Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballcocks for watertroughs

• 14-05-2018 12:53pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Must do a bit of revamp on water troughs .what ballcocks do ye have.i got the troughs with rojo but they are a bit of balls if any bit of grit gets in the line.we have manganese in one well and it flakes off the pipes in any disturbance and next thing you a leaking triugh.with the old type ballocks- they block quickly with it then.tried phikmac high flow but the arms keep getting cracked if water goes kow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭grange mac

K.G. wrote: »
    Must do a bit of revamp on water troughs .what ballcocks do ye have.i got the troughs with rojo but they are a bit of balls if any bit of grit gets in the line.we have manganese in one well and it flakes off the pipes in any disturbance and next thing you a leaking triugh.with the old type ballocks- they block quickly with it then.tried phikmac high flow but the arms keep getting cracked if water goes kow

I have normal brass ballcocks, but I opened all them and changed the insert from white to red. They cost 50c each and trible water flow. Or else new brass ballcocks from south coast have a large white insert in them now which does same thing for 10.00. Days of old tiny white insert are gone.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Id say the flow is too small out of those type.even today the cows were keeping the rojo going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

As other poster mentioned change the insert to the wider one on the standard brass ballcock.

Other option is to get the brass low pressure Ballcock. They work quite well ime

Tried the philmac high volume one and did not work very well. Now removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

49801 wrote: »
    As other poster mentioned change the insert to the wider one on the standard brass ballcock.

Other option is to get the brass low pressure Ballcock. They work quite well ime

Have a couple of the high volume ones here. Find it Very hard to get them to seal. Cost €40 a pop as well I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭visatorro

Cavanjack wrote: »
    49801 wrote: »

Have a couple of the high volume ones here. Find it Very hard to get them to seal. Cost €40 a pop as well I think.

Seen lads giving out before that if you have good pressure going to trough it needs a long arm on the ball cock to be able to seal it. I have one bottom fill tank close to the pump and it regularly overflows, have to give the float a little pull for it to seal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭cjpm

Had the black and green Philmac ones. Mounted low in the troughs with a length of stainless steel wire to the float. They used to be a bitch for leaking until I replaced the 4" floats with 5" ones. Working away fine since. Buy blue floats. The uv light wrecks the orange ones over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Ya long arm and large float required for philmac black and green ones.

I reckon the low pressure traditional brass ones are just as good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

visatorro wrote: »
    Seen lads giving out before that if you have good pressure going to trough it needs a long arm on the ball cock to be able to seal it. I have one bottom fill tank close to the pump and it regularly overflows, have to give the float a little pull for it to seal.

I've two with the arms bent so much that the full ball is in the water and they still won't seal. No dirt on the seal and everything else looks fine.

Just out of curiosty what kind of numbers of cows are ye keeping water to with the old style ballcocks with the big nozzle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Hagimalone

grange mac wrote:
    I have normal brass ballcocks, but I opened all them and changed the insert from white to red. They cost 50c each and trible water flow. Or else new brass ballcocks from south coast have a large white insert in them now which does same thing for 10.00. Days of old tiny white insert are gone.

Tried several agri, hardware & online shops but can't find the red inserts anywhere. Any idea of make or who may supply them.

Got an old type ballcock the other day but it looks about twice the size of the normal ones with a big long arm on it.fitted it to a bottom fill trough and seem s ok .the ball goes straight on the long arm with no string so we see how it goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭grange mac

Hagimalone wrote: »
    Tried several agri, hardware & online shops but can't find the red inserts anywhere. Any idea of make or who may supply them.

Irish international trading in cork.....or try coop for new brass philmac ones with low vol white insert in then...if can't find them have 2 spare here...in car last year lol...