Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Failure to display

• 07-04-2018 04:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭

The car was taxed as usual in February, but I mistakenly put the new disc behind the old( I know, I know...stupidly been doing it for years) and was fined in town this afternoon.
    Is there anyway to get this overturned.
    I know the fine is for failure to display, but it was an innocent mistake and I can prove date of purchase for the tax. Appreciate any replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,999 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

The car was taxed as usual in February, but I mistakenly put the new disc behind the old( I know, I know...stupidly been doing it for years) and was fined in town this afternoon.
    I know the fine is for failure to display, but it was an innocent mistake and I can prove date of purchase for the tax. Appreciate any replies.

Guards or council?
    You might get some sympathy from council, the guards however are under pressure when it comes to squashing fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Try to talk to them. While the fine is correct they might use some discretion. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Guards or council?
    You might get some sympathy from council, the guards however are under pressure when it comes to squashing fines.

It was the council. I'll go have a chat on Monday. They were of course right but I feel like a numpty for letting it happen .

You have nothing to lose.
    You might want to remove all the old discs in the future before putting the new one in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I ended up in court for this, judge asked was I up to date. All ok then.

Make sure you are up to date and turn up.

ebbsy wrote: »
    I ended up in court for this, judge asked was I up to date. All ok then.

Make sure you are up to date and turn up.

Was it for non display or no tax?

Non display is what's on the ticket.

Was asking ebbsy.

I would definitely not let it go to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Buffman

You're grand, just do the necessary paperwork and it will be cancelled.

https://www.garda.ie/en/Roads-Policing/Fixed-Charge-Notices/Cancelling-Fixed-Charge-Notices.html
    Cancellation Request Categories: Cancellation requests fall into two categories. Category A covers mainly procedural issues. Category B relate to cancellations based on exceptional circumstances.
    Category A
    Cancellation requests falling within this category include –

In relation to an FCN for non-display of motor tax or insurance disc, motor tax had been taken out or applied for, or in the case of the non display of an insurance disc motor insurance was in place, at the time of the alleged offence.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭ebbsy

wonski wrote: »
    Was it for non display or no tax?

Was out of date by 2 months. There was a disc on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hot tip
    Next time you put a disc in, check from the outside it can be read properly.
    This also applies to parking tickets on dash, after closing the door.

Quick update.. Appealed the ticket.
    Simple form to fill out and got a letter on Friday that I'd been successful with my appeal.
    Thanks for the replies.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Buffman wrote: »
    You're grand, just do the necessary paperwork and it will be cancelled.

https://www.garda.ie/en/Roads-Policing/Fixed-Charge-Notices/Cancelling-Fixed-Charge-Notices.html
    Cancellation Request Categories: Cancellation requests fall into two categories. Category A covers mainly procedural issues. Category B relate to cancellations based on exceptional circumstances.
    Category A
    Cancellation requests falling within this category include –

In relation to an FCN for non-display of motor tax or insurance disc, motor tax had been taken out or applied for, or in the case of the non display of an insurance disc motor insurance was in place, at the time of the alleged offence.]

So there's no longer any enforcement of non-display of insurance or tax disc - this is no longer an offence? As long as you have it and get a FCN, just appeal? So I can leave them off my windshield? What about the NCT disc?

Also, since when did FCPN become FCN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

newmember? wrote: »
    So there's no longer any enforcement of non-display of insurance or tax disc - this is no longer an offence? As long as you have it and get a FCN, just appeal? So I can leave them off my windshield? What about the NCT disc?

Also, since when did FCPN become FCN?

Nct must be displayed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Never understood why people "collect" tax discs in the window. When one tax discs expires, bin it and replace it with a new one.

Is it some sort of "upstanding Citizen" badge of honour to show that you have paid so many motor tax installments or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

Oh wow - I did something similar this week and I was going to pay it - have tax, but threw the new disc and documentation on to the passenger seat and forgot to pop it on the window. Wife parked in the city over the weekend and got a ticket from council. If I fill out form, should it be cancelled like above? Or is it case by case?

Bawnmore wrote: »
    Oh wow - I did something similar this week and I was going to pay it - have tax, but threw the new disc and documentation on to the passenger seat and forgot to pop it on the window. Wife parked in the city over the weekend and got a ticket from council. If I fill out form, should it be cancelled like above? Or is it case by case?

If you have valid tax and can prove it then it should pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You got to question what is the point in having a system where you can be fined for failure to display a valid tax disc yet you can successfully appeal it on the grounds that you actually did have tax but didn't have it displayed?

bazz26 wrote: »
    You got to question what is the point in having a system where you can be fined for failure to display a valid tax disc yet you can successfully appeal it on the grounds that you actually did have tax but didn't have it displayed?

Many reasons such as waiting for vlc, disc in post genuinely in the post, changed cars etc. People make mistaiand forget to place in holder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,783 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

If it is effectively policy to just cancel any fines once it has been demonstrated that the vehicle was indeed taxed at the time, even if it wasn't displayed...is there any reason why police don't/can't access a tax database upon finding a car without tax cert displayed?

Save everybody the bother.

I have no problem with that but then just get rid of the failure to display fine altogether. The no tax fine will cover those who don't actually have their car taxed and obviously won't have a valid tax disc. Just seems to me that these stupid fines that can be easily appealed are just another contribution to an already inefficient public service department. But maybe the extra paperwork as a result justifies the head count and funding?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 137 ✭✭toyotafan

biko wrote: »
    Hot tip
    Next time you put a disc in, check from the outside it can be read properly.
    This also applies to parking tickets on dash, after closing the door.

Yip, a few days back, I saw a car was claimed even it had a ticket but the owner the ticket down without time paid shown up.

I've just submitted forms now so fingers crossed I guess.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 137 ✭✭toyotafan

I've just submitted forms now so fingers crossed I guess.
    OP please update us. Thanks!

Hmm - no good - specific to my case though. Our fixed penalty was issued by the City Council rather than An Garda Siochana, so they've advised we contact the council directly. I can't imagine they'd have a similar process for cancelling fixed charges.

Looks like the council also have an appeals process here. Interestingly, under a section called "Appeals will not be considered for any of the following parking offences.", the last option is "Failure to display current Tax Disc*" which is the only option which has a star after it :pac:

Doesn't help that there's no explanation around what the star means. Have submitted an appeal in any case and will update here when I hear back.

If it's any help, when I went into the council offices, I had the old disc and the new as well as the receipt(didn't need that) and explained how I made the mistake. I presume if they know you weren't taking the piss and are contrite( I was) they'll forego the fine.

I do agree with the point that the gardai and wardens should have access to a data base, that can be checked immediately and no further action taken once the car is taxed.

If it's any help, when I went into the council offices, I had the old disc and the new as well as the receipt(didn't need that) and explained how I made the mistake. I presume if they know you weren't taking the piss and are contrite( I was) they'll forego the fine.

I do agree with the point that the gardai and wardens should have access to a data base, that can be checked immediately and no further action taken once the car is taxed.

Thanks - if the processed review comes out unfavourable I might even chance that. Might have a better chance in person as it's handy enough to reject a request.

I would have thought gardai do have access to tax data, but wardens wouldn't (but should).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Tiercel Dave

.....I went into the council offices, I had the old disc and the new as well.....

I hope you didn't drive your own car or you'll get caught again.....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

Wonder when they will get rid of this bits of paper on the window rubbish.

Surely a simple app on Android/iPhone reading number plates returning "Taxed Y or N" would resolve the problem.

Would also stop the fake tax discs problem.

They got rid of the window tax disc in the UK a few years and it hasn't been so peachy for them, they were down about £107m in revenue because of it:

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/11/16/car-tax-evasion-triples-scrapping-paper-tax-disks/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

ION08 wrote: »
    Never understood why people "collect" tax discs in the window. When one tax discs expires, bin it and replace it with a new one.

Is it some sort of "upstanding Citizen" badge of honour to show that you have paid so many motor tax installments or what?

- I use it to help match a service history when buying and help verifying if a car was on or off the road. Also gives you an indication of how the car was driven i.e. Taxed for a year, or stop-start. Can also provide insight to the cash flow surrounding the car i.e. If they state no expense spared but there are huge gaps in the tax dates, it would suggest otherwise.

- If you happened to be waiting on a disc, it can invoke sympathy from a guard as you have a record of actually paying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

ION08 wrote: »

No idea why I still have all mine, suppose it pains me on some level to throw them away. Also as above, some arbitrary value when selling to prove i never let up.
    I have €9045 worth of paper in that tax holder in 5 years. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

No idea why I still have all mine, suppose it pains me on some level to throw them away. Also as above, some arbitrary value when selling to prove i never let up.
    I have €9045 worth of paper in that tax holder in 5 years. :(

This was my thinking on it too. I used to collect them, as had the previous owner from new. To me, I felt it was a way of showing the vehicle wasn't parked up for a prolonged period of time to the next buyer and that whatever it needed, it got.

And then the next buyer would not even bother to check them and binned them at the first opportunity (rightly so).

Looks like the council also have an appeals process here. Interestingly, under a section called "Appeals will not be considered for any of the following parking offences.", the last option is "Failure to display current Tax Disc*" which is the only option which has a star after it :pac:

Doesn't help that there's no explanation around what the star means. Have submitted an appeal in any case and will update here when I hear back.

Just to wrap this up - I submitted a cancellation request to the council with an explanation and a photo of our tax disc, and got the letter today to confirm the fine has been cancelled. Happy days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Just to wrap this up - I submitted a cancellation request to the council with an explanation and a photo of our tax disc, and got the letter today to confirm the fine has been cancelled. Happy days!

Nice one.