Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

9 year old Diesels - am I right to have nightmares

• 13-04-2018 6:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭

Need a second car (7 seat) on a tight budget of 5k. I have read so much about DPF,DMF, Turbo,Injector issues on Diesels as they age. Has any one had luck buying one around the 10 year 150k mile mark. Looking at Galaxy, SMax with the 1.8 tdci or the 1.6 HDI grand picasso.

Criteria is three child seats in the back. I am kind of thinking something like a Honda FRV with petrol as an option. I am thinking Id rather pay a bit more at the pump than need €1000k for one of the numerous things that go in the diesels if this age/mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

If you are going with a diesel in this budget always, always check if the timing belt has been changed and how recently. That is the 1 thing that will chew an engine and make it scrap if it breaks. Injectors are not the end of the world, you can get spurious ones if needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,181 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What sort of driving will you be doing?

How many miles per day and long runs/short runs?

I owned an FR-V myself, great cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

wingnut wrote: »
    Need a second car (7 seat) on a tight budget of 5k. I have read so much about DPF,DMF, Turbo,Injector issues on Diesels as they age. Has any one had luck buying one around the 10 year 150k mile mark. Looking at Galaxy, SMax with the 1.8 tdci or the 1.6 HDI grand picasso.

I ran an 08 S-Max 2.0 diesel for 10 years and 400,000 km up to last October.

Never any issues with DPF, turbo or injectors. The only things (other than ordinary wear and tear) that broke in the 10 years were a bent inner driveshaft at 150K and the flywheel which let go suddenly at around 350K.

So you could be lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭flatty

They bilge poison out for people to inhale. I suspect they will soon be legislated against. I'll never buy another diesel. My wife drives one now, but that'll be it.
    They can be a false economy for many.
    The first thing to happen will be the removal of any financial incentive I'd imagine, and the price at the pumps will go up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭wingnut

Thanks all. Most of my journeys weekly are 10 miles / 15 minutes. I live and work out the country so running at 80-100kmph all the time. I think that works in terms of DPF.

Love the Galaxy but finding one in price range and tax is a consideration. Had arrange to buy a lovely one but got gazumped buy the dealer.

The citroens are easier find and cheaper (esp. tax at €280) though I feel they are more likely to give issues, so lower cost overall but more of a gamble. ( After reading online I am certainly staying clear of the Hydraulic suspension and Padle Shift).

The FRV is nice but on the smaller side. Won't need the two rear seats 99% of the time but do need a big boot. Tax and cost of petrol counts against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I bought a diesel some years back - and at the time (and still today) I was offerred a low tax rate because of the low carbon emissions from Diesel cars. At the time, it was a 'green' option; relative to petrol.

What has changed in the meantime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    I bought a diesel some years back - and at the time (and still today) I was offerred a low tax rate because of the low carbon emissions from Diesel cars. At the time, it was a 'green' option; relative to petrol.

What has changed in the meantime?

They discovered that maybe saving a few Polar Bears in the future doesn't warrant killing thousands of people every year with the bad stuff that comes from all diesels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Thanks all. Most of my journeys weekly are 10 miles / 15 minutes. I live and work out the country so running at 80-100kmph all the time. I think that works in terms of DPF.

Love the Galaxy but finding one in price range and tax is a consideration. Had arrange to buy a lovely one but got gazumped buy the dealer.

The citroens are easier find and cheaper (esp. tax at €280) though I feel they are more likely to give issues, so lower cost overall but more of a gamble. ( After reading online I am certainly staying clear of the Hydraulic suspension and Padle Shift).

The FRV is nice but on the smaller side. Won't need the two rear seats 99% of the time but do need a big boot. Tax and cost of petrol counts against it.

I'd be a bit wary at those kinds of distances. Diesel engines take a bit longer to warm up so in 15 mins you wouldn't get up to temperature to clean out the dpf. If you do semi regular longer motorway runs at the weekend it'll be grand though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭flatty

Just get a petrol. It'll be better for those miles, and more future proofed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭frash

It is possible.

I bought a late 06 Ford Galaxy (new version) last Summer for €4950
    High spec (roof windows). 2.0l engine. 140BHP.
    Had 110,000 miles on it & I verified it on cartell.ie (which also returned it's UK history).
    It had been in Ireland for a few years with the same owner and had 'service reminder' stickers on it with mileage so was happy it wasn't clocked.
    The dealer did the timing belt & some other things.

Been running fine for the last 9 months.
    Being pre 08 though means the tax is high also insurance is about €80 dearer than it would be for the same model in say a 2010 version.

EDIT: Just checked the dealer I bought it from & he has an 08 S-Max within your budget
    http://www.ascars.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=1952957&r=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You don't need a diesel, get an FRV or a Verso, plenty of them available within your budget and they aren't that much harder to run than a diesel equivalent. My sister in law has an 07 Verso 1.6. Currently has 280 kms on it, going like a clock and constantly returns 38mpg on her short school runs and low 40's on a longer run. An FRV should be similar in terms of MPG figures.

The FRV has 6 seats, 3 front and 3 rear, they don't have a further 2 seats behind the back seats, the Verso does though.

I thought I had a lovely Galaxy sale agreed but it moved over the Easter Weekend. 2008 with 90000 miles and had the glass and DVD player in the headrest - both belts done and immaculate condition for €4700.;(

Anyone running a Grand Picasso of 08/09 vintage and how is it. I see lots of issues on forums but is that just because they are such a common car? The garage I am looking at the c4 is saying its great and clean, no issues etc but trade only because they are 'not mad about Citroens' which is honest I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Del2005 wrote: »
    They discovered that maybe saving a few Polar Bears in the future doesn't warrant killing thousands of people every year with the bad stuff that comes from all diesels.

Thats a classic internet answer. If anyone can translate this into something that contains .....like.....um......actual information...... then that would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I thought I had a lovely Galaxy sale agreed but it moved over the Easter Weekend. 2008 with 90000 miles and had the glass and DVD player in the headrest - both belts done and immaculate condition for €4700.;(

Anyone running a Grand Picasso of 08/09 vintage and how is it. I see lots of issues on forums but is that just because they are such a common car? The garage I am looking at the c4 is saying its great and clean, no issues etc but trade only because they are 'not mad about Citroens' which is honest I think.

No dealer/garage are going to say 'its not a great car' if they want to get rid of it and the fact that its trade sale only means they don't want it coming back in with problems which is highly likely to happen with it. Walk away from that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

No dealer/garage are going to say 'its not a great car' if they want to get rid of it and the fact that its trade sale only means they don't want it coming back in with problems which is highly likely to happen with it. Walk away from that one.

As someone with a lot of knowledge of garages and car sales, I can tell you that "trade sale" is garage shorthand for "it's a lottery as to whether this feckin thing will keep going or not, so I'm fücked if I'm standing over it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

I had a 08 SMAX last year, replaced it with a Galaxy. It was automatic but only had 150k km on it.

Things was perfect, just needed a new timing belt....it originally was a demo car for Ford garage...

I got 4k for it, it would suit your needs perfectly

I am sure there are similar available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭pah

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    I had a 08 SMAX last year, replaced it with a Galaxy. It was automatic but only had 150k km on it.

Things was perfect, just needed a new timing belt....it originally was a demo car for Ford garage...

I got 4k for it, it would suit your needs perfectly

I am sure there are similar available

Was that 1.8? My 2006 2.0 tdci was chain driven iirc

OP how about a petrol SMAX?

You don't need a diesel, get an FRV or a Verso, plenty of them available within your budget and they aren't that much harder to run than a diesel equivalent. My sister in law has an 07 Verso 1.6. Currently has 280 kms on it, going like a clock and constantly returns 38mpg on her short school runs and low 40's on a longer run. An FRV should be similar in terms of MPG figures.

The FRV has 6 seats, 3 front and 3 rear, they don't have a further 2 seats behind the back seats, the Verso does though.

I Don't think the Corolla Verso can take three full child seats across the back which is my No. 1 Criteria (the Avensis Verso can but they stopped making them ages ago.

A guy at work likewise has one that he can't bring himself to get rid of because it has gone and gone with nothing other than a service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

pah wrote: »
    Was that 1.8? My 2006 2.0 tdci was chain driven iirc

OP how about a petrol SMAX?

2ltr automatic TDCi

Was perfect, I got new car and the Misses decided she wanted a new one so we swapped to newer and bigger with Galaxy.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭ray o

Criteria is three child seats in the back. I am kind of thinking something like a Honda FRV with petrol as an option. I am thinking Id rather pay a bit more at the pump than need €1000k for one of the numerous things that go in the diesels if this age/mileage.

A timely post....I'm in exactly the same situation and also fear the potential hassle and costs of issues associated with diesels. My driving profile means a Petrol is the best option for me but I do like some of the Diesels.

FRV - I like them but the wife is not a fan

Verso - 1.6 Petrol - the safe choice. Wife likes them, I could live with one.

SMAX - I like the size, shape and interior. Only Diesels about so would have to be prepared to run the gauntlet of potential problems.

C4 Picasso - Similar size to the SMAX and a 1.6 Diesel that I believe is not as prone to DPF issues as some others. Plenty of autos around - RNAM variant which I hear is not as nice but still ok and reliable. A friend has one and has had 0 issues in 10 years of ownership.

Decisions decisions.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

ray o wrote: »
    SMAX - I like the size, shape and interior. Only Diesels about so would have to be prepared to run the gauntlet of potential problems

They sold plenty of petrols in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭ray o

They sold plenty of petrols in the UK.

I believed that to be the case but the search I ran only threw up one with an ST engine in it :) - Maybe the lack of petrols in my search was due to the years I was searching for.

ray o wrote: »

Decisions decisions.....

Yeah the C4 is an option but going through forums there seems to be a lot of expensive issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Surely a Corolla Verso would do what you need? You can def get 3 child seats across the middle once you slide the middle seat forward a small bit.

How big of a big boot do you need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

You could look at a VW Touran with 1.4TSI petrol engine I have an 08 diesel version,others can comment on the petrol engine

Petrol is a bit of a gamble on them if it’s the 1.4 TSI

There are 1.6 N/A versions as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

How about a zafira vxr for a bit of craic seriously fast and can be got very cheap u could be a dad racer

Zafiras have a beach seat in the middle so 3 child seats are very unlikely to fit

There's plenty of petrol mazda 5 knocking about within budget

Philb76 wrote: »
    There's plenty of petrol mazda 5 knocking about within budget

seats won’t work for the OP, middle seat is only a half seat.

DD8324_A7-3423-4344-_B05_F-230_F3_FB9_C8_FC.jpg

Gravelly wrote: »

As someone with a lot of knowledge of garages and car sales, I can tell you that "trade sale" is garage shorthand for "it's a lottery as to whether this feckin thing will keep going or not, so I'm fücked if I'm standing over it"

Yeah I know and the garage said the same thing themselves. He said he would want another €800 for warranty. It's a keemb price so someone will take the punt. As much as the Citroen running costs and tax are cheaper I think the fords are better machines.

They also seem very cheap are they rubbish or sumthing wrong with them my experiences with petrol mazda has been very positive

colm_mcm wrote: »
    a
    Surely a Corolla Verso would do what you need? You can def get 3 child seats across the middle once you slide the middle seat forward a small bit.

How big of a big boot do you need?

I thought you couldn't fit three full sized child seats but maybe I'll try one for size.

As far as I have researched of common cars fitting three in the second row:

Galaxy/SMax
    308sw 307sw
    Touran
    Sharan
    Alambhra
    FRV
    Grand Picasso
    Multipla ðŸ˜႒
    Voyager
    C8

Nah, just Mazda had practically no marketing spend or desirability back then, and dealers were nowhere near as advanced as rivals, so they’ve only ever been bit-players in Ireland.
    The 5 had the practicality of the sliding doors, but nobody wanted a 1.8 minimum small MPV when VW, Toyota and Opel were doing a 1.6.

I thought you couldn't fit three full sized child seats but maybe I'll try one for size.

As far as I have researched of common cars fitting three in the second row:

Galaxy/SMax
    308sw 307sw
    Touran
    Sharan
    Alambhra
    FRV
    Grand Picasso
    Multipla ðŸ˜႒
    Voyager
    C8

You definitely can. I’ve done it.

Renault grand scenic is spacious our old child minder had one and she loved was diesel though but said it was very economical and reliable