Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting ticket without being informed about it

• 24-04-2018 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭

Hi lads.

So around a month and a half I got pulled over for "Driving Without Reasonable Consideration", so I was driving on a dual carriageway and apparently I switched a lane right in front of undercover cops car which is pure bull**** but well can't do anything about.

Got pulled over and a lovely chap took my details and told me not do it anymore as it might be dangerous to other road user. Fair enough. Didn't mention any ticket what so ever.

And boom, got a ticket today for it.. Set up 3 days ago for something that happen a month and a half ago !

So are they are able to do such a stuff ? That happen on the 16/3 and they set up a ticket on the 21/4.
    Would it work if I fill out the FCN Cancellation request and tell them that I wasn't got informed about ticket, not a single word for it and they put ticket on something that happen ages ago.

What ya think about it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Nothing you can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

Why tell you about it at the stop?
    There is no upside for the Guards at all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Just another reason to have a dashcam.

Presume the garda didn't tell you to spare himself the usual argument on the side of the road. They believe they saw what they saw.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

pippip wrote: »
    Just another reason to have a dashcam.
    Then it would be your dashcam vs theirs.

And theirs was facing forwards.

Statute of limitations ain't up yet either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

If the date on the ticket is for a completely different date I would fight it if you could prove you were elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

I think they have 3 or 6 months to input things into pulse for fcn. I always ask at side of road what happens next, am I getting a ticket, their badge number in case of queries, what punishment the offence carries etc. Not being a dick but I found myself in same situation as yours before but had no idea where to ask afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

TheDriver wrote: »
    I think they have 3 or 6 months to input things into pulse for fcn. I always ask at side of road what happens next, am I getting a ticket, their badge number in case of queries, what punishment the offence carries etc. Not being a dick but I found myself in same situation as yours before but had no idea where to ask afterwards.

I think its 6 months they have to put it into pulse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

100 day limit to issue a FCN. That allows for 28 days to pay for initial fine plust 28 days to pay increases fine (156) That gives some time then to issue summons if fine not paid at all. Summons application must be made before 6 months elapse. Most FCN issued within a few weeks max