Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you like Daniel O'Donnell to be our next president?

• 15-05-2018 7:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭

Would you like Daniel O'Donnell to be out next president?

Would you like Daniel O'Donnell to be our next president? 36 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭seanrambo87

Hell yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,065 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

No and that's a definite NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

I'd say Majella would be the better option of the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

About time his work on catholic emancipation was appreciated

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I'd prefer Eoin McLove tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Mrsmum wrote: »
    I'd say Majella would be the better option of the two.

Are they not the same person ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Are they not the same person ?

Yeah, see what you mean.

No definitely not. Thankfully he'd never do it as he earns too much money on the road.

I want Michael D for another term.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I don't even want him in the country, never mind be president of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Is the little fella staying on or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Not especially, but I would prefer him to Bertie, Craughwell, and possibly Mairead McGuinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

A sure goonouttadat make him President.
    On second thoughts make him taoiseach. He cant balls things up any worse than the ninny whos in place at the moment.

Zaph wrote: »
    I don't even want him in the country, never mind be president of it.

Would you think about it yourself ?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Would you think about it yourself ?

Well I'm going to need a campaign manager. You up for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Weeee Daniel!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

At least he wouldn't need a booster seat in the back of the car.

Zaph wrote: »
    Well I'm going to need a campaign manager. You up for it?

Am I ? I'd like to be assistant deputy campaign manager , not just ordinary campaign manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rtron

I said to my missus a while ago, would it be mad to want to go to see dod. He's a freekin legend like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We remember what you bastards did to Ned Stark.

We know no king but the King in the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Put it this way, I would vote for Wee Daniel before Louise O Neill.
    Having said that, he wouldn't be an ideal president.

But who is ? - it's a figurehead position, nothing like An Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I don’t think you can be president if you’ve had a criminal record.

He’s had a good few of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

He would be better than Denis O'Brien.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Put it this way, I would vote for Wee Daniel before Louise O Neill.
    Having said that, he wouldn't be an ideal president.

But who is ? - it's a figurehead position, nothing like An Taoiseach.

I think we have a good track record here. You want a likeable figurehead with some sort knowledge or background in law or the Oireachtas. Not an essential obviously, but that's probably the ideal candidate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Better than Ahern anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Must be the most famous Irish singer that most people couldn't name one song sung by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Dustin the Turkey or Bertie no to any thick country vegetables.

Must be the most famous Irish singer that most people couldn't name one song sung by them.

That's cos they all sound the same.
    Only has one note,bless him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

rtron wrote: »
    I said to my missus a while ago, would it be mad to want to go to see dod. He's a freekin legend like.

To mention it during sex was the weird(er) part.

PARlance wrote: »
    To mention it during sex was the weird(er) part.

Husband and wife posters ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,880 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Don't even ****ing think things like this. Forming the thoughts gives it a chance to happen.

Why would you even ask this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Prefer Daniel over Miriam!

I like Daniel and Majella. They seem like a really happy couple who found each other a bit on the late side. I watch them doing their b&b thing and think if my wife and I are as happy they are when we’re their age I’ll be delighted.

I’d pay good money to hear him let out a few Fuc€s and Sh;ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No

Michael D is doing a wonderful job and I hope he gets reelected. Daniel O'Donnell has no poiitical experience.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I have it on very good evidence that the staff up in the Aras are praying that Michael D. will NOT run again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I have it on very good evidence that the staff up in the Aras are praying that Michael D. will NOT run again.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I don't think higgins will run again the hobbit movies take up a lot of his time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Would be very progressive to have a gay Taoiseach and a gay president.

Think we ve moved beyond gayness now, transgender is where it's at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No, no, no.

First thing we should do is look west across the Atlantic and see what happens when idiots vote in people who are in the public domain for no other reason other than their celebrity status. Daniel himself said he has no interest because he doesn’t feel he’s clever enough for the job. Fair play for how honest he is.

We see daily how embarrassing is is for us to have so many TDs speaking and they have no intelligence noticeable.

When the candidates are revealed we should really be looking at their intellectual capacity and not just rely on their popularly factor.

This should be the case with all political votes and maybe we could raise the collective IQ in the dail and not just vote in cute hoors who know nothing only stroke politics.

It wont be long until that becomes a reason to vote for some people.

_Brian wrote: »
    No, no, no.

First thing we should do is look west across the Atlantic and see what happens when idiots vote in people who are in the public domain for no other reason other than their celebrity status. Daniel himself said he has no interest because he doesn’t feel he’s clever enough for the job. Fair play for how honest he is.

We see daily how embarrassing is is for us to have so many TDs speaking and they have no intelligence noticeable.

When the candidates are revealed we should really be looking at their intellectual capacity and not just rely on their popularly factor.

This should be the case with all political votes and maybe we could raise the collective IQ in the dail and not just vote in cute hoors who know nothing only stroke politics.

The President of Ireland dosen't have to do anything, just read out loud sometimes and cut the odd ribbon.

Micky D seems fierce affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Why?

He's a classic champagne socialist.

Sharp guy actually, but being a lefty myself, I'm gonna say that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The President of Ireland dosen't have to do anything, just read out loud sometimes and cut the odd ribbon.

The president represents us at many state functions at home and abroad.
    We don’t want some rambling empty headed fool for that job, what would Daniel bring to the job - I suppose he could break into a CW tune. Or maybe talk about his tour of second rate Irish b&bs

One of the long standing problems in Ireland is we’ve not provided ourselves with a high enough standard of public representatives. Because someone is friendly and seems nice doesn’t mean they are public representatives.

Let’s donourselves justice and aim a bit higher than a washed up singer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Yes, I hate the way that Presidential elections seem to be viewed by some people as celebrity contests. All these stupid suggestions of RTE personalities etc. I remember last time around someone on another forum wondering, in all seriousness, if Mickey Harte would run and someone else saying they'd vote for him in a shot.

The President mightn't have any say in how the country is run, but he is publicly representing the people of Ireland and needs to have experience of public affairs, protocol, speech delivery etc as well as an ability to read and understand complex legislation and have intelligent and meaningful discussions with other Heads of State.

Sports personalities, entertainers, and so on usually have none of the above.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

rtron wrote: »
    You bastard don't remind me

I'm still upset about Ken Dodd :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Daniel O'Donnell has no poiitical experience.
    Maybe we could appoint him as ambassador to Pluto ?