Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tracking down your old cars...

• 10-04-2018 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

I was chatting to a friend about old cars that we used to own and wondering if they are still on the road today or whether they have gone to car-heaven.

He ran one of the reg numbers from one of his old cars (a '98 Merc) through the NCT website and it showed :
    "vehicle records indicate that this vehicle is scrapped"

Fair enough.

I then ran my first car (a '93 Mitsubishi) through the NCT website and it showed NCT Due Date 22/10/2017 :eek: ... The funny thing is that this car was actually stolen and never recovered - so how can it have a valid NCT until 2017?

I also ran my second car through , a car which I thought would have been scrapped a long time ago, and it showed an NCT Due Date of 31/08/2017!

:eek: :confused:

Wonder what's going on here?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

First one could have been recovered in the end.

The second one was tested despite you not expecting that.

Then there could have been an error in nct database or cloning going on, but that would be just unwarranted suspicion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

wonski wrote: »
    First one could have been recovered in the end.

The second one was tested despite you not expecting that.

Then there could have been an error in nct database or cloning going on, but that would be just unwarranted suspicion.

Well if the first one was recovered after being stolen , would it not have been given back to the owner (i.e ME) or is it a case of Finder's Keepers?!! :P

I still have my doubts that a high mileage 93 Mitsubishi which I owned 15 years ago that was stolen and never recovered now , somehow, found itself a new caring owner who had it NCT'd up until a couple of months ago???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Tiercel Dave

[QUOTE=ION08;106685485 I then ran my first car (a '93 Mitsubishi) through the NCT website and it showed NCT Due Date 22/10/2017 :eek: ... The funny thing is that this car was actually stolen and never recovered - so how can it have a valid NCT until 2017?

I also ran my second car through , a car which I thought would have been scrapped a long time ago, and it showed an NCT Due Date of 31/08/2017!

Wonder what's going on here?..[/QUOTE]

Does it actually have a valid NCT though, if it was never taken off the system that date could be just when it was due it's latest test.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,486 ✭✭✭Cordell

Probably the stolen one was scraped for parts and the one that you assume scraped maybe it wasn't, or it was but not registered as such. So they still exist in the records.
    Given that, the NCT website shows the last passed due date without a valid NCT. They will both show 2018 if the cars passed NCT in 2017.

If the car was recovered years later after your insurance paid your claim, it was no longer yours. Or am I wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

my first car's last DOE Expired in 2014 , id say its dead :(

Cordell wrote: »
    Probably the stolen one was scraped for parts and the one that you assume scraped maybe it wasn't, or it was but not registered as such. So they still exist in the records.
    Given that, the NCT website shows the last passed due date without a valid NCT. They will both show 2018 if the cars passed NCT in 2017.

I think you might be right here.

The cars were probably never formally scrapped and the NCT due Date must just be showing the anniverssary of when NCT is due .... it does not actually mean that the cars were NCT up to that point. - This is the only thing that would make sense.

If the car was recovered years later after your insurance paid your claim, it was no longer yours. Or am I wrong?

never claimed from insurance.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,343 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Ever so slightly related...would anyone happen to know what year the reg CI 723 was from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

My old cars on the NCTS.ie site:

1 - 1998 Rover 400 - NCT Due 01.05.18

2 - 2002 MG ZR - No Result

3 - 1999 BMW 318i - NCT Due 25.11.17

4 - 2004 Mazda RX8 - NCT Due 01.04.18

5 - 2007 Mazda6 MPS - NCT Due 18.07.18 (Not long to go JFK :P )

6 - 2007 BMW 335i - No Result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

ION08 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I was chatting to a friend about old cars that we used to own and wondering if they are still on the road today or whether they have gone to car-heaven.

He ran one of the reg numbers from one of his old cars (a '98 Merc) through the NCT website and it showed :
    "vehicle records indicate that this vehicle is scrapped"

Fair enough.

I then ran my first car (a '93 Mitsubishi) through the NCT website and it showed NCT Due Date 22/10/2017 :eek: ... The funny thing is that this car was actually stolen and never recovered - so how can it have a valid NCT until 2017?

Wonder what's going on here?..
    You need to input the details into the 'check nct validity' section which is further down the page on the nuts website.
    This nct due date keeps rolling over to the anniversary of the car and is the date any cert issued today would be valid from.
    I don't believe the cars you mention had valid certs up to 2017.

mickdw wrote: »
    You need to input the details into the 'check nct validity' section which is further down the page on the nuts website.
    This nct due date keeps rolling over to the anniversary of the car and is the date any cert issued today would be valid from.
    I don't believe the cars you mention had valid certs up to 2017.

Bingo!

That tells a completely different story now!

First car nct expired in 2007 and second car in 2009

Makes sense.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Jesus...my old piece of crap 05 Opel Corsa has valid NCT :O
    That yoke was costing me every month to get things fixed....and leaked at the back. Who the frig is driving it now!:eek:
    Must've got enough things fixed on it that it runs well now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I’m pretty sure every car I’ve ever owned is off the road. The only survivor recently was the Avensis I sold to truckermal, but even that’s out of test now since January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

After entering a reg there, and got:
    No Changes notified in the last 3 months

Does that mean it is still in the system? If it were scrapped would it say it's scrapped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

My old 2003 Polo is still motoring and passed it's NCT in Jan of this year. Rocket ship.

Hal1 wrote: »
    After entering a reg there, and got:

Does that mean it is still in the system? If it were scrapped would it say it's scrapped?

Are you seeing this on nct website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Checked the previous 4 cars I owned.. oddly it's the newest of them that's listed as having been scrapped, and I only saw it on the road not long ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I feel cold inside..... I thought my old Nissan primera was still going all these months, I checked on it about 8 months ago and I thought I saw it was still in system

I I just checked from what someone said above and I see its last nct was in 2012 ....

I never even sent flowers.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

My lovely old 2000 318 has been scrapped. That car drove better than my current 2013 320d sport. But it had electrical issues that would have cost a bit to rectify. Makes me sad though to think it’s been scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

My 94 Tipo was tested up until July 2017 which means it got through one more NCT after I sold it I think.

96 Subaru Vivio I got from davycc of this parish last year is tested until 2019 which is great to see. Tank of a car!

04 A6 is tested until end of this year, I got that test on it last year.

93 Pug 405 GRDT last tested in 2014...that was a great car :(

97 Jag XJ, 97-LK-1 still on the system but not tested since 2010. Apparently headed for Syria when I sold it

98 Corolla estate is unbelievably tested until 2019. Another tank of a car

89 Lancia Y10 untested since 2014..don't think it got through another after I sold it

89 Suzuki Alto I had a good few years ago with 12k miles is tested until 2019. Great to see.

That really was a minter, wish I still had it

11537453433_b1cd57ab4e_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

One of my first Puntos might be still going... a 2000 ELX that had valid NCT until 2015.

My first car that I loved was my 99 E36 318is M-Sport. Scrapped :(

A 92 318is - last NCTed in 2012.

A 93 MR2 - Last NCT was 2007.

A 00 MR2 - Last NCT was 2014.

A 00 330ci - NCT expired 2012.

95 FTO - Last NCT 2011.

Realistically, I think they're all gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭carzony

1. 1997 Opel Corsa - Scrapped

2. 2000 Nissan Almera - Not Sure

3. 2001 Nissan Almera - Scrapped

4. 2000 Ford Focus - Scrapped

5. 2001 Ford Focus - Scrapped

6. 1999 Honda Civic - Scrapped

7. 2005 Citroen C4 - Not Sure

8. 2004 ford focus - still have

9. 2001 VW Bora - Scrapped

Jaysus, Most scrapped and dead. They were all bought for next to nothing and served their purpose for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

2002 DL - a red Honda civic saloon - has been scrapped. I got rid of it due to the rust that it got from the DL sea air, and I saw being sold privately for more than I had originally paid for it a few years later! Got feck all for the trade in as some plonker had tipped white paint over the top and bonnet of the car; never got it fully off. Never figured out who did it either.

2006 SO - black Corolla - NCT due this September, so someone is still using it.

Both good cars, both their share of costly issues. If it wasn't for the salt that fecked up the underside of Honda, I would've kept it for at least another four years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Are you seeing this on nct website?

Motor tax site, ah right. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I'd love to know who has my Focus Mk2.5 that I really cared a lot for. Looks like its due for its next NCT on 3rd September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Notch000

all my old cars are scrapped except the ones i still own , at one stage a couple of years ago i used to see 3 of them scooting about Galway with random owners on a week basic, bit of releief to not be on the look out for them anymore now.
    00 Pug 306 -- scraped
    95 Astra -- Scrapped
    98 almera - scrapped
    95 318is last NCT'd 2011 (exported i believe)
    99 Micra - scrapped
    02 almeara - Scrapped
    still own:
    99 Yamaha FZR 600 --- In storage
    99 Mx5 In storage, NCT'd
    99 306 GTI-6 in storge - last NCT due 2010
    05 GTI Golf - on the road

?? Carbuyersguide.ie ??? use to have a query for NCT/ Tax / Insurance status, i dont think it available any mroe tho ?? Anyone know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,315 ✭✭✭Reventon93

I dont know the reg of my first car. Can only remember it was a 98 micra.

05 Clio I sold in Jan 2017 is due its NCT 27/4/18 which is really surprising because it went to ****e after i sold it...apparently.

08 93 has its NCT this November, but i'll hopefully have a shiny new car by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,918 ✭✭✭blackbox

I used to own a Fiat X1/9 380DPI that was mechanically perfect but a rustbucket. I saw it several years later and it looked good. I suspect someone may have swapped the plate. Reg does not exist on NCT.ie but comes back as a Fiat 124 Tempra on Cartell.ie. Don't put too much faith in the databases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

In case you ever worked/drove in the UK similar service from
    https://vehicleenquiry.service.gov.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

blackbox wrote: »
    I used to own a Fiat X1/9 380DPI that was mechanically perfect but a rustbucket. I saw it several years later and it looked good. I suspect someone may have swapped the plate. Reg does not exist on NCT.ie but comes back as a Fiat 124 Tempra on Cartell.ie. Don't put too much faith in the databases.

My fathers X1/9 is down as a saloon... :rolleyes:

As for me, most of the cars I've had I've scrapped or stripped of parts and sold for spares. Only 2 I wonder of their fate (as I know where the others I've sold on went!)

1999 BMW 520i, manual. Sold to some lads in Duleek and I never saw it again
    1997 Mercedes C200 petrol, manual. Last I heard it was being diffed to death somewhere in Cavan

As an example my most recent sold car, the 04 Avensis, often parks beside me in work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

1998 Nissan Primera - shows as 11th of May, but that's definitely scrapped. Maybe not registered as such.
    2006 Honda Civic - Due last month. Maybe not updated, but that car sailed through for me, surprising.
    2007 BMW 325i - 30th January. Dealer sold it off on the cheap after I gave it back, they had absolutely no idea what was wrong with the car (emissions, but what? Last thing they said was maybe an ECU replacement), guess they still haven't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

92 Fiesta XR2i : NCT Certificate Expiry Date : Saturday, January 8, 2005. Presumed dead. Was half dead when I got rid of it.

93 Astra GSi : Vehicle Records indicate that this Vehicle is Scrapped. :(

94 BMW 320i coupe: Vehicle Records indicate that this Vehicle is Scrapped.

99 Golf GTI: NCT Certificate Expiry Date : Thursday, October 4, 2012

99 Focus NCT Certificate Expiry Date : Sunday, May 6, 2012

99 Primera sport: NCT Certificate Expiry Date :Thursday, November 15, 2012

00 520 M : Vehicle Records indicate that this Vehicle is Scrapped.

03 Volvo S60d5: NCT Certificate Expiry Date :Wednesday, March 1, 2017

07 Octavia vRS: NCT Certificate Expiry Date :Friday, August 17, 2018.
    I knew that one was still alive, passed it on the road in Galway a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

02 VW Polo I sold a few months ago still has the same NCT due date as it did when I sold it (which means it's up since February), saw it on the road not so long ago though :pac: