Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foxes

• 05-04-2018 7:33am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

We’ve had two visits from the fox in the last week and I’m wondering how other people try to keep them at bay.

The lambs were both about 10 days old and out of hoggets so still small enough. They were also in a small group of 3 ewes/lambs (before joining the main group).

Would they have been safer in the larger group maybe?

Or would people have any other ideas to share?

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i had trouble with foxes taking lambs for a few years. then i heard about ORLDEN its an oil you rub on the back of the lambs neck when you let them out, you just massage it in. havent lost any lambs last year or this year so far (touch wood) since i started using it. its like dirty cooking oil in a gel type consistency,not messy but repels foxes.they dont do any harm to mismother either, its brilliant stuff. i think john Large that write in farming indo is using it this year. its to be got over the net on agridirect.ie

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i had trouble with foxes taking lambs for a few years. then i heard about ORLDEN its an oil you rub on the back of the lambs neck when you let them out, you just massage it in. havent lost any lambs last year or this year so far (touch wood) since i started using it. its like dirty cooking oil in a gel type consistency,not messy but repels foxes.they dont do any harm to mismother either, its brilliant stuff. i think john Large that write in farming indo is using it this year. its to be got over the net on agridirect.ie

Sound job - I’ll check it out.

I have heard of Stockholm tar previously but it supposedly can cause mis-mothering. Will have a look at Orlden thou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I have heard of Stockholm tar previously but it supposedly can cause mis-mothering. Will have a look at Orlden thou.

We give them the dead lambs.....seems to work every year.
    We don't bother them they don't bother us, we have setts in the field and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭kk.man

I was checking eyes lambig in the shed one night bout two weeks back.
    The ewes with lambs in the field were going mad. It was about 11pm. I went to investigate and there was a fox in the middle of the field... I ran into the field and he disappeared. Nothing taken but I bet he was thinking of taking a lamb. No issues since and we have plenty of foxes. Never in my time had issues with them.
    I don't have a gun but I did a lot of walking around the ditch where I saw him hoping he might get a human smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

wrangler wrote: »

Symbiotic relationship there Wrangler! Fair play to you!

I was in a part of India a while ago where they'd poisoned the vultures cause they thought they were dirty and disease spreaders. Turns out they were actually cleaning up the flesh of dead animals before the flies took over. After they poisoning of the carrion eaters there was nothing but aggressive filthy flies and larva everywhere that caused mass disease amongst farm animals and humans.

(not an exactly perfect comparison. It was mental over there, heat, humidity and rot time was unbelievable)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I use it and not had such problems. Dogs hate it too

We left a few of our dead in the forestry but maybe the fox didn’t find them. Do you leave them in the field or near the sets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

We left a few of our dead in the forestry but maybe the fox didn’t find them. Do you leave them in the field or near the sets?

We leave them with the ewes and lambs, this year it was easy see tracks in the snow of foxes through the sheep.
    Our neighbour rears ducks and pheasants.....foxes fairly fleece them when we stop feeding them....every man for himself eh :D:D

Just leave one at a time, they'd only take them every second or third day, we'd only start that if they took a live one first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

We leave them with the ewes and lambs, this year it was easy see tracks in the snow of foxes through the sheep.
    Our neighbour rears ducks and pheasants.....foxes fairly fleece them when we stop feeding them....every man for himself eh :D:D

Just leave one at a time, they'd only take them every second or third day, we'd only start that if they took a live one first

We do the same and don't have a fox problem.

I always wonder why they don't take the live lambs though. Surely it's an easy meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

arctictree wrote: »
    We do the same and don't have a fox problem.

I always wonder why they don't take the live lambs though. Surely it's an easy meal.

The dead lamb is an even easier meal. I know I've only 2 legs but a lamb at a week old is hard enough caught in the shed to put them out. A dead lamb is much easier caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Foxes won’t always take a dead lamb...it’s almost as if they are wary that it’s there too easily for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

We have buzzards and red kites around here who take dead lambs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Foxes won’t always take a dead lamb...it’s almost as if they are wary that it’s there too easily for them.

If there’s too much of a human smell off them they won’t take the dead ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

Started lambing today , Had a Fox 6ft from ewe lambing and her with big head out and no front legs.

I do wonder was he awaiting afterbirth or to swipe the lamb .. one lambed earlier beside him but a Lanark and she had a single . Wish I had the shotgun on me

sonnybill wrote: »
    Started lambing today , Had a Fox 6ft from ewe lambing and her with big head out and no front legs.

I do wonder was he awaiting afterbirth or to swipe the lamb .. one lambed earlier beside him but a Lanark and she had a single . Wish I had the shotgun on me

He’d take whatever he could get - both if he could! Dirty vermin they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Shotgun wouldn't be the best choice so near the ewe and lamb, a well placed shot from a .22 or anything bigger would be better.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭hiddenmongoose

Iv read several times that fox wont take lambs near its own den and that leaving dead lambs keeps them from straying too far. The cubs are in the dens now so a dead lamb is an easy meal to tide a den over for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

My last three ewes to lamb there, as lost one to a dog fox I’ve been turning them into shed at night .

Only 1 to lamb now and left all three out lastnight as confident enough they hardy and orlden on both couples , one ewe missing just there now and when I went looking she had crossed two fields (gates open) to let herself into the shed with her two lambs for the night .. I’d say he had her pestered during the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

anyone use orlden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

sonnybill wrote: »
    My last three ewes to lamb there, as lost one to a dog fox I’ve been turning them into shed at night .

Only 1 to lamb now and left all three out lastnight as confident enough they hardy and orlden on both couples , one ewe missing just there now and when I went looking she had crossed two fields (gates open) to let herself into the shed with her two lambs for the night .. I’d say he had her pestered during the night

There is a big Vixen atm on the land I hunt that hasn't given any trouble yet. She has been eating the dead ones the farmer left out but I think it's a bad idea as it just encourages a fox to go for a live one when it gets the blood in his system. I spotted her the other day and she is a big female. Farmers wants her gone though so I'm hoping to get out to get her shortly but lockdown has us at bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭mcbain087

Have you contacted your local game club, they would usually be happy to help out.