Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gates being opened

• 29-04-2018 11:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Hi, with the past no. of weeks a couple of my gates on to public road are being knocked open. Have a fair idea of who is behind it but is being done in dead of night. Thinking of getting a surveillance camera to catch person but even if I had evidence is it a legal offense? Any views much appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Put locks on the gates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hi, with the past no. of weeks a couple of my gates on to public road are being knocked open. Have a fair idea of who is behind it but is being done in dead of night. Thinking of getting a surveillance camera to catch person but even if I had evidence is it a legal offense? Any views much appreciated!

Inform the gardai anyways. Have a paper trail for whenever the person is caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,040 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Reggie. wrote: »
    Inform the gardai anyways. Have a paper trail for whenever the person is caught.

First thing a guard will say is remove the temptation and put a lock on the gates.

Had a problem like that years ago.
    Guards informed, locks on the gates and a third party neighbour who told the suspect "in passing" that one of us was waiting out in the ditch at night with a shotgun, solved the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Lock/chain gates.

Get a battery operated trail camera.

Get anti climb paint and put on gate so it will stick to them when trying to open.

Put a barbed wire fence on inside as even with gate open the livestock will be kept in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

I'd suggest that if you catch the person on camera, hand a copy into the local Gardai station and ask for a pulse number, even if there is no livestock on the land. if it's a 'feud' and you approach the person it could be turned back on you.

Edit> report anyway <end edit
    The Gardai could end up being first responders and breaking the news of a injury or death to a family where livestock or even the gate caused a crash. So even if there is no actual offence it's in their best interest to talk to the person doing it before it escalates.

As DD said but locks on the all gates giving public access, this way any interference is criminal damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

First thing a guard will say is remove the temptation and put a lock on the gates.

Had a problem like that years ago.
    Guards informed, locks on the gates and a third party neighbour who told the suspect "in passing" that one of us was waiting out in the ditch at night with a shotgun, solved the problem.
    Yes but they will not it happened so at least if the person is caught then you have a timeline. Otherwise the person can claim it's thier first time it happened. Get it reported. That's important

Something like this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Something like this....

I got one of those and it was stolen!

arctictree wrote: »
    I got one of those and it was stolen!

That's crap alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,040 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Reggie. wrote: »
    Yes but they will not it happened so at least if the person is caught then you have a timeline. Otherwise the person can claim it's thier first time it happened. Get it reported. That's important

Oh yea we reported ours.
    Report everything.
    Just that the guard will say to put a lock on the gate and if not already, why not.
    We also weren't hiding in a ditch with a shotgun but still it was no harm that that
    story was doing the rounds and the initiative for that came from a good neighbour.
    I think there may be something about any secret footage filmed about not being worth a damn in law as there were no notice given that they were being filmed.
    But it may be said in passing by a guard if they happened to meet the perpetrator that's all.

It's a bit like a break in though. A thief could be after breaking into 20 places but it's only if they catch him in the act will they be charged and then only for that one break in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Oh yea we reported ours.
    I think there may be something about any secret footage filmed about not being worth a damn in law as there were no notice given that they were being filmed.......

As well as a lock, maybe the notice on it's own would be enough deterrent.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Had a problem like that a few years ago.might seem a strange one but not having gates hanging is a help.what our guys were doing was just pulling the latch or opening the chain and then driving off -the gate mightnt open until a gust of wind caught it and then they would be nowhere in the area.actually opening the gate is more risky from an observation point of view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

But it may be said in passing by a guard if they happened to meet the perpetrator that's all.
    If there is a genuine risk of someone getting hurt in a road accident and the Gardai having to clean up the mess, I would say that they will make if their business to have a word with the perpetrator. I expect that having to call up to a someone to break the news that their family member would not be comming home, is high up on the 'to be avoided list' plus as far as I am aware they have to be involved in the formal identification process (of bodies after car accidents).

I think there may be something about any secret footage filmed about not being worth a damn in law as there were no notice given that they were being filmed.
    You have no right to privacy, or from being filmed when in public. The person filmimg has obligations under data protection and security camera legistation, so they could be prosecuted independantly of and without undermining the perpetrator's prosecution. Think of the care home case where the staff were prosecuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭kk.man

I feel your pain op. I am subject to something similar atm.
    I have reported everything and am determined to catch him.
    It's real bad f@$/&€×s who do these things. Nothing but cowards and sick capable of anything if they do that on another person imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Eamonn8448

Lock is the most obvious solution but a situation like that would just vex me tell i caught them, if its just local young lads getting a kick id stick the mains fencer on the gate and give them a kick back also look for tyre tracks where they pull in, a few punctures later wont be long taking the fun out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Look at this video, when they have to change their pants after this id say you'll have no more trouble. 😂 Very simple

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=4D_3nAfmcqY

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

How about signs on the gate 'no dumping, cctv in operation' with a lock and chain on the gate as well.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Whenever wherever

Hi all, thanks for all responses! Much appreciated! WAs strongly thinking of connecting fencer to it! Going to report it anyway to Gardaí.