point.
    If you're a professional Monopoly player, you're over-reacting.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

AMKC wrote: »
    No not Frank go again. I do however know someone who's name is Frank.

Two lesbians each trying to work out how to hit on the other. The first one makes the move...
    "Look, I've been watching you for a while, and I want to be frank, I -"
    "NO, I want to be Frank! You can be John!"

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

I'll usually go out of my way to be rude back. I know, two wrongs and all that, but no way is someone pig ignorant going to benefit from any nice pleasantries and unchallenging behaviours from me. Be a dick, expect to meet many dicks who can dick twice as bad, I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

Best one EVER:

A US type in Aeroport Charles dear Gaulle in Paris turns up at an Air France check in desk, after her plane had closed for departure.

Went on a complete rant when told she's too late for the plane and it was gone. She even started ranting about being a US citizen.

Air France lady takes out make-up bag. Mirror. Does her lipstick. Files nails. Completely ignored the ranting passenger while adjusting her hair and just generally being totally aloof.

American lady : rant ... Rant ... Rant

Air France lady : "Madame: are you quite finished? If you prefer, I can go for a little coffee and you can continue shouting at this sign. Or, you can behave like an adult an I can look into finding a solution and getting you a different flight!

"It's up to you!"

She calmed down!

It's not the worst approach to dealing with a complete **** of a customer.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

doolox wrote: »
    Biggest drawbacks were rude women looking for non-existent or badly described goods or items and getting annoyed when their strange requests were not understood or responded to.
    I saw a documentary about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭lardzeppelin

Give these thankless bastards a month of work in a fast paced, high pressure, 'living wage' zero hour contract job....see what the cut of their jib is like after that...
    Please and thank you costs nothing, but it can make someone else's day a whole lot better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

The punter sounds ridiculously up her own arse about owning a property OP, there is a particularly vile and pig ignorant Hyacinth Bucket type among the middle classes that think they're something they're not in this country, do these type of people realise they are going to die like everybody else?

Even if I was a millionaire I'd still be cognisant that there are billionaires and I'm essentially no more important than the guy cleaning the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Plague Maiden

"Give me my Title Deeds'

I work in a small law firm. Well used to people like that speaking to me. For a long time we put up with it because we were just starting out and my boss wanted to build up a solid client base.

But one day he overheard a particularly angry client letting loose. Later in the evening he popped out and said "don't ever let any of our client's speak like that to you again. We're up and running and we can afford to lose people like that". I didn't need to be told twice.

Now I don't put up with it. I'm very polite but if they overstep the mark then it's show time. I'm never rude, or raise my voice or anything like that. I'm just very, very firm with people. I don't given them an inch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

What the OP didn't mention is that this woman's husband and child were killed in a car crash last month, and she herself is suffering from terminal cancer with only months to live.

Shame on you, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

I work in a small law firm. Well used to people like that speaking to me. For a long time we put up with it because we were just starting out and my boss wanted to build up a solid client base.

But one day he overheard a particularly angry client letting loose. Later in the evening he popped out and said "don't ever let any of our client's speak like that to you again. We're up and running and we can afford to lose people like that". I didn't need to be told twice.

Now I don't put up with it. I'm very polite but if they overstep the mark then it's show time. I'm never rude, or raise my voice or anything like that. I'm just very, very firm with people. I don't given them an inch.

Im a solicitor and it happens from time to time certain clients will talk down/abruptly with reception or one of our secretarial staff but when the call is transfered to me or if im dealing with them directly they are all nice and polite etc

It doesn't register that their double standards will not get noted in an office.