Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funniest/usual gig moment ??

• 16-04-2018 4:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭

What was ur most funniest/gig moment that u ever witnessed/been apart of ??

I remember at an Aslan gig in Waterford in 2016 the band started a song 'been loving you lately' and they stopped a few seconds into the song cause someone feel in the front row and Christy gave them his stool to sit on and they started the song again. Was raging cause I always wanted to hear that song live and the momenthem was gone from it by time they done it

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was at a Jeru The Damaja gig (rapper) and while rapping jumped off stage, kept rapping and walking, kept rapping, went into the toilets, kept rapping, took a pis$, came back on stage and kept rapping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I was at Electric Picnic. I think it was 2006 and Jarvis Cocker was playing in one of the tents.

This is a bit disgusting but someone threw their underwear up at him and he picked it up, smelled it, made a disgusted face and flung it back into the crowd which gave a collective "ugh" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I saw Blondie on stage a good few years ago. But god love her - it was a warm day and she had wet patches under her arms. I have not lusted after her (as much) since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Sile Na Gig

Woman is human...shocker!

I was hit in the face with an easy single (plastic wrapped cheese slice) by Jarvis Cocker at the SFX in the 90’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Lorelli! wrote: »
    I was at Electric Picnic. I think it was 2006 and Jarvis Cocker was playing in one of the tents.

This is a bit disgusting but someone threw their underwear up at him and he picked it up, smelled it, made a disgusted face and flung it back into the crowd which gave a collective "ugh" :pac:

I was at that gig. He threw a pack of M&Ms into the crowd and I caught them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Most unusual moment?

I went to a gig recently and this guy in the crowd really caught my attention.
    He didn't once take a selfie, update his Twitter or Instagram or take any videos.
    He didn't even talk to his mates!
    He just stood there enjoying the live music like a f*cking FREAK!!!

Weirdo.

Can’t stand people live tweeting gigs. Or videoing with their phones. It’s so annoying!

I remember at a concert with The Flaming Lips, they picked about 20 people from the audience and brought them on stage. They gave half of them alien masks and the other half some other kind of mask and they just danced on stage alongside the band while they were playing.

Wayne Coyne also went out into the audience in this giant hampster ball thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Back in 86 in New York Big Country frontman Stuart Adamson stopped a gig mid song due to fighting. Spoke to security and the others involved. He then gave a quick spiel about violence and getting killed. The band then resumed from where they left off.

https://youtu.be/jnVcItVybI0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Axl Rose in the O2 saying if anyone throws one more beer at him he is walking off and then about ten of them being thrown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I went to see Iggy and The Stooges play in Kilmainham back a few years ago. One guy near to me, who was obviously off his head, got completely bollock naked at one stage and spent a good quarter of a hour running around in the crowd near to me, whooping and hollering and jumping onto people and thrusting his quivering gonads in their face. He was quite overweight too: feral chaos personified. I was utterly baked out of my mind at the time too so that only helped bring all the events at the time into the realm of the transcendantly surreal.

In a way, I was delighted that I was witnessing something so legitimately daft, considering who was playing, but I wasn't one of the unlucky ones that he managed to mount, so maybe my perspective could be deemed nostalgic.

After a while a bunch of burly black-jacketed security dudes barrelled through the crowd. Ah here we go, I thought, he's going to get seven bells of ****e kicked out of him. But no, they kept their distance and just roared at him to put his fcking clothes back on. He came back to himself fairly quickly then.

The look on his face at the instant, as he suddenly, crushingly, returned to planet Earth and realised that he had no clothes on and was waving his dick around in front of a large crowd that were by now mainly watching him instead of the band they'd come to see, was truly amazing.

Arghus wrote: »
    I went to see Iggy and The Stooges play in Kilmainham back a few years ago. One guy near to me, who was obviously off his head, got completely bollock naked at one stage and spent a good quarter of a hour running around in the crowd near to me, whooping and hollering and jumping onto people and thrusting his quivering gonads in their face. He was quite overweight too: feral chaos personsified.

I saw Iggy in Kilmainhaim. ^^up until that last sentence there, I thought you were going to reveal that you were talking about Iggy himself! Sounded like him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭.red.

I saw Shane MacGowan in Melbourne in 03, he was surprisingly good,
    Anyway. He sat on stage with a microphone stand with an ashtray and pint holder on it. He must have 9/10 pints and 20 fags during the gig and was sweating like a pig on a spit. In between every song he used a towel to wipe his face and arm pits.
    One blonde Aussie girl up the front kept screaming that she loved him and at the end of the gig got on stage with him for a photo. She ended up asking for his towel which he gave her. This obviously made her year and she kept rubbing it off herself.
    I've never felt so sick and disgusted at something in public in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Paddy Casey supporting the frames years ago in vicar street , he starts into Sweet Suburban Sky which was his big song at the time, the crowd hushes as that's probably all they knew by him at that stage of his career.
    A phone goes off to groans from the crowd, ruining the moment. Paddy stops and apologises, it's his phone that's ringing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Lorelli! wrote: »

2007 :).

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

i was at a damned gig in brixton academy in the 80s and Lemmy tried to get me arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭ablelocks

"Mundy, upstairs at Dolans" - billed as an intimate, acoustic gig - on a Friday night, possibly May or June 2009 or 10- the one evening where it was sunny so people had gone straight from work, had a few summery drinks and by the time they got to the gig, were all on for a rousy, boozy, summertime, everything's right with the world gig. So Mundy got on stage with his geetar and tried to sing a lonesome, soulful, hushedy hush song while the crowd got a bit more rowdy and noisy. By song three, he was getting cross, after song four, he gave out to the crowd for being noisy and disrespectful - at which point a girl who had been at the bar came back and roared at him to sing "July"! Moandy got the hump "I'm more than one bloody song" or words to that effect and left the stage in a huge sulk. We waited about 10 mins but no sign so we headed off downstairs to the pub. I did hear that Mundy was "persuaded" to go back on stage...that he played a few songs quickly and ****ked off again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

At a Paddy Casey gig ( I think everyone has a Paddy Casey story ?)
    in The Forum in Waterford, me and a few friends were standing at the bar and there was doors just to the right of the bar and the stage further on.
    The gig finished (great gig as usual from Paddy) , we were standing there having a drink, and out comes Paddy from behind the doors. He walked over to us, and goes "Alrite lad, how its going" so we were chatting away with him for a few minutes, and the girls starting milling around for photos and autographs.
    Some of the girls started asking me and mee mates , "Are you in the band" ? .. and of course we said "Oh yes" ...
    "will you give me an autograph".... and we did, signing away while trying to stop laughing.
    Even my wife who was with us was laughing !! :)

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Another Paddy Casey story.......

At Pearl Jam in the Point in 2006 , all squeezed in waiting for the warm up act....

Out walks....... PADDY CASEY !!!!! there was a silence of disbelief, and even poor Paddy looked amused at the complete unsuitability of his (great) music being played to a crowd that were expecting something, more ...... "rockier" ..... :)

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn