Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car crash advice-tips etc

• 28-03-2018 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭

Herself was in a crash earlier, 4-5 other cars crashed as well, basically not long after the Skryne exit of the M3 motorway

Luckily she didn't hit any of the other cars and the guards took details, breathalyzed her and fire brigade took her main key and she was told be in a local garage(J&S)

I know one of the lads had a crash and dragged on and the garage wanted silly money for storage.
    Asked the guard and said no damage to barrier so cant see the motorway people looking for damage
    After that, the car is a write-off, cost about 3K and from the damage(front bumper bent off, fluids from engine and drivers side back bumper/panel bent in) id say be easily that to repair it

Obviously, we've to ring the insurance, but what's the best way to clear this up without insurance through the roof and any cost beyond a new car

Thanks for any and all help/advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,741 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Any chance she has no claims protection on the policy, some fully comp policies have it added by default. €3k is in or around the price at which if you have a full no claims you might decide it more cost effective to pay it out of your pocket yourself rather than involve the insurance and have your next years quote above €2k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭jeffk

Any chance she has no claims protection on the policy, some fully comp policies have it added by default. €3k is in or around the price at which if you have a full no claims you might decide it more cost effective to pay it out of your pocket yourself rather than involve the insurance and have your next years quote above €2k.

On her paperwork

Full Protection NCD No

Step back NCD Yes

No mention of years

I had to make a claim last year.
    5700e
    Insurance went from 540e fc to 940e fc.
    10 years ncb back to 2 years ncb
    10 year old golf gti,went 3rd party at 700e

I had to make a claim last year.
    5700e
    Insurance went from 540e fc to 940e fc.
    10 years ncb back to 2 years ncb
    10 year old golf gti,went 3rd party at 700e

So if she went for say 3Km be set back 4 NCB and of course each year insurance be up

Must ask they what the cost would be out of interest, but with being 3K wouldn't say be worth it in the long run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Don't the firebrigade now add on a charge now as well?

Edit. Charge of €610 for first hour plus €485 per additional hour, not clear if in a multiple vehicle accident if all cars would pay it or if it would be a shared cost, also not sure but may be applied per fire brigade vehicle attending.

http://www.dublincity.ie/main-menu-services/dublin-fire-brigade-and-ambulance-service

300 excess

Then she will go from 6 to 3 years NCB, 715 for 6 years so I assume at least that be halved next year plus the claim if she used insurance

Rang the crowd that has the car(J&S breakdown The Lane, Navan, the most ignorant cocky shower) and got a dressing down about this why you have insurance etc

Nothing about fire brigade, did say about the crash barrier, but guards said shouldn't look for compensation as damage there and she done no worse

SO waiting on 123 to take to their garage and likely say write off then look for the new car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭landmarkjohn

I think storage is a bit of a cash cow for these recovery boys. €20 a day plus....and you're not getting your car back till it's paid up!

The garage assigning the car rang herself to say the recovery garage who had the car is dropping the car down

So just the recovery/tow which she's been told is covered by insurance whatever that means