Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving with boot open

• 17-04-2018 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Is it legal to drive with your car boot open? I need bring a river runner kayak across the city (Dublin). Ideally, I'd like to use the M50 but am happy to drive through town, whichever is safer. I presume attaching a high viz to the back of the kayak and securely mounting it in the car would be okay.
    I can't see anything in the rules of the road about it!

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Perfectly legal.
    Just make sure nothing falls out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Illegal if your reg is on the boot lid, it has to be visible from behind. If the load hangs more than a meter over the vehicle it needs lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 markjack98

Del2005 wrote: »
    Illegal if your reg is on the boot lid, it has to be visible from behind. If the load hangs more than a meter over the vehicle it needs lights.

Shouldn't be more than a metre but will measure it. Would it be ok to attach a printed out version to end of it or would I have a to get another plate done up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

Will your lights \ indicators still work and be visible ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

markjack98 wrote: »
    Shouldn't be more than a metre but will measure it. Would it be ok to attach a printed out version to end of it or would I have a to get another plate done up?

The chance of being stopped by a Garda is slim. No harm in sticking the reg on the back.

freddieot wrote: »

No now that you mention it.

I think I'll have to leave it so, don't want to risk getting in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

A few slightly over thinking this one.

Throw it in the back make sure nothing loose flies out. I wouldn't be to worried about reg plates and I don't think any car have brake lights that lift with the boot lid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    A few slightly over thinking this one.

Throw it in the back make sure nothing loose flies out. I wouldn't be to worried about reg plates and I don't think any car have brake lights that lift with the boot lid.

these yokes are around 9ft long to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Tie it down and drive on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

colm_mcm wrote: »
    these yokes are around 9ft long to be fair.

At their longest maybe but river play boats are usually short enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

if you are worried about the number plate being visible, you could unscrew it and fix it so it is visible. I wouldn't bother though

Just checked and all lights will still be visible actually!

Could I risk M50 or should I go through town?

It's a pretty small kayak in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

From experience, driving with the boot open sucks exhaust fumes into the car. Just something to be aware of and assess the risks yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

markjack98 wrote: »
    Just checked and all lights will still be visible actually!

Could I risk M50 or should I go through town?

It's a pretty small kayak in fairness

If it complies then the M50 is better. If its daytime then hanging a hi viz jacket off the back of it is OK too.

Apart from that just make sure its secure.

Less chance of a gurrier taking a look at it on the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭jimbis

If some of the previous posts are to go by, And the gards were looking to up their quotas they could make a killing outside ikea at the weekends :pac:

Make sure it's secure, brake and indicator lights are appropriately visible and you'll be grand. High vis on the end of it just to stop some twat walking into it at the traffic lights.

freddieot wrote: »

Brake and indicators are never on the boot.

mikeecho wrote: »
    Brake and indicators are never on the boot.

E02_DA62_D-00_B2-4030-80_C4-_BF53666_FF2_FB.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

^^^ the insignia has additional lights inside the boot frame visible when the boot is open.
    vauxhall_insignia_sports_tourer_2009_029_250.jpg

Just take the reasonable steps to make it secure and go on. Unless it hangs out by 4ft you'll be OK

colm_mcm wrote: »
    E02_DA62_D-00_B2-4030-80_C4-_BF53666_FF2_FB.jpg

And when you lift the tail gate/boot.. there is another set of brake lights inside

Edit.. beaten to it

But you said!