Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society- Dundrum-May 19th-12:30pm

• 06-05-2018 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭

Hi Lads
    Sticking with the munster theme again this year :rolleyes::D.......we are heading to Tipperary next for another fine course.Dundrum is a very mature parkland course with alot of great holes.I have played here a good few times not being too far away and its a great test.It's alot tougher than castlemartyr and with the weather picking up we should be hitting it at the perfect time.For anyone who is thinking about the extra few minutes drive it is well worth the journey(under 2 hours for the dubs):eek:
    Kevin Markham gives this a very respectable 86 out of 100 on his review.....
    The leaderboard made a few big changes last outing with Kiers47 getting his first boards win under the belt,Doublecross back to usual form in 2nd and SSBob choking with a big score again on 18 and blowing it:mad:to take third spot.
    We only have 7 accepted on teamer with only 2 weeks to go so come on lads and make a push to make this outing a competitive day out.
    The cost of this outing is back to our normal 35euros for members and 45euros for visitors.
    Talk soon
    PP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭a post punk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭kennethrhcp

hey lads, i'm not 100% on this yet sorry. I just had to remove myself from the bruen panel for this coming weekend. I was in adare manor Friday (as I'm sure I boasted about in castlemartyr :) ) for a round & took a ball to the head on the 5th. Didn't pass out thank feck but got split open & a concussion. not sure when i'll be ok to play as I'm getting dizzy when i'm up & walking.

the course is amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

hey lads, i'm not 100% on this yet sorry. I just had to remove myself from the bruen panel for this coming weekend. I was in adare manor Friday (as I'm sure I boasted about in castlemartyr :) ) for a round & took a ball to the head on the 5th. Didn't pass out thank feck but got split open & a concussion. not sure when i'll be ok to play as I'm getting dizzy when i'm up & walking.

the course is amazing!

Jesus Kenneth that's rough. Get well soon.

PS. I hope you got to finish he round? :D

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95568320&postcount=81

I put up a pretty decent course guide here a few years ago for anyone that hasn't played before.

Didn't do me much good on the day. Was probably the worst round of golf I've played in about 5 years that day. Haha

*Added proper link previous one only pointed to the thread.

kiers47 wrote: »
    Jesus Kenneth that's rough. Get well soon.

PS. I hope you got to finish he round? :D

I did not... was taken away in an ambulance & spent the night in hospital.

I told the lads with me to finish out but I think they were all in shock at the state of me & they followed along to the hospital

I did not... was taken away in an ambulance & spent the night in hospital.

I told the lads with me to finish out but I think they were all in shock at the state of me & they followed along to the hospital

****.. I would say could be worse but I'm not sure.
    Hopefully you'll be back out soon.

****.. I would say could be worse but I'm not sure.
    Hopefully you'll be back out soon.

it really could have been! by chance I turned just before it hit & it caught me in the hard part of the forehead instead of temple/side of my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭benny79

Jesus, Sorry to hear that Ken! You should make sure you get honorary membership of Adare for that!! At least... and we can have a boards outing there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

benny79 wrote: »
    Jesus, Sorry to hear that Ken! You should make sure you get honorary membership of Adare for that!! At least... and we can have a boards outing there ;)

An outing!

F that. And I bet they didn't even shout fore! Humongous claim coming here, huge payout. We can all get a distance membership out of this.

Ken, you took one for the team.

In all seriousness though, sounds horrible, hope you recover quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Sorry lads - my social calendar is kicking in big time so will have to miss this event. I really enjoy this course so if you have not played it before, you really need to try and get there! It's a good test of golf no matter what the tees.

I'm going to give this 1 a miss lads, sorry! might put my name down on my home course for sat morning & see how it goes.

have a great day!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Have had it confirmed that I have to work at the weekend so can't make it.

Sorry for the late notice captain, having a bad run with the timing of the last couple of outings

Was really hoping to play this as it is my home course in all but actual fact as it is the closest course to me. Something has come up so im going to have to give it a miss.
    I might try and play the open singles on Friday. If i do i will report back on the course condition as it was pretty bad the last time i played it. But it was in the height of the winter and all the flooding. So it was to be expected.

In any case i will plug my previous course guide again for anyone that hasnt played before.
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95568320&postcount=81

Enjoy the course and day out.

I’ll get the timesheet up tomorrow lads , looking like 10 people at most for the moment so may only be 3 groups.

12.30- Jarietta-Woodyg-Tigerwood1
    12.38-Break80-Doublecross-Timgolfer
    12.46-Benny79-CharlieIRL-Paulos53-A Post Punk

Weather is good at the moment lads for Saturday so fingers crossed.
    PP

Any Chance we can make are 4 ball 2 two balls Post? Just for speed of play.. As it being a late enough Tee time. No Hassle if not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭doublecross

Any Chance we can make are 4 ball 2 two balls Post? Just for speed of play.. As it being a late enough Tee time. No Hassle if not.

I don't think making it a two ball will help, you'll have 3 and 4 balls out in front all morning.

I was thinking in front of the 3 balls, no big deal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

12.30- Jarietta-Woodyg-Tigerwood1
    12.38-Break80-Doublecross-Timgolfer
    12.46-Benny79-CharlieIRL-Paulos53-A Post Punk

Weather is good at the moment lads for Saturday so fingers crossed.
    PP

Apologies, I won't get down, I forgot to change on teamer

Serious points up for grabs here. :cool:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Serious points up for grabs here. :cool:

True, am raging I can't go, love Dundrum as well.

My oldest has trials for an U17 National League soccer team Saturday and the following Sunday so can't miss them (Why weren't they the other way around?:mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Sorry folks, I've been holding off on my acceptance till the last minute and unfortunately I am also going to have to miss this one due to family commitments. When I was captain I had Dundrum on the list of outings so was actually really looking forward to getting back there, we even spent the weekend there last time around.
    To make it even worse, next month clashes with the wife's birthday and 10 year wedding anniversary so will miss that also.

Hail rain or shine and barring a national disaster, I will be at the final 3 outings though :)

Enjoy Saturday

3 by 3 balls it is now and a top ten finish for everyone.:) ye are missing out on a great course!!

Be a top 3 finish for some ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭jarrieta

Looking forward to my first outing this year, not will be able to make many as will be out a few of them.

Thanks Captain!

Great weather this evening lads at the driving range in Tipp :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 timgolfer

Really sorry lads I thought it was next weekend ! The misses will kill me now if I change all the weekend plans! Gutted I won’t be playing in this good weather we have. See you next trip.

Jeez lads are dropping like flies..... only 8 playing now !very unusual for middle of the year summer golf. Serious points up for grabs now. My moneys on tiger to pounce tomorrow:) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

Jeez lads are dropping like flies..... only 8 playing now !very unusual for middle of the year summer golf. Serious points up for grabs now. My moneys on tiger to pounce tomorrow:) :)

4 balls now?
    Is there a range in Dundrum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Macker1

Enjoy the outing lads.......stuck in work all weekend so I'll have to look forward to the updates tomorrow evening.

woodyg wrote: »
    4 balls now?

There's a small range beside the 10th tee box. I think it is a less than 200yd range so no drivers. Haven't used it. Only jus seen it in passing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

There's a small range beside the 10th tee box. I think it is a less than 200yd range so no drivers. Haven't used it. Only jus seen it in passing

That will do nicely to stretch for a bit.

woodyg wrote: »

4 balls now?
    We’ll see in the morning woody what we’ll do. Not sure if there’s a range out there actually.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tigerwood1

Hold on to your money Punk it's too early for me i am still waiting for the majors:)..
    It's the smallest field i think we ever had for a boards outing i did'nt realise we had such a big royal following:D
    Benny i will pick you up 10:00 to 10:30.

I called it again lads, if only we ran a bookies on the winner:)
    1st Tigerwood 1- 33 points
    2nd benny79-32 points
    3rd jarietta-31 points
    Nearest the pin -doublecross
    Longest drive- paulos53

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Macker1

I called it again lads, if only we ran a bookies on the winner:)
    1st Tigerwood 1- 33 points
    2nd benny79-32 points
    3rd jarietta-31 points
    Nearest the pin -doublecross
    Longest drive- paulos53

The grim reaper and his handicap scythe will be out tonight boys. Keep clear :D:D:D

And the Tiger roars again!! word on the street is, He'll be off single figures the next outing that right Mr Secretary :D

I had the pleasure of playing with the 2 Rebels Break80 & Post Punk unfortunately just like a sunny day in Croke park they buckled under the pressure of 2 mighty Dubs! In myself & Tiger :D

Another very enjoyable day at a boards outing and the craic was had & with money on the line I pushed Tiger all the way to the 18th But when your playing against a lad who drives his ball deep into the trees only for his ball to run up a tree & shoot out onto the middle of the fairway you know his luck is in & boy did he get some luck :) & it wasn't going to be my day but I am delighted with second & the points :cool:

Positives - I had a chipping lesson Friday with the man who cant be named and boy did it pay off! and my chipping was brilliant and my confidence definitely growing! Money well spent. I left so many putts on the lip or just simed the hole on another day well...

Bad - Driving was totally out of sorts on the day which is unusual as I am normally a good driver of the ball & one of my strongest parts of my game. Typical with golf you improve on your weakness and your strong part deserts you! But I have a lot of confidence going forward..

Thanks to Post and all the lads for another great boards outing.. Looking forward to the next one in the Rebel County.. And congrats to Tiger least you didn't take any money off me :D Once a hustler always a hustler...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Gutted I didn't make it lads but I drank 5 pint bottles of cider for every 1 that attended :D
    I have been slashing all morning so you'll be glad to know that easy points means 6 of the 8 got cut - so nothing comes free in this life :P
    Roll on Mitchelstown - be great to be home!

Good day out in Dundrum even if the turnout was low. We had a great laugh in our four ball and tiger made a run on the back 9 that shows you cant keep a good man down. I thought the course was in great condition except for 1 or 2 greens. I had a poor day myself, the golf was all over the place and even if i hit a good shot i was behind a tree having to lay up or chip out sideways.my putter was ice cold which is normally my saviour on a bad day. The only highlight was the 12th where i putted from 10feet off the green to a back pin to make my first of only 2 pars on the day!! Sometimes i wonder will i ever play well enough at a boards outing to win one..... and if it does happen its a guarantee ill be celebrating!! (Heads up ss bob and kiers47 you will be driving home :)
    My first time playing with break 80, a fine steady golfer. Benny has taken top spot now on GOTY points and will be hard to catch by the wsy his form is the last few outings.
    Tiger is back to his real handicap now so his next outing will be interesting:)
    Talk soon lads
    PP
    Hopefully we double numbers for the next outing??