Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Community spirit in NI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

A good outcome if what iv read about them online is true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

What sort of crime were those 2 involved in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Patww79 wrote: »
    Great to see. We need more of that here too as the Gardaí aren't interested in sorting things.

Extra judicial beatings ? Sure wasn't that all the rage up North for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,181 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Convicted paedophiles I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

they got off lightly.
    Could have just as easily been put in the back of a van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭dobman88

timthumbni wrote: »

They're paedophiles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

PSNI Chief Inspector Jill Duffie said she understood that "feelings in the area had been running high" over the search for the men, and added that the PSNI will be investigating the assault and working to identify anyone involved.

Hope they won't work too hard on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

dobman88 wrote: »
    timthumbni wrote: »

They're paedophiles

I thought so. As such it’s tough titties for them then. My heart does not bleed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Extra judicial beatings ? Sure wasn't that all the rage up North for years.

Hardly exclusively restricted to the North to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

The psni are investigating the assault on the two in question. Should take around 5 seconds I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Communiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Interesting story, is there any update on what the situation is like now?
    ie has it worked? has it made it worse? or did it just put a lid on it for a while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Hopefully the PSNI got a slap or two in as well when they resisted arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,472 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

I note that they have good community PSNI Facebook pages in the community, with good engagement with the local people also on this. I think it's very positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

There has been a dramatic improvement.

What became of the gang? They just move off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

The lads will be released form hospital and go about their merry way to molest more kids. Any kind of evidence on their person or forensic evidence is tainted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Huexotzingo

Jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Class of 82

Seen this on my FB feed yesterday evening. Unsurprisingly a huge amount of positive comments below it.

Over the last number of months, mainly through social media, I am seeing increasing numbers of people taking tackling paedophiles into their own hands eg the 'stings' that are broadcasted online.

Yeah, seems to be a special kind of hatred reserved for the paedo's, maybe rightly due to the nature of their crimes. Although it doesn't stop a lot of these people continuing to be part of a church which harboured and aided large numbers of paedo's for many decades. Still, thats logic I simply will never understand.

But people in NI do seem to have a more tolerant view to vigilantes and taking the law into their own hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Class of 82

NIMAN wrote: »
    Yeah, seems to be a special kind of hatred reserved for the paedo's, maybe rightly due to the nature of their crimes. Although it doesn't stop a lot of these people continuing to be part of a church which harboured and aided large numbers of paedo's for many decades. Still, thats logic I simply will never understand.

But people in NI do seem to have a more tolerant view to vigilantes and taking the law into their own hands.[/QUOTE]

Agree. There has been a culture for many years (actually, since creation of the state) in places like south Armagh to sort out their own issues rather than engage with the police.

I do think though if a similar action took place in Dublin for example, the reaction wouldn't be much different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The lads will be released form hospital and go about their merry way to molest more kids. Any kind of evidence on their person or forensic evidence is tainted.
    Are they nonces?

Yeah, but some of the heavy handed vigilantes doing these sorts of things are also selling drugs into their communities and wrecking young peoples lives.

Kinda double standards? Or is selling drugs ok but being a paedo makes you lowest of the low?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Agree. There has been a culture for many years (actually, since creation of the state) in places like south Armagh to sort out their own issues rather than engage with the police.

I do think though if a similar action took place in Dublin for example, the reaction wouldn't be much different.

It did happen in Dublin.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/convicted-paedophile-anthony-luckwill-hiding-7965255
    A hated paedophile is in hiding tonight after being beaten up.
    Warped Anthony Luckwill, 43, was given a beating after furious parents found his lair - just yards from a Dublin primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

"Found his lair" aka "found his home"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Even more dangerous in this Facebook world we live in, where people will believe every single word they are fed without questioning.

Look at all the truths that came out about that 'poor young girl' who got battered in Bangor last week. Lot of people left looking very stupid after the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Even more dangerous in this Facebook world we live in, where people will believe every single word they are fed without questioning.

Look at all the truths that came out about that 'poor young girl' who got battered in Bangor last week. Lot of people left looking very stupid after the event.

Hadn't followed that story bar the main headlines. What subsequently came out about the victim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Agree totally Facebook can be dangerous as well as helpfull. But in the case of these two a statement issued by the gardai labelled them very dangerous and high risk.I think people were right to keep track of these two.

It's more than a bit disturbing how people can be so blasé at best, positively impressed at worst, at groups of anonymous people ganging up and deciding to be judge, jury and executioner.

Some poor man visiting Monasterevin last summer was set upon because somebody posted on Facebook that he was a wanted paedophile and a local gang decided online to get together and teach him a lesson. The anonymous illiterate who originally posted the "alert" to Facebook defended her actions by saying "It's better to be safe than sorry". That's the level, right there.

There are so, so, so many really stupid people out there, people without the wit to have moral bearings. Sheer self-interest should dictate that we all oppose unaccountable, anonymous people taking the law into their own hands, based on the Martin Niemöller experience, which to paraphrase can be something like 'First they came for the alleged paedophiles but I didn't do anything because I wasn't an alleged paedophile....Then they came for me and... there was nobody left to stand up."

The Irish Times: 'Woman defends wrongly identifying man as sex offender'

The most outstanding part of that article is that there are two journalists, one named Claire Scott and the other named Pat Flanagan, who think so little of the intelligence of their readers that they refer to people having "found his lair" when they mean "found his home".

There really is a disproportionately shocking number of completely predatory crypto-fascist cúnts in journalism who would love nothing more than the power buzz of being responsible for rousing up every last knacker in society into demonising some section of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Typical Sun reporting - there's no apostrophe in Hells Angels :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

2 convicted pedophiles on the run decide to head to South Armagh. They are definitely not members of Mensa.