Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How big is your Dock??

• 11-04-2018 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭

I'm well aware of the situation on the ground after the terrible winter/spring this year and it's still continuing for many if not all.
    But just for some light relief I thought I'd start a thread after seeing how my docks were emerging and rising above the grass today.

I haven't ran it past the mods but they're a jolly bunch who I'm sure have big docks too.

So here's a picture of my docks today.
    It's still in the growth faze. Not surprising after the cold spring this year.
    It won't be coming to seed for another month so still amble time for some spraying.

So thread open.
    Who has the biggest dock or even a peculiar size dock. Any pictures of docks welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I'm well aware of the situation on the ground after the terrible winter/spring this year and it's still continuing for many if not all.
    But just for some light relief I thought I'd start a thread after seeing how my docks were emerging and rising above the grass today.

I haven't ran it past the mods but they're a jolly bunch who I'm sure have big docks too.

It won't be coming to seed for another month so still amble time for some spraying.

So thread open.
    Who has the biggest dock or even a peculiar size dock. Any pictures of docks welcome.

Biggest docks here are about the size of a thumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

Biggest docks here are about the size of a thumb

I think you misread the question! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Ahhhh for forks sake!

17 cm . Ohhh dock .. sorry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

You can eat docks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

...so still amble time for some spraying..

Spraying, hmmm interesting. l like to pull mine by hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Pictures of your docks folks please.

Dock pics if you will.

Only green docks accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,207 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I dont have a dock

whelan2 wrote: »
    I dont have a dock

That's the fine Louth land for ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

So thread open.
    You're some fecking chancer, you are:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭The Rabbi

Is that Pedigrees wellie? Size 6 I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

You can eat docks :D

Any pictures:D

The Rabbi wrote: »
    Is that Pedigrees wellie? Size 6 I presume.

Not sure? It was there before i came upon it.

I appreciate it's dark out now folks but there's a whole day tomorrow to get clicking.

Edit: It was lucky for ye that I picked that thread title.
    It was a toss up between that and "Dockwatch 2018".

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

You did well to have the picture so clear while taking the photo balanced on one leg. :)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I suggest the thread title be changed from dock to Rumex. Misread the thread title and instead of dock pics we'll be getting d@#$ pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Does anyone find their Dock gets hard and stalky and bursts the plastic on the bales of silage?
    It's no joke ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Does anyone find their Dock gets hard and stalky and bursts the plastic on the bales of silage?
    It's no joke ;-)

Never happened luckily
    You should double bag much safer and you won't get any nasty surprises when you open the bale in 9 mts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Just realised the next tread here is and I quote

"where does my meat go".

I must be in After hours by mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

satstheway wrote:
    Just realised the next tread here is and I quote

satstheway wrote:
    "where does my meat go".

satstheway wrote:
    I must be in After hours by mistake

Sorry about that one, my bad,

this thread is giving me a fair laugh.

Unfortunately my docks are at an all time low, the bad winter and no growth has left it soft and small. I'm thinking it's time to get some chemical intervention to help it push up if only for a short while.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Sorry about that one, my bad,

this thread is giving me a fair laugh.

Unfortunately my docks are at an all time low, the bad winter and no growth has left it soft and small. I'm thinking it's time to get some chemical intervention to help it push up if only for a short while.........

My apologies If I started something ;)

I'm never finished dealing with the docks around here tbh ...

Here's a photo of a big dock I found on d'internet

3168F77600000578-3456625-Port_of_Long_Beach_California_released_these_pictures_of_the_CMA-a-11_1456020317226.jpg

No sorry that's no right either .... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I didn't want to embarass you lads with a picture of my huge dock, but my wife has a shaven pussy so here's a picture of that instead.

?url=https%3A%2F%2Fvetstreet-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com%2F86%2F974690a33511e087a80050568d634f%2Ffile%2FSphynx-2-645mk062211.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Gravelly wrote: »
    I didn't want to embarass you lads with a picture of my huge dock, but my wife has a shaven pussy so here's a picture of that instead.

?url=https%3A%2F%2Fvetstreet-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com%2F86%2F974690a33511e087a80050568d634f%2Ffile%2FSphynx-2-645mk062211.jpg

Is that where your meat goes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Pictures of your docks folks please.

Dock pics if you will.

Only green docks accepted.

How about dying docks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

It's no joke ;-)

I found the kiwis couldnt make a wrap to handle the irish docks, got a woeful fright with the effluent running down the yard, f#ck it what if the department man landed?

Better living everyone

Gravelly wrote: »

You're wrong I'm afraid that's a hairless pussy - completely different to a shaved one ...

b77783e6a0b0f1d22cedee7ba649cdfe--random-things-funny-things.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

gozunda wrote: »
    You're wrong I'm afraid that's a hairless pussy - completely different to a shaved one ...

b77783e6a0b0f1d22cedee7ba649cdfe--random-things-funny-things.jpg

That probably explains that itch I have.

You need to be careful with dock seed ...
    ☆One broad-leaved dock can produce 60,000 seeds
    ☆One curled dock can produce 40,000 seeds
    ☆Seed is spread by wind, water and slurry
    ☆They are viable in the soil for up to 80 years
    ☆There are 12.5 million seeds/ha in the top 15cm of soil

☆Docks will produce seed even after cutting
    ☆They have a tap root and secondary root systems
    ☆Shoots grow from root sections
    ☆The roots are very long

See: http://www.dowagro.com/en-ie/ireland/grassland/weeds/docks

Just out of interest who has broad or curled dock or is it common enough to have both? :confused:

gozunda wrote: »
    You need to be careful with dock seed ...

See: http://www.dowagro.com/en-ie/ireland/grassland/weeds/docks

Just out of interest who has broad or curled dock or is it common enough to have both? :confused:

Yea you can have both in the same sward.
    I've had them anyway.

(I went to see could I spot a curled dock there now but no sign of one only broad leaved).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

:D this thread

Reggie. wrote: »
    How about dying docks

They'll do too.

Good man Reggie get the ball rolling.

They'll do too.

Good man Reggie get the ball rolling.

The only good dock is a dead dock

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

A dock in time saves nine.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

How about dying docks

Looks like their suffering from a case of brewers droop.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Looks like their suffering from a case of brewers droop.

Grazon pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Grazon pro

No expense spared so