Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai: LGBT Liaison Officers?

• 30-04-2018 5:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭

So I need to report some rather menacing abuse I have received online because of my trans status - basically, I am receiving death threats from a troll who has become obsessed with me.

Today, I contacted my local garda station and asked to speak to their LGBT Liaison officer - the same one I had spoken to about 3 years ago - only to be informed that the position no longer existed.

So, I'm just curious if anyone knows if they still exist, as I will have to speak to whichever officer it is I make the report to face-to-face - and quite honestly, I'd rather speak to someone with training in transgender issues than just any old cop.

I did ask the officer whom I spoke to on the phone if he could put me in contact with an LGBT officer, only to be told that he didn't know of anything like that. And after an initial search online i can't really find anything like it in my area.

So any info would be appreciated.

Thanks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

The below link is the most up to date list of ELO/LGBT Liaison officers I can find, it was last updated in Feb 2017.

https://www.garda.ie/en/crime-prevention/community-engagement/community-engagement-offices/the-garda-racial-intercultural-diversity-office/national-contact-details-for-elo-lgbt-officers.pdf

You could also send Lmklad a PM and he may be able to advise you who to contact in your area, I see his name is still on the list in the enclosed link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

Thanks, ToS. I will give the number for my area a call tomorrow morning.

I am not familiar with Lmklad, is that a user on here?

Anyways, I will try that number tomorrow.

Much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I hope you are ok.

As first point ring the Gardai named in your local station on the list from Ten of Swords.

If that does not work you can try ringing the national GRIDO office to see which local garda they would reccomend.

https://www.garda.ie/en/Crime-Prevention/Community-engagement/The-Garda-Racial-Intercultural-Diversity-Office-GRIDO-.html

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I hope you are ok.

As first point ring the Gardai named in your local station on the list from Ten of Swords.

If that does not work you can try ringing the national GRIDO office to see which local garda they would reccomend.

https://www.garda.ie/en/Crime-Prevention/Community-engagement/The-Garda-Racial-Intercultural-Diversity-Office-GRIDO-.html

I don't think I am in immediate danger.. But the messages I have received are not your run of the mill transphobia.. It's actual threats. However likely it is to ever come to fruition is an unknown. But it is concerning enough to report. .

I have attempted ontact with my nearest officer this morning - she was unavailable at the time but i was told she would contact me later.

Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

If you’re receiving death threats wouldn’t any Garda handle the complaint with the same gravity and competence as a liaison officer?

I don’t understand why you didn’t complain about the death threats on day one. I doubt they would have refused to investigate until a specialist could be sourced.

If it’s that grave an issue, why delay the police response to it for several days by demanding a special type of Guard?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

DeadHand wrote: »
    demanding a special type of Guard?

Is that how you read it? Really?

Yes.

Yeah, and here we go...

The Gardai have these services for LGBT people for very good reasons. One of them being your attitude. And if I must reveal sensitive information about myself to an officer I would rather they are educated in the matter.

If you've got an issue with an Garda Siochana providing LGBT provisions then take it up with their offices. Cheers.

If you’re receiving death threats wouldn’t any Garda handle the complaint with the same gravity and competence as a liaison officer?

I don’t understand why you didn’t complain about the death threats on day one. I doubt they would have refused to investigate until a specialist could be sourced.

If it’s that grave an issue, why delay the police response to it for several days by demanding a special type of Guard?

Because these "special" guards are trained to handle the issues sensitively and to understand the issues more in depth. Its not about "demanding" - it is about seeking out a guard who will be trained to deal with issues of homophobia and transphobia.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Yeah, and here we go...

The Gardai have these services for LGBT people for very good reasons. One of them being your attitude. And if I must reveal sensitive information about myself to an officer I would rather they are educated in the matter.

If you've got an issue with an Garda Siochana providing LGBT provisions then take it up with their offices. Cheers.

Interesting.

I’d have thought a “death threat” would demand urgent action, apparently not.

You’re either being very reckless or there is no threat and you know it.

So, if (God forbid) two hefty men wielding machetes were to break into your house and you called 999, would you remain coy about the problem until a public servant “educated” enough that you could stoop to talk to them could be found?

it is about seeking out a guard who will be trained to deal with issues of homophobia and transphobia.

All Gardai are trained to deal with death threats.

Maybe we should have a separate police force established to serve the LGBT community altogether.

Elitism at its worst.

Interesting.

I’d have thought a “death threat” would demand urgent action, apparently not.

You’re either being very reckless or there is no threat and you know it.

So, if (God forbid) two hefty men wielding machetes were to break into your house and you called 999, would you remain coy about the problem until a public servant “educated” enough that you could stoop to talk to them could be found?

I don't need to explain or justify anything I do in relation to abuse I receive to a disingenuous victim blamer like you.

But thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

DeadHand, Garda LGBT Officers are there for a reason. This is not the thread to victim blame the OP. If you have a problem with the idea of them, take it up with them directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I'm sorry but I'm no sympathy for anyone who receive 'menacing threats' on a dating site. I find the idea totally absurd.

All dating sites have blocking functions. Just use it.

I don't care what he/she said to you., but what I get from you and your previous posts is that you seem to be seeking out trouble, and all of it is more or less internet based.

I fundamentally don't agree that if you put yourself out there on the internet that you should just except to receive comments you like and not expect you shouldn't get any you don't like, and even worse to expect the law to chase after the commentators you don't like. Do you realise how much hassle it would be for the guards to track down the person you have reported to them? And do you realise how much hassle you would be causing for them when they are just some sad lonely weirdo rather than some legit serial murderer.

I can't say I'm impressed by you or you posts. You seem to have a serious chip on your shoulder and I for one am going to call it out.

Allfor it has been given a 1 day ban for attacking another poster and not heeding mod warning.

Dont repond to their posts

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I find it an incredibly retrograde step if it is true that there are no more Gardai LGBT liaison officers on duty or available anymore. Who in AGS made this decision? They are very much still needed. Practically every developed, advanced country has police services that are geared to deal with LGBT issues.

IMO preferably a Gardai LGBT liason officer should be LGBT themselves but I do know from another web forum that there was a straight Gardai LGBT liason officer some years ago in Dublin who was very helpful and would engage regularly with the forum. Is the lack of a LGBT liaison a victim of cutbacks in AGS? Or perhaps I’m mistaken and it has been absorbed into a different, newer unit?

Unless the OP has been given a distinct direct threat to their safety by another individual on a “dating” app which seems likely from their post - I can’t see how the Gardai could get involved. Getting blocked or insulted is no justification for contacting the Gardai - anyone who uses these apps would be familiar with rude, nasty and superficial users who block them or are rude to them. Unfortunately that’s life. A death threat is another matter altogether. But unless the OP has given out their phone number or email details the block function should do its job. Wasting Gardai time would not be appreciated.

Allfor it has been given a 1 day ban for attacking another poster and not heeding mod warning.

Dont repond to their posts

I literally have no idea what that poster thought they were replying to.

This incident has nothing to do with a dating site. And I have absolutely no idea how someone could extrapolate such information from this thread. Slightly unhinged to say the least.

Anyways, sorry, but I just wanted to make that clear.

Mod

Grand lets move on. Allforit dont post in the thread again

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I find it an incredibly retrograde step if it is true that there are no more Gardai LGBT liaison officers on duty or available anymore. Who in AGS made this decision? They are very much still needed. Practically every developed, advanced country has police services that are geared to deal with LGBT issues.

IMO preferably a Gardai LGBT liason officer should be LGBT themselves but I do know from another web forum that there was a straight Gardai LGBT liason officer some years ago in Dublin who was very helpful and would engage regularly with the forum. Is the lack of a LGBT liaison a victim of cutbacks in AGS? Or perhaps I’m mistaken and it has been absorbed into a different, newer unit?

Unless the OP has been given a distinct direct threat to their safety by another individual on a “dating” app which seems likely from their post - I can’t see how the Gardai could get involved. Getting blocked or insulted is no justification for contacting the Gardai - anyone who uses these apps would be familiar with rude, nasty and superficial users who block them or are rude to them. Unfortunately that’s life. A death threat is another matter altogether. But unless the OP has given out their phone number or email details the block function should do its job. Wasting Gardai time would not be appreciated.

So you want positions given to people based on their gender or sexual orientation?

Society is going backwards.

JK, it seems you might be correct about no LGBT Liaisons on-duty anymore. My queries have all been met with confusion - about whether they still exist or not.
    JupiterKid wrote: »

As for the above:

Well, firstly, your thoughts on the matter are based on a false assumption that this had anything to do with a dating site. And secondly, the messages I have received have had direct threats of violence and indeed have contained the line "You are going to be killed" and similar on a number of occasions now. I have been targeted simply for being a transwoman with no provocation.

Please stop with the assumptions, people. All I asked for here was a contact number for an LGBT liaison officer - not a ****ing inquest.