Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broke or had to fix

• 21-05-2018 2:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭

What was the last thing you broke or had to fix?

For me it was a hinge on the back window of the tractor, snapped on opening.

As the saying goes the only way you’re not going to break things is by doing nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

twisted the swan neck drawbar on the l200 last weekend pulling a pan mixer on a chassis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Bashed in the front nose grill of the Massey with a sceach while widening a gateway last week.
    I'll have to replace it.
    I have one light facing one way and another a different way.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Hydraulic pump on fiat 110-90 will have to be replaced.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Drawing in bales on saturday, one arm of the bale lifter cracked the weld lifting the second bale, so had to go borrow a neighbours. Will have to cut out the box and re weld and add a bit of heavy plate and see if it stands up to the job. Was a Heavy Duty Fleming too!!

Somehow managed to pull the plug off a 7 pin lighting bar, not looking forward to figuring that out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DX85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,281 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

blue5000 wrote: »
    Hydraulic pump on fiat 110-90 will have to be replaced.

Was in the local place today, fellow has them pumps for about 130 euro. (QTP or some such make)
    Then he offered me a David Brown pump as a replacement for the Fiat.
    Claims its exactly the same size and fitting pump, but 50% more output than the Fiat one.
    It's 50 euro more.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Was in the local place today, fellow has them pumps for about 130 euro. (QTP or some such make)
    Claims its exactly the same size and fitting pump, but 50% more output than the Fiat one.
    It's 50 euro more.

Found one in Finland! €85 incl shipping, a 45L one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Who2

Something new everyday. My list could be never ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Farmer on the side of the road prodding at the seized engine of his tractor. An old drunk comes up to him and asks what the problem is. “Piston broke” replies the farmer. Oh I know the feeling says the drunk....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Replaced a corroded brake hose on my 3090 at the weekend. It went right under the cab. Ised the flrxi hose instead of forming a new metal one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Somehow managed to pull the plug off a 7 pin lighting bar, not looking forward to figuring that out..

Quick search on google images will give you the colours and corresponding numbers on the plug. Very handy do once ya have it in front of you.

Met our local truck mechanic last Saturday, and he pulled up for a chat.
    Then his phone rang.
    A man driving a Volvo horsebox had some strange light lit on the dash.
    It had been on in Sligo, and he had thought it was a "low water " signal so he added water.
    Now he was in Cavan and some other warning light had also come on.

With a bit of questioning it turned out he had managed to add the water to the sump, not the radiator!
    " Lord God" says the mechanic, how much did you add?
    "Ah, about 3 watering cans" came the reply!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

Some lads would bend a crow bar in a bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭Good loser

The little yoke that locks the foot brakes on the F 35. It had lasted (me) 43 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭moll3

replaced a spline collor on the drive shaft to front axel next job front bushings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Met our local truck mechanic last Saturday, and he pulled up for a chat.
    Then his phone rang.
    A man driving a Volvo horsebox had some strange light lit on the dash.
    It had been on in Sligo, and he had thought it was a "low water " signal so he added water.
    Now he was in Cavan and some other warning light had also come on.

With a bit of questioning it turned out he had managed to add the water to the sump, not the radiator!
    " Lord God" says the mechanic, how much did you add?
    "Ah, about 3 watering cans" came the reply!

Now that's how to turn water into whine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Spent the day cutting out rotten sections of galv piping uprights in the neighbours milking parlour and welding in new pieces.
    Tomorrow morning I have to see why the drivers electric window has stopped working on my LR Defender.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

It’s a defender miracle it worked for a while.

Jimmy Dags wrote: »
    It’s a defender miracle it worked for a while.

13 yrs actually. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Reversed Fert spreader into a van parked in the yard this morning. It’s in complete shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Grueller

Reversed Fert spreader into a van parked in the yard this morning. It’s in complete shyte.

Oh b*llox. The van or the spreader?

Grueller wrote: »

Probably both and the next insurance renewal quote as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Say the van is alright but spreader is ****ed. Impossible to see behind ya if spreader is lifted any height off the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭Grueller

Say the van is alright but spreader is ****ed. Impossible to see behind ya if spreader is lifted any height off the ground

Especially if something is parked where there usually isn't anything. Auld lad here years ago parked an auld golf belonging to me in the middle of the yard where nothing would ever be parked, went in got some tea, back out and up on the tractor to go spread a few load of slurry and backed straight into the back of the golf. She was worth about £200 at the time so we just scrapped her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Door on one of the stables is fecked from a ram headbutting it :o

The van thank god.

Probably both and the next insurance renewal quote as well.

The van got the works. Fully insured and handed over to ins co. No excess or loading on policy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Especially if something is parked where there usually isn't anything. Auld lad here years ago parked an auld golf belonging to me in the middle of the yard where nothing would ever be parked, went in got some tea, back out and up on the tractor to go spread a few load of slurry and backed straight into the back of the golf. She was worth about £200 at the time so we just scrapped her.
    Lad that worked here years ago reversed the slurry tank into the vets new golf. Did a lot of damage. He also hit a car in local town with our tractor and hid on a lane way after. Guards were waiting in our yard for him when he came back. I don't care who breaks what as long as I'm told when it's done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Broke PTO shaft going to mini-muck on Saturday. It had been bent close to the knuckle for a couple of years, but parted company completely. I have one that for the life of me I can't figure what piece of machinery it originally came with so I will get it shortened to fit and will be away again in a couple of days.

My (very) old fertilizer spreader also died earlier in the week but it was held together with silage tape, string and the power of prayer. Just got the last of the bags out and now have to decide if I'll bother getting a new(ish) one or just pay a lad to do the spreading for me - I only use it 3/4 days a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Jimmy Dags wrote: »
    Some lads would bend a crow bar in a bog.

I worked with some characters in my time in bord na mona. so many stories, but my favourite was the lad that would rev the engine up to the 1000 rpm mark for the pto, and then engage the pto. and he wondered why he was breaking sheer pins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭White Clover

I worked with some characters in my time in bord na mona. so many stories, but my favourite was the lad that would rev the engine up to the 1000 rpm mark for the pto, and then engage the pto. and he wondered why he was breaking sheer pins!

What he was doing was blackguarding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

My favorite from a few years ago:

Before:

451377.jpg

After:

451378.jpg

Only now getting back to where I was with it.

Holy sh1t Maidhc, that was some sickener.
    At least the 190 escaped.......

Was it a 4000 Maidhc? What's it like now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Aravo

Have a fertiliser spreader here that was bought of a person retiring. Have used it a couple of times but not recently as a shear bolt broke on the PTO shaft twice. What would be the likely cause. Not being run hard or anything with a 75hp tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

I was going spreading dung for a lad one time and he went out with the first load to show me where to spread it. The sequence when we got into the field was:
    Leave it in high 3rd gear
    Rev engine to 2200rpm
    Wonder why its not spreading, realise PTO not engaged
    Slap PTO on and drop clutch (high 3rd!) at the same time :eek::eek::eek::eek:

He was a hard man on machinery! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

Was it a 4000 Maidhc? What's it like now?

I kind of abandoned it in disgust for two years. I put it back on four wheels and backed it into a corner of the shed. I did up the 4600 instead!

I got a steering box for it a few weeks ago, and a replacement dash over the winter. Just need to get a new diesel tank (the one that was on it was brand new...) and I might go back at it again.

It will live to fight another day, it is a tractor that has no work done really and there was no real damage done to it.

maidhc wrote: »
    I kind of abandoned it in disgust for two years. I put it back on four wheels and backed it into a corner of the shed. I did up the 4600 instead!

I got a steering box for it a few weeks ago, and a replacement dash over the winter. Just need to get a new diesel tank (the one that was on it was brand new...) and I might go back at it again.

It will live to fight another day, it is a tractor that has no work done really and there was no real damage done to it.

Lucky enough nothing cracked so. Anyone would be disgusted after that, hopefully you'll get it finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Went to set up paddock for this evening and ballcock was broken in the drinker. It's probably been overflowing for 3 weeks. Hate fixing them. Ball on old one was full of water so replaced that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Old vicon spreader had the top bearing go and I was behind in spreading so I just kept the hopper full to reduce vibration. It was a bad move as the plate for regulating spreading rate loosened and dropped with fertiliser spilling out. Back to the yard emptied the spreader and got the angle grinder to cut siezed bolts to take it apart. It's back in one piece again and back working.

It's 50 euro more.
    Found one in Finland! €85 incl shipping, a 45L one.

I think santy lives in Finland for the summer:cool:
    If anyone is after a new spool pack/pump/hydraulic motor etc. look up Metkoff Oy in Finland, ordered on Monday, arrived today. They're on fleabay as well https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/arshydro/m.html?ssPageName=&_trksid=p2057872.m2748.l2654

451620.jpg

451621.jpg

Serious value there, Blue .
    Love the letterbox ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Does it do popcorn ;)

ganmo wrote: »
    Does it do popcorn ;)

A day like today a few might pop alright.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Loaned a neighbour a tool with a two stroke engine, and a container of fuel mixed ready to go.

Get a call a few days later that there must be water in the fuel. Cue I get more fuel mixed and drop it over.

Turns out he was leaving the choke half on as that's what he does with his 30 yo chainsaw.

Now she cuts out after an hour's work presumably from overheating (I have no idea, not mechanically minded, will bring it back to man I bought it off and hope it's fixable).

I wouldn't mind but I can't even get mad because he helps me out so much, that's the really frustrating part!

Had a serious day yesterday. First pulled the exhaust on the 398 trying to get in too close to trees, (I think I didn’t tighten the clamp properly last time I was working on it) I just pushed it back down and headed off mowing. After a few acres I could smell burning. Pulled up and realized the end of the exhaust had leaned into the cab and burnt the front of the top of the cab. I done a temporary fix and set off cutting the rest. On the back sward of the last round I hit a stone and fired it straight through the rh door. Heading home then and the tractor started losing power and was struggling to drive on. I got back to the yard parked it up and it’ll stay there till I’m in a bit better form. It goes to show €25an acre isn’t bad money to pay a contractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,375 ✭✭✭emaherx

Me.....

Had some bad fish on Thursday, haven't been able to move since. And there is grass cut, was ment to bale yesterday. Got my brother to thed out, hopefully get some hay instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭mengele

Who2 wrote: »
    Had a serious day yesterday. First pulled the exhaust on the 398 trying to get in too close to trees, (I think I didn’t tighten the clamp properly last time I was working on it) I just pushed it back down and headed off mowing. After a few acres I could smell burning. Pulled up and realized the end of the exhaust had leaned into the cab and burnt the front of the top of the cab. I done a temporary fix and set off cutting the rest. On the back sward of the last round I hit a stone and fired it straight through the rh door. Heading home then and the tractor started losing power and was struggling to drive on. I got back to the yard parked it up and it’ll stay there till I’m in a bit better form. It goes to show €25an acre isn’t bad money to pay a contractor.

The poor tractor had it tough

Who2 wrote: »
    Had a serious day yesterday. First pulled the exhaust on the 399

Heading home then and the tractor started losing power

If your exhaust was leaking around the manifold, you could have the air filter blocked with soot, would lead to the tractor losing power. ( usually choke you with black smoke)

I reckon that’s a lot of the problem, there’s probably a good drop of diesel in around it too as I had filled it with 5 gallon drums and no funnel fish as well. All done in a rush but done nothing but slow me down.