Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dirty Dancing or Grease Theme Dance Class for Hen

• 30-05-2018 4:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭

Can't decide, so putting it out there!!!.....

which would be better Dirty Dancing or Grease for a dance class for a hen I'm organising?? Mixed ages going to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭GingerLily

Dirty dancing! Both sound fun though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭cant26

Neither! Sounds absolutely cringe....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I did a thriller one it was fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

Personally I would absolutely cringe and really dislike both (love both films). I hate organised fun like that but I assume its going to be either so maby put it on the toss of a coin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

cant26 wrote: »

Couldn’t bear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭StarBright01

cant26 wrote: »

its a hen, everything hen related is normally cringe! :D All for a bit of fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

Could you do a quick informal poll with your friends to see what the general consensus is?

I'd vote for grease personally! Both sound cringy but fun :) Grease is probably better for a group of women though. I feel with dirty dancing you'd each need a male partner to make the most it, but doubt they supply a lot of men...

woodchuck wrote: »
    Could you do a quick informal poll with your friends to see what the general consensus is?

I'd vote for grease personally! Both sound cringy but fun :) Grease is probably better for a group of women though. I feel with dirty dancing you'd each need a male partner to make the most it, but doubt they supply a lot of men...

Good point!! :D both incredibly cringy but hey it is a hen party afterall! What the bride wants she shall get ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭MattressRick

How come hens have so much forced fun? Stags are like 2 nights out in a row with a mild activity or day in the pub in between.
    Girls go on normal nights out in towns and cities at the weekends, then why do they organise so much ****e for hens? Hit the pub, forget the dancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭jluv

I love both movies but I would go with the Grease one if mixed ages. Now...you need to get a DJ to play a song to go with the dance they've learned later on in the evening in order to make this a success:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭SarahS2013

its a hen, everything hen related is normally cringe! :D All for a bit of fun

Not my hen. Not a costume, willy straw or feather boa in sight.

I'm allergic to tacky hen parties. As both a bride and a guest.

SarahS2013 wrote: »
    Not my hen. Not a costume, willy straw or feather boa in sight.

I'm allergic to tacky hen parties. As both a bride and a guest.

I normally hate hen parties. I'd be mortified if I was made wear a costume or had willy straws etc.

But this actually sounds like fun :)
    How come hens have so much forced fun? Stags are like 2 nights out in a row with a mild activity or day in the pub in between.
    Girls go on normal nights out in towns and cities at the weekends, then why do they organise so much ****e for hens? Hit the pub, forget the dancing.

Does a dance class not count as a mild activity? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Tbh a hens and wedding is expensive enough without the added expense of a dance class. Keep it simple and as inexpensive as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

If it's definitely happening, I think Grease would be much more craic than Dirty Dancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Lots of people seem to do this organised shite these days without asking if anyone actually wants to do it. I'd hate this as an activity, i'd just skip it and turn up at the meal. Most of the women I know that have been on hens would just rather meal and drinks.

Because my hen is going to be my one and only hen and it must be the most original fun funny fun of any hens event in the history of hens.
    No other hens before or after will ever be so much fun.
    Because this whole getting married thing is a competion in Ireland only to be matched with the competion that is giving your firstborn a unique moniker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭aisling86

Was at a hen two weeks ago & no planned activities it was brilliant.

aisling86 wrote: »
    Was at a hen two weeks ago & no planned activities it was brilliant.

How on earth did a bunch of adult women manage to enjoy themselves for 24 hours without being told where to go and what to do?!? The mind boggles!!!

eviltwin wrote: »
    Tbh a hens and wedding is expensive enough without the added expense of a dance class. Keep it simple and as inexpensive as possible.

Its working out pretty cheap thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Yenwod

I've been to two hens where there was a burlesque-style dance class. One was in the morning and so not a drop of drink taken and was so cringey - nobody looked like they were having fun. The other was in the evening so everyone was a bit tipsy and seemed to be enjoying it but it's not really my thing so I didn't particularly like it but it was fine as I somewhat hid by taking photos for the bride.

Another hen though, we did a Thriller dance class and it was absolutely hilarious. We had to dress up as zombies and just generally act the eejit. Everyone loved it to the point that there were a few who didn't want to do the activity but came along anyway to watch and once they saw the fun we had, actually asked could they pay there & then and join in.

I think a lot of these things just depend on the group of people and the general vibe that is happening. It can be very difficult to successfully "organise fun"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Was talking to a friend last week just back from a hen and their activity was “draw a naked man” with a man posing.

Death would surely be a release from this type of stuff.

anewme wrote: »
    Was talking to a friend last week just back from a hen and their activity was “draw a naked man” with a man posing.

Death would surely be a release from this type of stuff.

I would have to excuse myself from this and confront whoever organized it even if it caused a row that ruined the hens and ended a friendship. I wonder if this was a “surprise” or was it made clear beforehand?
    If this was a stag weekend and the boot was on the other foot then there would be uproar about the degradation of the girl posing for sneering and belittling.
    Is this what girl power is now? Is this feminism?
    I can’t think of anything more infantile and vulgar and it’s disappointing that adult women would go along with it even though they really couldn’t have wanted to.

anewme wrote: »

So... a life drawing class?
    splinter65 wrote: »
    I can’t think of anything more infantile and vulgar and it’s disappointing that adult women would go along with it even though they really couldn’t have wanted to.

Life drawing classes are very common in the art world. I've gone to a few and you get both men and women posing. It's all very professional.

I did one at a hen once. The activity had been kept secret and I was pleasantly surprised (because I like art!). However there was of course some immature tittering in the group. The model went along with it by flirting a little and flexing his muscles (not as part of the pose).

So while I have no issues with life drawing in general, it probably is a little inappropriate for a hen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

splinter65 wrote: »
    I would have to excuse myself from this and confront whoever organized it even if it caused a row that ruined the hens and ended a friendship. I wonder if this was a “surprise” or was it made clear beforehand?
    If this was a stag weekend and the boot was on the other foot then there would be uproar about the degradation of the girl posing for sneering and belittling.
    Is this what girl power is now? Is this feminism?

It was a “surprise” rather than made clear beforehand.

The person who I know that went did not know till it happened, in fact none of them did and said the guy was having a great laugh about it and wiggling his ass and posing this way and that trying to get them them to laugh, but no one did because they were all like wtf. Apparently it was not a success.

The girl who was telling us about it said it was just embarrassing.. She was telling two of us in work about it. I had never heard of such crap before but the other girl had heard of it recently so it must be the current fad.

Who would want to go to that, seriously?

At least the Grease or Dirty Dancing theme classes are harmless although they would not be my thing.

The only hens I will go to now is dinner and drinks in town and club.

Though I’m mostly past the weddings, on the divorce parties now. When I get to the wake stage I’ll get worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭GingerLily

I like a group activity, it's something that everyone can get involved in, and even if it's a little odd it gives everyone attending something to talk about later, which is great for people who might not know many people.

Just heading to the pub is grand if your all already best mates but it can be isolating if your not!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Mod note: Please stick to the OP’s question, thanks :). I know there are a lot of strong opinions around hen parties and activities, so maybe someone would like to start a new thread to discuss that? I’m concerned that the OP might feel attacked by people criticising things in her thread that she never suggested.