Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everyone's favourite member of the judicary at it again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Huexotzingo

Rabble, rabble something something Garlic smuggler.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Should be locked up, that will have a lasting impact on that poor child. No wonder people have no faith in the justice system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Rabble, rabble something something Garlic smuggler.

This isn’t actually an argument. It’s a sneer.

This guy is a joke. No mistake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

jamesbere wrote: »
    Should be locked up, that will have a lasting impact on that poor child. No wonder people have no faith in the justice system

Martin Nolan?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Martin Nolan?

No a bad idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

She said her client suffered from depression and was diabetic.

Wtf does him being diabetic have to do with anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,414 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Noveight wrote: »
    Wtf does him being diabetic have to do with anything?

Hey! Swearing.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Two scumbags. Nolan for not sentencing the offender and the pervert for a) molesting the child (repeatedly actually) and b) not having the bottle to apologise to the family. Seriously, it's in the article... which the OP didn't bother their bollox quoting at all. Here it is;

A 77-YEAR-OLD father of six has avoided a jail term for sexually assaulting his seven-year-old neighbour.

The man, who cannot be named to protect the girl’s identity, pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to two charges of sexual assault in his Dublin home on dates in April 2017. He has no previous convictions.

Garda Fergal McSharry told Gerardine Small BL, prosecuting that on two occasions the man kissed the girl on the lips and patted her on her bottom after inviting her into his home.

He later said during a garda interview: “Honestly I don’t know why I did what I did. I’ve known her since birth,” before he added there was nothing sexual in his mind and he wasn’t sexually attracted to children.

“It was just human contact,” he told garda

He said he deeply, deeply regretted it but didn’t have enough courage to express his apologies to the family himself. He asked Garda McSharry to pass on his remorse on his behalf.

Judge Martin Nolan said it had been a traumatic experience for both the child and her parents but said in terms of sexual assaults it was on the lower end of the scale.

He described the man as being regretful and “stricken with remorse” before he suspended an 18-month sentence on strict conditions having noted that he was unlikely to re-offend.

The crimes came to light when the girl reported to her mother that she was outside waiting for the ice-cream van and when it never showed up her elderly neighbour invited her into his home for an ice pop.

The child said to her mother “wasn’t that very nice of him” before she said the man then kissed her on the lips “again”. She then disclosed that he had kissed her the same way two weeks previously.

The incident was reported to gardand the child later told specialist interviewers that the man told her to keep it a secret and not to tell everyone. She said he had kissed her for a long time and she had felt uncomfortable about it.

Three months later the man came voluntarily to the station and made full admissions.

A victim impact report was handed to the court but not read out.

Carol Doherty BL, defending handed in four documents to the court, three references from family friends and one from a person the man had previously worked with.

She said her client suffered from depression and was diabetic. Counsel said the father of six had been very lonely since his wife died 12 years ago.

“He understands that his actions have had a detrimental and possible lasting effect on the victim and he is deeply remorseful for that,” Doherty said.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Seriously, how does this guy still have a job?

Can we not fire Judges?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,088 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

He must be trolling at this stage, its so blatant.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,856 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Who are judges accountable to?

If anyone...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Ahhhh for forks sake!

Aren't they bound by sentencing norms?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

This guy's decisions are very troubling.

Ridiculous sentence.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,414 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Look,we have a hard on for this guy. Facts or even a vague passing knowledge of the odd legal procedure are not wanted here.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Utterly nauseating. Literally. Deeply thankful the child told. shudders...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Well thanks to Martin Nolan, letting criminals off the hook is now becoming the norm.

I’m beginning to think he himself has something to hide, such is his demeanor when faced with these scumbags.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

Seriously this fella at it again!

I swear before I opened the article I said "that's Martin Nolan"

I understand the circumstances but 500 images is no petty crime

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/shop-manager-56-caught-with-460-child-porn-images-avoids-jail-36980011.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

It's rather suspicious.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ninja 12

So the day after Judge Martin Nolan gives somebody a suspended sentence for having 500 indecent images of children , he gives a doctor who dodged ( and later paid ) € 100,000 income tax a 16 month sentence .

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/jail-for-doctor-who-dodged-almost-100000-in-income-tax-847269.html

At least Judge Martin Nolan is consistent :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

How the hell is he still a judge ?

Surely somebody in the Department of Justice has noticed that he is consistently unduly lenient on pedos ?

Has he ever sent somebody to prison for having indecent images of children ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

When I saw the below, I thought. Great, proper sentences at long last. Alas...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/criminal-court/carlow-man-jailed-for-18-years-for-rape-and-assault-of-woman-1.3471183

A Carlow man who raped and seriously assaulted a woman in her 50s, leaving her with life changing injuries from which she is unlikely to recover, has been jailed for 18 years.

Anthony Cassidy (34) attacked his victim as she was walking to a shop in the early hours of the morning.

The judge quoted from the woman’s victim impact report in which she stated that she intends to “scrape together the little bit of dignity I have left and do my best to enjoy the rest of my life”.

He said the woman’s daughter had also written a victim impact statement on behalf of the family in which she stated that Cassidy had ruined all their lives.

“You have broken our lives but we are strong and we won’t let you ruin our lives any more than you have,” the judge said quoting the woman’s statement. He added that the victim’s daughter has been coping as best as she can “with the dreadful situation she has found herself in”.

Mr Justice McCarthy said the “starting point” for sentencing Cassidy was imprisonment for life but he added that he must take into account his plea of guilty and expression of what he considered “genuine remorse” before he sentenced him to 18 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

When I saw the below, I thought. Great, proper sentences at long last. Alas...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/criminal-court/carlow-man-jailed-for-18-years-for-rape-and-assault-of-woman-1.3471183

A Carlow man who raped and seriously assaulted a woman in her 50s, leaving her with life changing injuries from which she is unlikely to recover, has been jailed for 18 years.

Anthony Cassidy (34) attacked his victim as she was walking to a shop in the early hours of the morning.

The judge quoted from the woman’s victim impact report in which she stated that she intends to “scrape together the little bit of dignity I have left and do my best to enjoy the rest of my life”.

He said the woman’s daughter had also written a victim impact statement on behalf of the family in which she stated that Cassidy had ruined all their lives.

“You have broken our lives but we are strong and we won’t let you ruin our lives any more than you have,” the judge said quoting the woman’s statement. He added that the victim’s daughter has been coping as best as she can “with the dreadful situation she has found herself in”.

Mr Justice McCarthy said the “starting point” for sentencing Cassidy was imprisonment for life but he added that he must take into account his plea of guilty and expression of what he considered “genuine remorse” before he sentenced him to 18 years.

Repulsive, vile traveller with many serious previous convictions commits detestable rape. Life should mean life; he should never, ever be allowed out and see those close to him outside of the confines of a prison ever again.